State Farm Car Insurance Review [2022]

The average State Farm car insurance rates range from $156/mo for a 60-year-old female to $610/mo for a 17-year-old male. State Farm car insurance has an A++ rating from A.M. Best.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

UPDATED: Jun 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: One State Farm Plaza
City: Bloomington
State: IL
ZIP Code: 61710
Phone Number: 800-782-8332
Year Founded: 1922
AM Best Rating: A++ (Superior)

Like a good neighbor, State Farm is there. But what if that neighbor plays loud music, lets his pot-bellied pig Petunia trample your petunias, and fetches Amazon deliveries in his barely-there speedo? Will they still be a good neighbor?

The same goes for State Farm. How good are they? Do they settle claims quickly? Do they answer the telephone when you need to speak to someone? In this guide, we’re going to find out exactly how friendly State Farm is and provide you with everything you need to know, including company history, ratings, coverage options, and more.

Want to start comparison shopping today? You can take advantage of our FREE online tool to start comparing rates in your area.

Let’s get started.

Table of Contents

What are State Farm’s Financial Ratings?

The benefits of State Farm include their financial strength ratings. State Farm says they are a good neighbor, but let’s see what multiple independent agencies have to say about them and whether it’s the right company for your car insurance needs. Comparing the pros and cons is an important factor in determining which auto insurance company is best for you.

State Farm Car Insurance Ratings
Rating AgenciesRating
A.M. BestA++
Better Business Bureau A+ (Milwaukee, WI)
Moody’s Aa1 (State Farm Life)
S&P AA
NAIC Complaint
Index Ratio
0.49 (2018)
J.D. Power 4/5 (Overall Satisfaction)
Consumer Reports 89
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

– AM Best

An AM Best rating measures the financial stability of a company, with A++ being the highest rating possible. Since State Farm has an A++ rating, it means the company has a stable financial future and a superior ability to meet its ongoing financial obligations.

– Better Business Bureau

This rating looks at multiple aspects of a business, although the most critical element is the company’s complaint history. A complaint history shows how satisfied customers are with the service they receive.

Since A+ is the highest rating the BBB gives, the Better Business Bureau views State Farm B- as better than most, but needs improvement.

– Moody’s

Moody’s rating looks at how well a company can pay off its debts (its creditworthiness). State Farm’s Aa1 rating falls into the P-2 category, which signifies that the entity’s obligations are of “high quality, and subject to very low credit risk.”

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

– Standard and Poor’s (S&P)


S&P’s ratings range from an AAA to its highest, to a D at its lowest. State Farm has earned an AA, which represents “a strong capacity to meet financial commitments.”

– NAIC Complaint Index

Private Passenger
Policies
201620172018
Total Complaints9,2061,4811,402
Complaint Index
(better or worse
than National Index)
2.16
(worse)
0.52
(better)
0.57
(better)
National Complaint Index0.781.21.16
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) measures the number of complaints a company receives. The company’s complaint ratio is 0.57 and below the national average of 1.16. One thing to consider is that your experience may be better or worse than these ratings based on your insurance needs.

– J.D. Power

Another essential rating to look at when searching for an insurance company is customer satisfaction levels. J.D. Power rate companies solely on customer satisfaction levels. State Farm received a score of 829 in providing a satisfying purchase experience, ranking it in the top 10 among auto insurers.

The chart below show’s rankings for State Farm from across different areas of the United States.

RegionCustomer Satisfaction
(out of 1,000)
J.D. Power Circle Ranking
California824Better than most
Central828About average
Florida834About average
Mid-Atlantic834About average
New England844Better than most
New York845Better than most
North Central841Better than most
Northwest820About average
Southeast853Better than most
Southwest831Among the best
Texas835About average
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The numbers reveal that State Farm’s Customer Satisfaction Index Ratings range from 820 to 853 points out of 1,000.

Satisfaction rates vary by state but customers in the Southwest region (Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah), rated State Farm  the highest Power Circle Rating distinction — “Among the Best.”

