State Farm Car Insurance Review [2024]

Average State Farm car insurance rates start at $156/mo, but your rates will vary based on various factors. Use this State Farm car insurance review to learn the seven key variables State Farm looks at to determine car insurance rates.

UPDATED: Oct 30, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 30, 2023Fact Checked

Benjamin Carr

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Benjamin Carr worked as a licensed insurance agent at State Farm and Tennant Special Risk. He sold various lines of coverage and informed his clients about their life, health, property/casualty insurance needs. Assessing risks and helping people find the best coverage to suit their needs is a passion of his. He appreciates that insurance was designed to protect people, particularly during times...

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

UPDATED: Oct 30, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Oct 30, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 30, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 30, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
carinsurancecomparison.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Farm

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$156

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Has the third-lowest average premium among the top 10 providers
  • Consistently strong financial standing and solid rankings
  • Policies are available in all 50 states
  • Customers have a variety of online options and an easy-to-use app

Cons

  • Rates can be pricey depending on where you live
  • Could stand to offer more discounts, like federal employees, green vehicles, and occupational
  • Received an “about average” J.D. Power Circle Ranking in 5 out of 11 regions
  • Limited add-ons available

Final Verdict: Review of State Farm

State Farm excels in customer satisfaction and simplicity of the claims process, and coverage is available in every state, so if you move, you can remain with the company. However, your rates can change based on your new location. State Farm is also missing typical discounts, such as the federal employee and green vehicle car insurance discounts, which other top competitors offer.

The easiest way to ensure you are getting the best State Farm car insurance rates is to look closely at what your insurance needs are and how much you can afford to spend before comparing multiple company quotes online. Use this State Farm car insurance review to see how the provider compares to other companies and if it’s the right car insurance company for you.

What You Should Know About State Farm Insurance

Here's what you need to know...

  • Car insurance is required in almost every single state in the U.S.
  • State Farm car insurance offers a variety of coverage and deductible options
  • Coverage and deductible needs will vary according to personal factors

If you are looking for car insurance, there are certain things that you will need to decide on, such as the type of coverage you need and how much your deductible should be.

This article will give you information about the types of coverage State Farm offers, as well as information about its deductibles.

After reading what is available, you can speak with a State Farm agent to determine what the best choice is for you.

If you would like to compare car insurance rates for this company or others, just fill in your ZIP code in the box provided above.

State Farm Insurance Coverage Options

State Farm offers the same coverage as all of the other companies do and in some cases, at a competitive rate. Let’s take a look at standard insurance terms and go into detail about what they mean.

We know it can be confusing, so that’s why we’ve compiled a list of common coverages with a brief explanation. Different coverage types fall into four basic categories:

When you are at fault

  • Liability coverage covers the physical damages you inflict upon another vehicle and the bodily injuries sustained by all individuals in the other car.

When you are not at fault

Vehicle Protection:

  • Collision Coverage – covers your vehicle repairs or replacement after an accident
  • Comprehensive Coverage – includes what most would consider “out of our control” such as storm damage, hitting an animal, and more
  • Emergency Road Service – covers standard roadside services like tire changes, jump starts, and lockout services
  • Rental Reimbursement Coverage – includes a rental car while yours is getting repaired for a covered loss
  • Mechanical Breakdown Coverage – covers parts and systems failure of your vehicle that is not caused by normal wear and tear or improper maintenance

Personal Protection:

  • Medical Payments Coverage – covers medical expenses of those in your vehicle
  • Personal Injury Protection – covers costs incurred from injuries to yourself or others in the vehicle, lost wages and funeral expenses no matter who is at fault
  • Umbrella Policy – covers your liability coverage to a much higher limit which blankets over multiple policies such as home and auto as well as others

Depending on where you live, some of the above may be optional coverages. State Farm also has a good selection of additional coverage, including the most popular options

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Towing and Roadside Assistance
  • Rental Reimbursement
  • New Car Replacement
  • Classic and collector car coverage

To add onto these standard options, State Farm goes a step further an offers a couple of specialty options:

  • Rideshare Coverage: coverage for anyone working for a ridesharing service (such as Lyft or Uber)
  • Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage: coverage that helps you pay off the loan/lease of your vehicle if it were to be totaled during a wreck

How to Cancel State Farm Car Insurance

State Farm provides two ways to cancel car insurance:

By Phone:

  1. You’ll typically need to have the following: policy number, name, date of birth, and Social Security number. If you’re canceling because you’ve sold your car, you’ll likely need proof of your vehicle’s plate forfeiture or bill of sale.
  2. Cancellations by phone are typically valid immediately, or you can schedule it for a date in the future.
  3. Many states require you to inform the DMV when you cancel or change your auto insurance. Check your state’s guidelines.
  4. If you’re switching providers, you may need to provide new provider’s name, policy number, and effective date.

By Mail or Fax:

Write a letter that includes:

  • Your name, address, and phone number.
  • Your State Farm policy number and the date and time you want your policy to end.
  • If you’re switching providers, your new insurer’s name, policy number, and policy start date.
  • If you’ve sold your vehicle, proof of plate forfeiture or your bill of sale.

Sign, date, and mail your letter at least two weeks before your intended cancellation date to:

Corporate Headquarters
State Farm Insurance
One State Farm Plaza
Bloomington, IL 61710

Or fax: 888-633-0405 or 905-750-5002.

In-person:

Bring the following:

  • Your name, address, and phone number.
  • Your State Farm policy number and the date and time you want your policy to end.
  • If you’re switching providers, your new insurer’s name, policy number, and policy start date.
  • If you’ve sold your vehicle, proof of plate forfeiture or your bill of sale.

You can your insurance policy with State Farm at any time, make sure you have new coverage on your vehicle before your current plan expires.

How to Make a State Farm Car Insurance Claim

Claims can be filed with State Farm:

  • By calling 800-SF-CLAIM (800-732-5246) (available 24/7)
  • By contacting your agent.
  • With the mobile app

When you make a claim, you’ll need the following:

  • Date and time of the incident
  • Vehicles involved
  • Description of the incident
  • Description of damages
  • Location of incident

Now, that we’ve shown you how to file a claim, let’s look at how State Farm pays out claims to its customers. Loss ratios can give us some insight into the answer to that question.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Farm Insurance Rates Breakdown

Here are two things to keep in mind.