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

– Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is an independent nonprofit company that utilizes customer insight to help inform purchase decisions. The company received a Consumer Reports reader score of 89 out of 100.

Our table below shows how well State Farm performed in several categories:

Claims HandlingScore/Rating
Reader Score89 out of 100
Ease of reaching an agentExcellent
Simplicity of the processVery good
Promptness of response - very goodVery good
Damage amountVery good
Agent courtesyExcellent
Timely paymentVery good
Freedom to select repair shopVery good
Being kept informed of claim statusExcellent
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Clearly, State Farm excels in customer satisfaction and simplicity of the claims process.

What’s State Farm Company History?

State Farm’s history began in 1922 in Bloomington, Indiana and increased over time. The video below tells the story of how State Farm partnered with the United States Postal Service to handle its ever-increasing correspondence between consumers and the company.

But many factors make up a company, including how it treats its customer, how it works within the community, and whether it is financially viable enough to weather volatile economic situations.

Why should you care about the history of State Farm? Because looking at a company’s history gives you essential data about how successful the company is and what its future is like.

Up next, we are going to dig into everything from State Farm market share to its awards and accolades.

– Market Share

State Farm’s market share dipped from 2016 to 2018, but it’s still several percentage points ahead of its closest competitor, Geico (at 13.41 percent).

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s State Farm’s Position for the Future?

Here’s what we know:

  • Several organizations not only continue to affirm State Farm’s financial health, but they also continue to place a great deal of confidence in its abilities to meet its financial obligations.
  • Customers appear to be satisfied with State Farm’s overall experience, even though some regions rated the company as “About Average” in J.D. Power’s study.
  • Although Geico continues to make gains in its market share, it still has a long way before it catches up to, or overtakes, State Farm as the largest insurance provider in the United States.
  • Finally, State Farm’s many commitments to the community are evidence that the company is not planning on leaving the US any time soon.

What’s State Farm’s Online Presence?

State Farm has several options if you want to access information or get in touch with someone about your car insurance policy.

  • Online — You can find quotes and more online at the State Farm website.
  • Agents — You can talk to agents by texting, calling, or emailing.
  • Apps — State Farm offers a mobile app, through which you can access your policy information and contact agents.

How Do State Farm’s Commercials Work?

Car insurance companies do whatever it takes to grab your attention through humor, what-if scenarios, and emotional bonding. State Farm is no exception.

The what-if scenario:

https://youtu.be/k29ogXL_S2U

State Farm continues to lead the way among the insurance giants, so their advertising philosophy seems to be working.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Does State Farm Care About the Community?

Community service shows a company cares, and State Farm has involved itself in several programs to give back to the community. State Farm is challenging itself to do 100 Acts of Good before its 100th anniversary in 2022.

This video below shows an act of good:

Beyond the 100 Acts of Good program, state Farm says its community involvement generally falls into one of the following categories:

  • Auto and home safety programs and activities
  • Disaster preparedness and recovery programs and services
  • Education, economic empowerment and community development projects, programs and services

The video below shows another way to become involved in your local community:

State Farm encourages its employees to get involved in their community, and the simplest way is to start.

What Do State Farm’s Employees Think About the Company?

Let’s take a look at what employees think of State Farm. This will give us insight into the company’s values and employee satisfaction levels.

Here are Glassdoor’s ratings:

Folks at Payscale.com say:

  • Employees have given the company an average rating of 3.3 out of 5 in Overall Satisfaction
  • Employees gave State Farm the highest marks in Manager Relationships (4/5), followed by Manager Communication (3.8/5), and Learning and Development (3.6/5)

As with most large companies, it appears State Farm employees have had their fair share of both positive and negative experiences. Your interactions with the company may be better or worse.

Let’s move on to see what awards State Farm has won for being the largest insurance company in the country.

Recent awards include:

  • 2019 Top 100 Most Military Friendly Employer
  • 2019 National Recognition for Equality
  • 2019 Top Companies for Executive Women
  • 2019 Most Admired Company by Fortune Magazine

Does State Farm Has Cheap Car Insurance Rates?

We partnered with Quadrant Information Services to bring you this information. Here are two things to keep in mind.

  1. Many variables can affect what you pay. Your rate will differ from what is listed below
  2. State Farm has insurance discounts and options that may help offset the cost

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s State Farm Availability and Rates by State?

State Farm is available in every state. Their rates vary, sometimes below and sometimes above average, and can be further affected by factors like driving record and credit history.

State Annual PremiumHigher/Lower
than State Average
Percent Higher/Lower
than State Average
Alaska$2,228.12-$1,193.39-34.88%
Alabama$4,798.15$1,231.1934.52%
Arkansas$2,789.03-$1,335.95-32.39%
Arizona$4,756.25$985.2826.13%
California$4,202.28$513.3513.92%
Colorado$3,270.77-$605.63-15.62%
Connecticut$2,976.24-$1,642.68-35.56%
District of Columbia$4,074.05-$365.20-8.23%
Delaware$4,466.85-$1,519.48-25.38%
Florida$3,397.67-$1,282.79-27.41%
Georgia$3,384.88-$1,581.95-31.85%
Hawaii$1,040.28-$1,515.36-59.29%
Iowa$2,224.51-$756.77-25.38%
Idaho$1,867.96-$1,111.13-37.30%
Illinois$2,344.88-$960.60-29.06%
Indiana$2,408.94-$1,006.03-29.46%
Kansas$2,720.00-$559.62-17.06%
Kentucky$3,354.32-$1,841.09-35.44%
Louisiana$4,579.12-$1,132.22-19.82%
Maine$2,198.68-$754.60-25.55%
Maryland$3,960.87-$621.83-13.57%
Massachusetts$1,361.86-$1,316.99-49.16%
Michigan$12,565.52$2,066.8819.69%
Minnesota$2,066.99-$2,336.27-53.06%
Missouri$2,692.91-$636.03-19.11%
Mississippi$2,980.48-$684.09-18.67%
Montana$2,417.74-$803.11-24.93%
North Carolina$3,078.65-$314.46-9.27%
North Dakota$2,560.53-$1,605.32-38.54%
Nebraska$2,438.71-$844.97-25.73%
New Hampshire$2,185.46-$966.32-30.66%
New Jersey$7,527.16$2,011.9436.48%
New Mexico$2,340.66-$1,122.98-32.42%
Nevada$5,796.34$934.6419.22%
New York$4,484.58$194.704.54%
Ohio$2,507.88-$201.84-7.45%
Oklahoma$2,816.80-$1,325.53-32.00%
Oregon$2,731.48-$736.29-21.23%
Pennsylvania$2,744.23-$1,290.27-31.98%
Rhode Island$2,406.51-$2,596.85-51.90%
South Carolina$3,071.34-$709.80-18.77%
South Dakota$2,306.23-$1,676.05-42.09%
Tennessee$2,639.30-$1,021.59-27.91%
Texas$2,879.94-$1,163.34-28.77%
Utah$4,645.83$1,033.9428.63%
Virginia$2,268.95-$88.92-3.77%
Vermont$4,382.84$1,148.7135.52%
Washington$2,499.78-$559.55-18.29%
West Virginia$2,126.32-$469.04-18.07%
Wisconsin$2,387.53-$1,218.53-33.79%
Wyoming$2,303.55-$896.53-28.02%
Median$2,731.48-$929.41-25.39%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The most expensive state to carry State Farm as your insurance provider is Michigan, followed by New Jersey, where rates are thousands above average.

How to Compare the Top 10 Companies by Market Share

Here’s a look at State Farm compared to nine other top companies on a state-by-state basis.

.