  1. Many variables can affect what you pay.
  2. State Farm car insurance discounts may help offset the cost.

Which factors affect your State Farm car insurance rates? According to State Farm Insurance, these seven factors determine auto insurance premiums:

  • Your policy and deductibles
  • The vehicle model you drive
  • How often you drive, and how far is your commute
  • Your geographic location
  • Your driving record
  • Your credit history
  • Your age, sex, and marital status

These factors are common among all insurance providers, but new laws and regulations are being passed, which have changed some of the ways in which companies can determine your rates.

Compare State Farm Car Insurance Rates by State

State Farm is available in every state. Their rates vary, sometimes below and sometimes above average, and can be further affected by factors like driving record and credit history.

State Annual PremiumHigher/Lower
than State Average
Percent Higher/Lower
than State Average
Alaska$2,228.12-$1,193.39-34.88%
Alabama$4,798.15$1,231.1934.52%
Arkansas$2,789.03-$1,335.95-32.39%
Arizona$4,756.25$985.2826.13%
California$4,202.28$513.3513.92%
Colorado$3,270.77-$605.63-15.62%
Connecticut$2,976.24-$1,642.68-35.56%
District of Columbia$4,074.05-$365.20-8.23%
Delaware$4,466.85-$1,519.48-25.38%
Florida$3,397.67-$1,282.79-27.41%
Georgia$3,384.88-$1,581.95-31.85%
Hawaii$1,040.28-$1,515.36-59.29%
Iowa$2,224.51-$756.77-25.38%
Idaho$1,867.96-$1,111.13-37.30%
Illinois$2,344.88-$960.60-29.06%
Indiana$2,408.94-$1,006.03-29.46%
Kansas$2,720.00-$559.62-17.06%
Kentucky$3,354.32-$1,841.09-35.44%
Louisiana$4,579.12-$1,132.22-19.82%
Maine$2,198.68-$754.60-25.55%
Maryland$3,960.87-$621.83-13.57%
Massachusetts$1,361.86-$1,316.99-49.16%
Michigan$12,565.52$2,066.8819.69%
Minnesota$2,066.99-$2,336.27-53.06%
Missouri$2,692.91-$636.03-19.11%
Mississippi$2,980.48-$684.09-18.67%
Montana$2,417.74-$803.11-24.93%
North Carolina$3,078.65-$314.46-9.27%
North Dakota$2,560.53-$1,605.32-38.54%
Nebraska$2,438.71-$844.97-25.73%
New Hampshire$2,185.46-$966.32-30.66%
New Jersey$7,527.16$2,011.9436.48%
New Mexico$2,340.66-$1,122.98-32.42%
Nevada$5,796.34$934.6419.22%
New York$4,484.58$194.704.54%
Ohio$2,507.88-$201.84-7.45%
Oklahoma$2,816.80-$1,325.53-32.00%
Oregon$2,731.48-$736.29-21.23%
Pennsylvania$2,744.23-$1,290.27-31.98%
Rhode Island$2,406.51-$2,596.85-51.90%
South Carolina$3,071.34-$709.80-18.77%
South Dakota$2,306.23-$1,676.05-42.09%
Tennessee$2,639.30-$1,021.59-27.91%
Texas$2,879.94-$1,163.34-28.77%
Utah$4,645.83$1,033.9428.63%
Virginia$2,268.95-$88.92-3.77%
Vermont$4,382.84$1,148.7135.52%
Washington$2,499.78-$559.55-18.29%
West Virginia$2,126.32-$469.04-18.07%
Wisconsin$2,387.53-$1,218.53-33.79%
Wyoming$2,303.55-$896.53-28.02%
Median$2,731.48-$929.41-25.39%

The most expensive state to carry State Farm as your insurance provider is Michigan, followed by New Jersey, where rates are thousands above average.

Here’s a look at State Farm compared to nine other top companies on a state-by-state basis.

.