State Farm rates compared to other companies in all 50 states
StateAverage by StateAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGEICOLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersUSAA
Alaska$3,421.51$3,145.31$4,153.07Data Not Available$2,879.96$5,295.55Data Not Available$3,062.85$2,228.12Data Not Available$2,454.21
Alabama$3,566.96$3,311.52Data Not Available$4,185.80$2,866.60$4,005.48$2,662.66$4,450.52$4,798.15$3,697.80$2,124.09
Arkansas$4,124.98$5,150.03Data Not Available$4,257.87$3,484.63Data Not Available$3,861.79$5,312.09$2,789.03$5,973.33$2,171.06
Arizona$3,770.97$4,904.10Data Not Available$5,000.08$2,264.71Data Not Available$3,496.08$3,577.50$4,756.25$3,084.74$3,084.29
California$3,688.93$4,532.96Data Not Available$4,998.78$2,885.65$3,034.42$4,653.19$2,849.67$4,202.28$3,349.54$2,693.87
Colorado$3,876.39$5,537.17$3,733.02$5,290.24$3,091.69$2,797.74$3,739.47$4,231.92$3,270.77Data Not Available$3,338.87
Connecticut$4,618.92$5,831.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,073.66$7,282.87$3,672.34$4,920.35$2,976.24$6,004.29$3,190.00
District of Columbia$4,439.24$6,468.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,692.81Data Not Available$4,848.98$4,970.26$4,074.05Data Not Available$2,580.44
Delaware$5,986.32$6,316.06Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,727.29$18,360.02$4,330.21$4,181.83$4,466.85$4,182.36$2,325.98
Florida$4,680.46$7,440.46Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,783.63$5,368.15$4,339.60$5,583.30$3,397.67Data Not Available$2,850.41
Georgia$4,966.83$4,210.70Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,977.20$10,053.44$6,484.90$4,499.22$3,384.88Data Not Available$3,157.46
Hawaii$2,555.64$2,173.49Data Not Available$4,763.82$3,358.86$3,189.55$2,551.83$2,177.93$1,040.28Data Not Available$1,189.35
Iowa$2,981.28$2,965.86$3,021.81$2,435.72$2,296.16$4,415.28$2,735.44$2,395.50$2,224.51$5,429.38$1,852.57
Idaho$2,979.09$4,088.76$3,728.79$3,168.28$2,770.68$2,301.51$3,032.19Data Not Available$1,867.96$3,226.29$1,877.61
Illinois$3,305.48$5,204.41$3,815.31$4,605.20$2,779.16$2,277.65$2,711.81$3,536.65$2,344.88$2,499.76$2,770.21
Indiana$3,414.97$3,978.81$3,679.68$3,437.55$2,261.07$5,781.35Data Not Available$3,898.00$2,408.94$3,393.75$1,630.86
Kansas$3,279.62$4,010.23$2,146.40$3,703.77$3,220.65$4,784.42$2,475.59$4,144.38$2,720.00$4,341.43$2,382.61
Kentucky$5,195.40$7,143.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,633.59$5,930.97$5,503.23$5,547.63$3,354.32$6,551.68$2,897.89
Louisiana$5,711.34$5,998.79Data Not AvailableData Not Available$6,154.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$7,471.10$4,579.12Data Not Available$4,353.12
Maine$2,953.28$3,675.59Data Not Available$2,770.15$2,823.05$4,331.39Data Not Available$3,643.59$2,198.68$2,252.97$1,930.79
Maryland$4,582.70$5,233.17Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,832.63$9,297.55$2,915.69$4,094.86$3,960.87Data Not Available$2,744.14
Massachusetts$2,678.85$2,708.53Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,510.17$4,339.35Data Not Available$3,835.11$1,361.86$3,537.94$1,458.99
Michigan$10,498.64$22,902.59Data Not Available$8,503.60$6,430.11$20,000.04$6,327.38$5,364.55$12,565.52$8,773.97$3,620.00
Minnesota$4,403.25$4,532.01$3,521.29$3,137.45$3,498.54$13,563.61$2,926.49Data Not Available$2,066.99Data Not Available$2,861.60
Missouri$3,328.93$4,096.15$3,286.90$4,312.19$2,885.33$4,518.67$2,265.35$3,419.14$2,692.91Data Not Available$2,525.78
Mississippi$3,664.57$4,942.11Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,087.21$4,455.94$2,756.53$4,308.85$2,980.48$3,729.32$2,056.13
Montana$3,220.84$4,672.10