State Farm rates compared to other companies in all 50 states
StateAverage by StateAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersUSAA
Alaska$3,421.51$3,145.31$4,153.07Data Not Available$2,879.96$5,295.55Data Not Available$3,062.85$2,228.12Data Not Available$2,454.21
Alabama$3,566.96$3,311.52Data Not Available$4,185.80$2,866.60$4,005.48$2,662.66$4,450.52$4,798.15$3,697.80$2,124.09
Arkansas$4,124.98$5,150.03Data Not Available$4,257.87$3,484.63Data Not Available$3,861.79$5,312.09$2,789.03$5,973.33$2,171.06
Arizona$3,770.97$4,904.10Data Not Available$5,000.08$2,264.71Data Not Available$3,496.08$3,577.50$4,756.25$3,084.74$3,084.29
California$3,688.93$4,532.96Data Not Available$4,998.78$2,885.65$3,034.42$4,653.19$2,849.67$4,202.28$3,349.54$2,693.87
Colorado$3,876.39$5,537.17$3,733.02$5,290.24$3,091.69$2,797.74$3,739.47$4,231.92$3,270.77Data Not Available$3,338.87
Connecticut$4,618.92$5,831.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,073.66$7,282.87$3,672.34$4,920.35$2,976.24$6,004.29$3,190.00
District of Columbia$4,439.24$6,468.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,692.81Data Not Available$4,848.98$4,970.26$4,074.05Data Not Available$2,580.44
Delaware$5,986.32$6,316.06Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,727.29$18,360.02$4,330.21$4,181.83$4,466.85$4,182.36$2,325.98
Florida$4,680.46$7,440.46Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,783.63$5,368.15$4,339.60$5,583.30$3,397.67Data Not Available$2,850.41
Georgia$4,966.83$4,210.70Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,977.20$10,053.44$6,484.90$4,499.22$3,384.88Data Not Available$3,157.46
Hawaii$2,555.64$2,173.49Data Not Available$4,763.82$3,358.86$3,189.55$2,551.83$2,177.93$1,040.28Data Not Available$1,189.35
Iowa$2,981.28$2,965.86$3,021.81$2,435.72$2,296.16$4,415.28$2,735.44$2,395.50$2,224.51$5,429.38$1,852.57
Idaho$2,979.09$4,088.76$3,728.79$3,168.28$2,770.68$2,301.51$3,032.19Data Not Available$1,867.96$3,226.29$1,877.61
Illinois$3,305.48$5,204.41$3,815.31$4,605.20$2,779.16$2,277.65$2,711.81$3,536.65$2,344.88$2,499.76$2,770.21
Indiana$3,414.97$3,978.81$3,679.68$3,437.55$2,261.07$5,781.35Data Not Available$3,898.00$2,408.94$3,393.75$1,630.86
Kansas$3,279.62$4,010.23$2,146.40$3,703.77$3,220.65$4,784.42$2,475.59$4,144.38$2,720.00$4,341.43$2,382.61
Kentucky$5,195.40$7,143.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,633.59$5,930.97$5,503.23$5,547.63$3,354.32$6,551.68$2,897.89
Louisiana$5,711.34$5,998.79Data Not AvailableData Not Available$6,154.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$7,471.10$4,579.12Data Not Available$4,353.12
Maine$2,953.28$3,675.59Data Not Available$2,770.15$2,823.05$4,331.39Data Not Available$3,643.59$2,198.68$2,252.97$1,930.79
Maryland$4,582.70$5,233.17Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,832.63$9,297.55$2,915.69$4,094.86$3,960.87Data Not Available$2,744.14
Massachusetts$2,678.85$2,708.53Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,510.17$4,339.35Data Not Available$3,835.11$1,361.86$3,537.94$1,458.99
Michigan$10,498.64$22,902.59Data Not Available$8,503.60$6,430.11$20,000.04$6,327.38$5,364.55$12,565.52$8,773.97$3,620.00
Minnesota$4,403.25$4,532.01$3,521.29$3,137.45$3,498.54$13,563.61$2,926.49Data Not Available$2,066.99Data Not Available$2,861.60
Missouri$3,328.93$4,096.15$3,286.90$4,312.19$2,885.33$4,518.67$2,265.35$3,419.14$2,692.91Data Not Available$2,525.78
Mississippi$3,664.57$4,942.11Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,087.21$4,455.94$2,756.53$4,308.85$2,980.48$3,729.32$2,056.13
Montana$3,220.84$4,672.10Data Not Available$3,907.55$3,602.35$1,326.11$3,478.26$4,330.76$2,417.74Data Not Available$2,031.89
North Carolina$3,393.11$7,190.43Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,936.69$2,182.71$2,848.03$2,382.61$3,078.65$3,132.66Data Not Available
North Dakota$4,165.84$4,669.31$3,812.40$3,092.49$2,668.24$12,852.83$2,560.35$3,623.06$2,560.53Data Not Available$2,006.80
Nebraska$3,283.68$3,198.83$2,215.13$3,997.29$3,837.49$6,241.52$2,603.94$3,758.01$2,438.71Data Not Available$2,330.78
New Hampshire$3,151.77$2,725.01Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,615.02$8,444.41$2,491.10$2,694.45$2,185.46Data Not Available$1,906.96
New Jersey$5,515.21$5,713.58Data Not Available$7,617.00$2,754.94$6,766.62Data Not Available$3,972.72$7,527.16$4,254.49Data Not Available
New Mexico$3,463.64$4,200.65Data Not Available$4,315.53$4,458.30Data Not Available$3,514.38$3,119.18$2,340.66Data Not Available$2,296.77
Nevada$4,861.70$5,371.62$5,441.18$5,595.56$3,662.09$6,201.55$3,477.14$4,062.57$5,796.34$5,360.41$3,069.07
New York$4,289.88$4,740.97Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,428.24$6,540.73$4,012.93$3,771.15$4,484.58$4,578.79$3,761.69
Ohio$2,709.71$3,197.22$1,515.17$3,423.01$1,867.19$4,429.74$3,300.89$3,436.96$2,507.88$3,135.16$1,478.46
Oklahoma$4,142.33$3,718.62Data Not Available$4,142.40$3,437.34$6,874.62Data Not Available$4,832.35$2,816.80Data Not Available$3,174.15
Oregon$3,467.77$4,765.95$3,527.28$3,753.52$3,220.12$4,334.55$3,176.83$3,629.13$2,731.48$2,892.19$2,587.15
Pennsylvania$4,034.50$3,984.12Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,605.22$6,055.20$2,800.37$4,451.00$2,744.23$7,842.47$1,793.37
Rhode Island$5,003.36$4,959.45Data Not AvailableData Not Available$5,602.63$6,184.12$4,409.63$5,231.09$2,406.51$6,909.45$4,323.98
South Carolina$3,781.14$3,903.43Data Not Available$4,691.85$3,178.01Data Not Available$3,625.49$4,573.08$3,071.34Data Not Available$3,424.77
South Dakota$3,982.27$4,723.72$4,047.47$3,768.80$2,940.29$7,515.99$2,737.66$3,752.81$2,306.23Data Not AvailableData Not Available
Tennessee$3,660.89$4,828.85Data Not Available$3,430.07$3,283.42$6,206.69$3,424.96$3,656.91$2,639.30$2,738.52$2,739.28
Texas$4,043.28$5,485.44$4,848.72Data Not Available$3,263.28Data Not Available$3,867.55$4,664.69$2,879.94Data Not Available$2,487.89
Utah$3,611.89$3,566.42$3,698.77$3,907.99$2,965.57$4,327.76$2,986.57$3,830.10$4,645.83Data Not Available$2,491.10
Virginia$2,357.87$3,386.80Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,061.53Data Not Available$2,073.00$2,498.58$2,268.95Data Not Available$1,858.38
Vermont$3,234.13$3,190.38Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,195.71$3,621.08$2,128.21$5,217.14$4,382.84Data Not Available$1,903.55
Washington$3,059.32$3,540.52$3,713.02$2,962.00$2,568.65$3,994.73$2,129.84$3,209.52$2,499.78Data Not Available$2,262.16
West Virginia$2,595.36$3,820.68Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,120.80$2,924.39Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,126.32Data Not Available$1,984.62
Wisconsin$3,606.06$4,854.41$1,513.27$3,777.49$3,926.20$6,758.85$5,224.99$3,128.91$2,387.53Data Not Available$2,975.74
Wyoming$3,200.08$4,373.93Data Not Available$3,069.35$3,496.56$1,989.36$3,187.20$4,401.17$2,303.55Data Not Available$2,779.53
Median$3,660.89$4,532.96$3,698.77$3,907.99$3,073.66$5,295.55$3,187.20$3,935.36$2,731.48$3,729.32$2,489.49

On average, State Farm is in second place when it comes to cost, trailing USAA  by less than $250. Geico follows closely behind with rates averaging only $340 more than State Farm.

Average State Farm Car Insurance Rates by Gender

Here’s how State Farm’s annual rates based on demographics compare to other top insurance carriers in the country. These averages are national, so where you live could affect your rates.

Marital Status, Gender,
and Age
Average Premium
Married 35-year old female$2,081.72
Married 35-year old male$2,081.72
Married 60-year old female$1,873.89
Married 60-year old male$1,873.89
Single 17-year old female$5,953.88
Single 17-year old male$7,324.34
Single 25-year old female$2,335.96
Single 25-year old male$2,554.56

As with most other insurance companies, single, male teens pay more for car insurance than any other group.

Average State Farm Car Insurance Rates by Vehicle Make and Model

What vehicle you drive can also have an impact on your car insurance. Below, we show you what you can expect to pay for five specific models from State Farm and its competitors.

Make and ModelUSAAGeicoState FarmAmerican FamilyNationwideProgressiveFarmersTravelersAllstateLiberty MutualGrand Total
2015 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 foot bed and 2.7L V6
$2,551.56$3,092.11$3,204.23$3,447.30$3,571.01$3,914.05$4,093.50$4,023.47$4,429.74$5,830.16$3,791.74
2015 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$2,409.67$3,092.58$3,024.24$3,178.82$3,547.84$4,429.56$4,405.21$4,420.37$4,753.69$5,869.32$3,890.45
2015 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$2,454.58$3,090.89$3,226.02$3,326.18$3,517.03$3,647.22$3,728.22$4,383.78$4,324.99$5,825.33$3,721.25
2018 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 foot bed and 2.7L V6
$2,855.69$3,338.40$3,497.17$3,487.91$3,373.64$3,962.58$4,390.19$4,412.42$5,491.12$5,988.85$4,076.10
2018 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$2,422.66$3,338.87$3,189.99$3,721.32$3,361.93$4,528.90$4,779.51$4,661.22$5,380.28$6,682.63$4,166.72
2018 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$2,529.63$3,337.18$3,418.33$3,496.99$3,328.57$3,730.78$3,769.00$4,708.19$4,947.90$6,244.44$3,926.83

Good news if you drive a 2015 Honda Civic Sedan, because of the vehicles listed, it has the cheapest rates.

Average State Farm Car Insurance Rates by Commute

If you drive more than 12,000 miles a year, you may also see your car insurance rates start to rise.

Company10 miles commute / 6,000 annual mileage25 miles commute / 12,000 annual mileage
Allstate$4,841.71$4,934.20
American Family$3,401.30$3,484.88
Farmers$4,179.32$4,209.22
Geico$3,162.64$3,267.37
Liberty Mutual$5,995.27$6,151.63
Nationwide$3,437.33$3,462.67
Progressive$4,030.02$4,041.01
State Farm$3,175.98$3,344.01
Travelers$4,399.85$4,469.96
USAA$2,482.69$2,591.91

State Farm customers can expect to pay the third-highest rates when it comes to their commute. Other factors, such as living in a rural or urban area, could also contribute to the cost of your insurance.

Average State Farm Car Insurance Rates by Coverage

You might think that having the lowest minimum coverage in your state is the best way to ensure you and your family are protected. But that’s not necessarily the case, because sometimes the difference in low to high coverage is less than you think.

Check out the table below to see the differences in coverage.

CompanyLowMediumHigh
Allstate$4,628.03$4,896.81$5,139.02
American Family$3,368.49$3,544.37$3,416.40
Farmers$3,922.47$4,166.22$4,494.13
Geico$3,001.91$3,213.97$3,429.14
Liberty Mutual$5,805.75$6,058.57$6,356.04
Nationwide$3,394.83$3,449.80$3,505.37
Progressive$3,737.13$4,018.46$4,350.96
State Farm$3,055.40$3,269.80$3,454.80
Travelers$4,223.63$4,462.02$4,619.07
USAA$2,404.11$2,539.87$2,667.92

With State Farm, the difference between low and high coverage is only $400. So, if you are considering upgrading to provide more coverage for your family, the cost is roughly $33 monthly.

Average State Farm Car Insurance Rates by Credit Score

Besides not being able to secure a car loan or a mortgage, poor credit can also have an impact on how much you pay for car insurance. The table below reflects what you’ll pay for car insurance if you have good, fair, or poor credit. Of course, these are estimates, and your rates may be different based on your situation.

CompanyGoodFairPoor
Allstate$3,859.66$4,581.16$6,490.65
American Family$2,691.74$3,169.53$4,467.98
Farmers$3,677.12$3,899.41$4,864.14
Geico$2,434.82$2,986.79$4,259.50
Liberty Mutual$4,388.18$5,604.24$8,802.22
Nationwide$2,925.94$3,254.83$4,083.29
Progressive$3,628.85$3,956.31$4,737.64
State Farm$2,174.26$2,853.00$4,951.20
Travelers$4,058.97$4,344.10$5,160.22
USAA$1,821.20$2,219.83$3,690.73

The average credit score in the U.S. is 675. If your credit score is lower than this, you may face increased rates on car insurance. In some states, poor credit can raise your rates by thousands of dollars. On average, with State Farm, poor credit can raise your rates by $2,700.

Average State Farm Car Insurance Rates by Driving Record

If you get a speeding ticket, have an accident, or get a DUI, your rates with State Farm will increase in most states. The table below shows rates with these three violations compared to the rate for a clean record.

CompanyClean recordWith 1 speeding violationWith 1 accidentWith 1 DUI
Allstate$3,819.90$4,483.51$4,987.68$6,260.73
American Family$2,693.61$3,025.74$3,722.75$4,330.24
Farmers$3,460.60$4,079.01$4,518.73$4,718.75
Geico$2,145.96$2,645.43$3,192.77$4,875.87
Liberty Mutual$4,774.30$5,701.26$6,204.78$7,613.48
Nationwide$2,746.18$3,113.68$3,396.95$4,543.20
Progressive$3,393.09$4,002.28$4,777.04$3,969.65
State Farm$2,821.18$3,186.01$3,396.01$3,636.80
Travelers$3,447.69$4,260.80$4,289.74$5,741.40
USAA$1,933.68$2,193.25$2,516.24$3,506.03

One accident with State Farm can raise your rates over $1,100.

State Farm Insurance Discounts Available

State Farm Car Insurance Discounts

State Farm has many discounts and affordability options available to its consumers. Depending on the auto insurance discount, you could save up to 50 percent.

DiscountAmount
Anti-lock Brakes5%
Anti-Theft15%
Claim Free15%
Defensive Driver5%
Distant Studentspeak with your agent to learn more
Driver's Ed15%
Driving Device/App50%
Good Creditspeak with your agent to learn more
Good Student25%
Homeowner3%
Low Mileage30%
Marriedspeak with your agent to learn more
Militaryspeak with your agent to learn more
Multiple Policies17%
Multiple Vehicles20%
Newer Vehicle40%
Paperless/Auto Billing$2
Passive Restraint40%
Safe Driver15%
Vehicle Recovery5%

These discounts aren’t available everywhere, so be sure to ask your agent about what options you qualify for based on your situation.

Another excellent way to save money on car insurance with State Farm is their State Farm Steer Clear® Safe Driver Discount program for young drivers. It can save you hundreds, perhaps even thousands, on your car insurance premiums.

How State Farm Insurance Ranks Among Providers

The benefits of State Farm car insurance include their financial strength ratings. Since State Farm has an A++ rating, it means the company has a stable financial future and a superior ability to meet its ongoing financial obligations.

Since A+ is the highest rating the BBB gives, the Better Business Bureau views State Farm B- as better than most, but needs improvement.

Moody’s State Farm’s Aa1 rating falls into the P-2 category, which signifies that the entity’s obligations are of “high quality, and subject to very low credit risk.”

S&P’s ratingsState Farm has earned an AA, which represents “a strong capacity to meet financial commitments.”

NAIC Complaint Index

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) measures the number of complaints a company receives. The company’s complaint ratio is 0.57 and below the national average of 1.16. One thing to consider is that your experience may be better or worse than these ratings based on your insurance needs.

State Farm Car Insurance Customer Reviews

In looking at customer ratings for the app, we quickly discovered they were overwhelmingly positive — averaging 4.8 out of 5 stars in Apple’s App Store, and 4 out of 5 stars in Google Play. Many customers praised its options, ease of use, and convenience.

However, that doesn’t mean the app isn’t without criticism. In reviewing the comments, we found some common complaints included incompatibility with software updates, the inability to set reminders for bills, and some difficulty navigating multiple policies.

J.D. Power

Another essential rating to look at when searching for an insurance company is customer satisfaction levels. J.D. Power rate companies solely on customer satisfaction levels. State Farm received a score of 829 in providing a satisfying purchase experience, ranking it in the top 10 among auto insurers.

The chart below show’s rankings for State Farm from across different areas of the United States.

The numbers reveal that State Farm’s Customer Satisfaction Index Ratings range from 820 to 853 points out of 1,000.

Satisfaction rates vary by state but customers in the Southwest region (Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah), rated State Farm  the highest Power Circle Rating distinction — “Among the Best.”

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is an independent nonprofit company that utilizes customer insight to help inform purchase decisions. State Farm received a Consumer Reports reader score of 89 out of 100.

State Farm Car Insurance Review Bottom Line

We’ve shown you everything you need to know about State Farm, so you can decide for yourself whether they are a good neighbor or not.

One thing to consider is that everyone’s needs are different, and auto insurance rates can vary significantly based on individual factors. As thorough as this guide is, we still strongly suggest that you shop around with your personal details and specific vehicle information before you choose an auto insurance provider.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the State Farm Insurance Company history?

State Farm’s history began in 1922 in Bloomington, Indiana. Many factors make up a company, including how it treats its customers, how it works within the community, and whether it is financially viable enough to weather volatile economic situations. Looking at a company’s history gives you essential data about how successful the company is and what its future is like.

What are the benefits of choosing State Farm insurance?

State Farm offers several benefits to its policyholders, including:

  • Comprehensive Coverage: State Farm provides a wide range of insurance options, including auto, home, renters, life, and more, allowing you to protect various aspects of your life.
  • Strong Financial Stability: State Farm is one of the largest and most financially stable insurance companies in the United States. This stability gives policyholders confidence that their claims will be paid promptly and efficiently.
  • Network of Agents: State Farm has a vast network of local agents across the country. These agents can provide personalized assistance, answer your questions, and help you navigate the insurance process.
  • Variety of Discounts: State Farm offers various discounts to help policyholders save on their premiums. These discounts may include multi-policy discounts, safe driving discounts, and discounts for security features in your home.
  • Mobile App and Online Tools: State Farm provides a user-friendly mobile app and online tools that allow you to manage your policies, file claims, make payments, and access important documents conveniently.
  • Claims Service: State Farm has a reputation for efficient and reliable claims handling. Their claims representatives strive to provide prompt and fair settlement of claims, ensuring a smooth and hassle-free experience for policyholders.
  • Financial Products and Services: State Farm offers a range of financial products, including banking, investment, and retirement options. This comprehensive approach allows you to access multiple services under one roof.

Are there any additional benefits to choosing State Farm insurance?

Yes, apart from the aforementioned benefits, State Farm also offers the following advantages:

  • Community Involvement: State Farm has a long-standing commitment to giving back to communities. The company actively participates in charitable initiatives, disaster relief efforts, and community development programs.
  • Personalized Policies: State Farm understands that each policyholder has unique needs. Their agents work closely with individuals to customize insurance policies that align with their specific requirements, ensuring adequate coverage and peace of mind.
  • Educational Resources: State Farm provides educational resources and tools to help policyholders make informed decisions about their insurance coverage. These resources include articles, guides, and online calculators to assist in understanding insurance terminology and determining appropriate coverage levels.
  • Good Neighbor Service: State Farm emphasizes its “Good Neighbor” philosophy, aiming to be a reliable and helpful resource for policyholders. Their commitment to personalized service and building long-term relationships sets them apart from other insurance providers.

Does State Farm offer any additional perks or benefits for policyholders?

Yes, State Farm provides several additional perks and benefits to enhance the overall insurance experience. Some of these perks include:

  • Steer Clear Program: State Farm offers the Steer Clear Program, which is designed for young drivers to help them develop safe driving habits and earn discounts on their auto insurance premiums.
  • Drive Safe & Save: State Farm’s Drive Safe & Save program utilizes telematics technology to monitor driving habits. By participating in the program, policyholders may be eligible for discounts based on their safe driving behaviors.
  • Roadside Assistance: State Farm offers optional roadside assistance coverage that provides 24/7 emergency assistance for services such as towing, fuel delivery, jump-starts, and lockout assistance.
  • Rental Car and Travel Expenses Coverage: Depending on the policy, State Farm may provide coverage for rental cars or reimbursement for travel expenses incurred if your insured vehicle is involved in an accident and requires repairs.
  • Home Alert Protection: State Farm offers home insurance policyholders the option to add Home Alert Protection, which provides discounts on home security systems and monitoring services.
  • Mobile Home Endorsement: For mobile home owners, State Farm offers a mobile home endorsement that provides specialized coverage options specifically tailored to mobile homes and their unique risks.

Can I get copies of my State Farm ID card online?

Yes. You can view, print, and email a new insurance card, or request a mailed ID card through the State Farm website. You can also pull up your ID through the mobile app.

Does State Farm cover flooding?

If your car floods, it would be covered under comprehensive coverage.

How much liability car insurance should I get with State Farm?

The minimum amount of liability coverage you’re legally required to have varies by state. You may also decide to purchase liability coverage beyond your state’s minimum requirements. The State Farm agent who handles your policy will be able to advise you on your state’s minimum requirements.

Does State Farm coverage include windshield repair?

You’ll need to check your policy to verify whether you’re covered for repairs. That being said, State Farm covers both windshield repairs and replacements, depending on the extent of the damage. Your deductible may apply. Click here to learn more.

Can I make payments to State Farm online?

Yes, you can make payments through the State Farm website, and you can even pay using a phone number, policy number, payment plan account number, or key code.

Can I bundle multiple insurance policies with State Farm?

Yes, State Farm offers the option to bundle multiple insurance policies, which can lead to potential cost savings and convenience. By bundling your auto, home, renters, or other insurance policies with State Farm, you may qualify for a multi-policy discount. This discount is applied when you have two or more qualifying policies with State Farm.

Does State Farm offer accident forgiveness?

Yes, but there are stipulations. Accident forgiveness at State Farm only applies to customers who have been accident-free at State Farm for nine years.

Will State Farm Drive Safe and Save penalize me for bad driving?

Since the app records safe driving habits, some people worry that bad driving will hike up their rates. While bad driving may result in you not getting a discount one month, the app only subtracts from your costs, and it doesn’t add on.

How does the State Farm insurance app work?

State Farm has a Mobile app designed to help manage your accounts, get roadside assistance, file a claim, and more.

How can I file an insurance claim with State Farm?

To file an insurance claim with State Farm, you can follow these general steps:

  1. Contact State Farm: Notify State Farm of the incident as soon as possible. You can reach out to your local State Farm agent, call the State Farm claims department, or file a claim online through their website or mobile app.
  2. Provide Information: Be prepared to provide relevant details about the incident, such as the date, time, location, description of what happened, and any other supporting information requested by the claims representative.
  3. Document the Loss: Take photos or videos of the damage, if applicable. Keep any receipts, invoices, or other documentation related to the loss or expenses incurred.
  4. Cooperate with the Claims Process: State Farm will assign a claims representative who will guide you through the process. They may request additional information, arrange for an appraisal, or schedule an inspection, depending on the nature of the claim.
  5. Claim Resolution: Once the claims process is complete, State Farm will work to settle the claim based on the terms and coverage outlined in your insurance policy. They will provide you with updates on the status of your claim and address any questions you may have.

Why would I need to cancel State Farm car insurance, and how do I do it?

Here are four reasons why you may want to cancel State Farm auto insurance:

  • Selling a car and not replacing it
  • Storing a classic or antique vehicle
  • A teen is heading to college and will no longer be driving the vehicle
  • A vehicle has been paid off and no longer requires comprehensive coverage

State Farm allows you to cancel your policy by phone, by mail or fax, and in person.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Benjamin Carr

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Benjamin Carr worked as a licensed insurance agent at State Farm and Tennant Special Risk. He sold various lines of coverage and informed his clients about their life, health, property/casualty insurance needs. Assessing risks and helping people find the best coverage to suit their needs is a passion of his. He appreciates that insurance was designed to protect people, particularly during times...

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for State Farm Insurance

4.09 (17,754 reviews)
1
February 5, 2024

Chopper407

Two thumbs down for the claims department.

State Farm appears to be riding high with their NFL player commercials all the while treating their customers with little to no valve. State Farm’s claim department is cheap and unorganized. You’ll get a different answer to the same question every time you talk to a different claim specialist. When it comes to getting your car fixed expect to have to pay for repairs. I have full coverage and had damage done to my car. When I took it to a shop...
State Farm appears to be riding high with their NFL player commercials all the while treating their customers with little to no valve. State Farm’s claim department is cheap and unorganized. You’ll get a different answer to the same question every time you talk to a different claim specialist. When it comes to getting your car fixed expect to have to pay for repairs. I have full coverage and had damage done to my car. When I took it to a shop recommended by the dealer the State Farm adjuster undercut the shops prices left and right leaving me with a $1167.00 bill. Then they give me bs excuses why I’m out of pocket. I can only imagine what they would do if my house was damaged from a Hurricane or wind storm. This has been a terrible experience for my wife and I and will be switching to a different insurance company in the near future.
5
October 28, 2023

trailrunner87

Excellent Insurance Experience with State Farm

I unfortunately hit a deer and my front end was damaged to a small extent. State Farm made my car repair and rental car process seamless. Since there was no one involved in my accident besides myself, I decided to try their app to log my claim and I had a very easy experience. I didn't have to submit photos since it was a deer that caused it and it gave me next steps clearly and quickly. It gave me a list of collision centers and rental car pla...
I unfortunately hit a deer and my front end was damaged to a small extent. State Farm made my car repair and rental car process seamless. Since there was no one involved in my accident besides myself, I decided to try their app to log my claim and I had a very easy experience. I didn't have to submit photos since it was a deer that caused it and it gave me next steps clearly and quickly. It gave me a list of collision centers and rental car places, let me know what my rental car allowance was since I had recently added that to my policy, and let me know my deductible clearly at the end. I did everything through the app. Within a few hours, someone called me from State Farm to make sure I was okay and to ask if I needed any clarification or help navigating the app. She was caring and easy to talk to. I also love my agent, Bob Garrigan, and his whole team. They have always been there to discuss things with, to make good decisions with, and to support whatever I choose to do. I have never felt taken advantage of. I had two other accident claims with them a few years ago. Both went smoothly as well - both times, men rear-ended me. The first gentleman lied about it to avoid a policy issue on his end and my agent stayed the course and continued to patiently work with his insurance company until they took ownership of his actions and paid the claim. The second time I was rear-ended, the young man didn't contest his part in it, but the collision center was difficult to work with and State Farm had to call them out for their poor performance and work on my behalf. This is how an insurance company should treat their customer. I plan to stay with State Farm for as long as they give five star service.
1
October 19, 2023

Ann_Smith

To "Insure" a downfall

State Farm, as with many insurance companies care about only 1 thing. Money. I think the best way to understand it is just to watch the Incredibles, and that scene with Bob at his job. Does it matter who is at fault? No. Does it matter what the circumstances were? No. Does it matter if anybody is being unethical? No. What matters is the cold, hard cash. You can pay thousands of dollars, have a fender bender with barely a scratch and OOOP, they ha...
State Farm, as with many insurance companies care about only 1 thing. Money. I think the best way to understand it is just to watch the Incredibles, and that scene with Bob at his job. Does it matter who is at fault? No. Does it matter what the circumstances were? No. Does it matter if anybody is being unethical? No. What matters is the cold, hard cash. You can pay thousands of dollars, have a fender bender with barely a scratch and OOOP, they had to pay money to fix it? Strike one. Soon enough, you are out with yesterday's garbage. Heaven forbid you have a child learning how to drive and something goes wrong. I can promise you it will haunt them for years to come. They say they only look at the past three years. That would be a lie. They say they have your back, and that would be a lie. Any possibility they have to pay anything, even if only partial fault, they can, and will, throw the sack at ya. With that said, it does have some lovely agents. I could rave about how awesome they are. Heck, an agent thought it would be ridiculous to sack somebody over what happened to me, but, you know, he appealed and the company still said "Whaaat, we must pay money even though the person has barely had issues? No way!" Amazing how they can hire good ethical employees, but can't be a good ethical business. You can spend way more in premiums than they have ever had to pay for anything, but who cares? They don't want to to ever have to do their job. Insurance is required by law. But what is the point of having insurance when at the snap of the fingers they can dig up something that happened when you were learning how to drive and compare it to a small fender bender in the future and say "We don't want that!" What is to feel safe about? The motto "we got your back... as long as you are the only one who has to pay us anything. Ever." Should be their slogan. You can't learn from mistakes, even if you never make them again, you can't have complications with a new license without it haunting your future. You can't be human, and sometimes make human error. Insurance is there to ensure you will be ok. The only thing state farm ensures is their path to your wallet, and a way to ditch if any of YOUR money ever has to come back to you because things happen.
1
September 16, 2023

romomy

Ridiculous Rate Increases

They just raised my rate by $100.00 which was bad enough but they raised my mother's $400.00. She's on a fixed income and her rate was already ridiculously high. She has a good driving record and has been with SF for decades. When we made a move to the West coast, they doubled what she was paying back home (from a little over $600.00 per yr to $1200 every six months) and now to raise it another $400.00 after six months is adding insult to inju...
They just raised my rate by $100.00 which was bad enough but they raised my mother's $400.00. She's on a fixed income and her rate was already ridiculously high. She has a good driving record and has been with SF for decades. When we made a move to the West coast, they doubled what she was paying back home (from a little over $600.00 per yr to $1200 every six months) and now to raise it another $400.00 after six months is adding insult to injury. She worked her entire life and always paid her bill on time. No accidents, tickets, etc. No way she can afford $1600.00 every six months. That's if they don't raise it again in 6 months. It is appalling that they treat decades long customers this way. She's supposed to be enjoying retirement but how is she supposed to do that when she can't drive? If you think being with SF forever will help you in your twilight years forget it. They don't care about longterm business. Obviously, they raised her rate so much because they know she can't pay that much and they get to drop her without being called out for age discrimination. Changing companies ASAP.
4
July 22, 2023

Jen Anders

State Farm Insurance review

The State Farm Drive Safe & Save app is below average. Doesn\'t record every trip as it should. Requires my cellphone to have everything on (Location, Storage, Bluetooth, Physical Location, Phone, etc.), but lowers your trip score if the phone moves, jostles, or slides at all while you drive, A pain in the neck to deal with it every time. Also, it recorded a trip I did not make in my vehicle, but that my spouse drove us in his vehicle. So far af...
The State Farm Drive Safe & Save app is below average. Doesn\'t record every trip as it should. Requires my cellphone to have everything on (Location, Storage, Bluetooth, Physical Location, Phone, etc.), but lowers your trip score if the phone moves, jostles, or slides at all while you drive, A pain in the neck to deal with it every time. Also, it recorded a trip I did not make in my vehicle, but that my spouse drove us in his vehicle. So far after1 month its only an $11.10 discount for 6 months, but we will see. I would not recommend this app. Allstatea was much more user friendly and less \"Big Brother.\"
5
May 3, 2023

LHN

Personal article policy

[REDACTED NAME] was very helpful with my personal articles policy. I made my payment for 2023 to my auto policy. She was very helpful to ensure payment when to the correct department.
1
March 17, 2023

Love2sing_

Customer Concerns or Customer Loyalty Mean Nothing

After almost 20 years of being a State Farm customer, I will be moving on to another insurance carrier. I took my car to be repaired at a State Farm preferred body shop after a collision with a deer. Traumatizing! The repair shop didn’t submit all the needed repairs to State Farm in an effort to cut corners and still do the work just barely under the threshold of my vehicle being totaled. When I went to pick up my car, the engine light was on, ...
After almost 20 years of being a State Farm customer, I will be moving on to another insurance carrier. I took my car to be repaired at a State Farm preferred body shop after a collision with a deer. Traumatizing! The repair shop didn’t submit all the needed repairs to State Farm in an effort to cut corners and still do the work just barely under the threshold of my vehicle being totaled. When I went to pick up my car, the engine light was on, my instrument panel wasn’t working, and my sunroof liner was still sagging inside the vehicle. The repair shop relayed to State Farm that such issues were “pre-existing” issues. This claim was totally untrue. I ended up taking my vehicle to the dealership to fix the electrical issues that did not exist prior to the accident. It was determined at the dealership that those issues were a result of unsavory work performed at the body shop. The final issue was the sunroof liner. The body shop still insisted it was a pre-existing condition. I contacted State Farm directly with my concern. They told me unless I had a photo of the liner intact before the accident, they would stand by the report of the body shop because the shop is on their preferred list. How absurd! My only request was that they send a State Farm representative to look at the sunroof. They would not comply, and I was told that if I need to change insurance companies, they would understand. As a result, I am now financially responsible for this outstanding repair to my vehicle. So, no I would not recommend State Farm as an insurance carrier. They were NOT “like a good neighbor.” They were NOT “there” for me as a customer. If you do select them, make sure you take a picture of your vehicle intact right before you anticipate an accident. Absurd!
1
March 2, 2023

Amb13

Rather have no insurance

If there is ever a possibility that you may be in an accident, even if you didn't cause it and tried to avoid it.....DONT go to state farm. When your in an accident they don't want to help. They argue about paying you and when they do, it I'd never on time. They keep upping their prices. I wouldn't tell my worst enemy to get insurance through here and have had multiple people go somewhere else. TERRIBLE COMPANY!
1
February 18, 2023

Cristel94

No accountability from them

I had an accident a while back and they got my car fixed at a location THEY recommended. I had it fixed (according to the location) and I left just fine. Exactly one year later I’m starting to have issues with my car and after a few discoveries, I knew it stemmed from that accident. I called State Farm and they had me take it to get looked at and go from there. I took it to a collision center and waited for my car to get looked at. It has been ...
I had an accident a while back and they got my car fixed at a location THEY recommended. I had it fixed (according to the location) and I left just fine. Exactly one year later I’m starting to have issues with my car and after a few discoveries, I knew it stemmed from that accident. I called State Farm and they had me take it to get looked at and go from there. I took it to a collision center and waited for my car to get looked at. It has been a mess from there and I had no car for about a month! In that month it was full of no communication from their end, and no responsibility and accountability over something I was 100% sure stemmed from that accident, seeing as my car was perfectly fine before. I have received mostly bad customer service from workers there who spoke to me with little patience, condescending tones and if I was a disturbance, as if I haven’t been a loyal customer for YEARS. Everyone who was helping me with this case outside of the state farm team has been super helpful and patient because they understand how much of a stress this can be to someone. In the end I had two different people come out to estimate my car, the second time me being there to help them understand what they need to be looking at. The estimator the second time even saw defects the previous people who fixed my car had done. I’m the end, they still didn’t believe it was from this, but instead because this was originally a salvage vehicle so it MUST be from that. Ignoring the fact that my car was perfectly fine beforehand and had no issues with ANYTHING, including getting it aligned. Distraught, I had to drive an unsafe vehicle for a week, clutching at the wheel and hoping I can make it to and from my destinations, until I had a body shop guy look at my car and see what was going on. I took it today and he said, just as I imagined, the entire issue was from the side where (shock!) the accident occurred! The left side was fine. As soon as I fix the right side, my car should be fine. The previous people who had my car literally destroyed my vehicle and even caused me to have a what could have been deadly accident where my tire split, and State Farm simply backed them up (not to mention that place closed so that shows how “reputable” they were) instead of supporting a loyal customer for years. We pay hundreds to insurance companies a month and the rare times we need them to use the money we give them, they treat us like crap and take no responsibility for taking us to a place that don’t fix my car and almost had me killed. I’m not even typing out all the small details on this issue and look how long this review had to be! Truly I may just switch insurances because this has been such a horrible experience and I hope the next place actually cares about their customers. “Like a good neighbor, State Farm is there”? Lmao if they were my “good neighbors”, I’d close my blinds and ignore them if they rang my doorbell to come over…
1
February 3, 2023

Nsu_1617

State Farm Insurance is really bad!!!

Here in Maryland, State Farm has a lion's share of car insurance. Everywhere you look, there an agent. I used to have a policy with them, but changed to a competitor when they their rates. Long story short, my wife was involved in an auto accident with their client who changed lanes, drove into my wife's leading to a collision with damage to my wife's front bumper. State Farm kept stringing me on for two weeks and eventually refused to pay for da...
Here in Maryland, State Farm has a lion's share of car insurance. Everywhere you look, there an agent. I used to have a policy with them, but changed to a competitor when they their rates. Long story short, my wife was involved in an auto accident with their client who changed lanes, drove into my wife's leading to a collision with damage to my wife's front bumper. State Farm kept stringing me on for two weeks and eventually refused to pay for damages. Every time I called, a representative was giving me a different story. The company sucks.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption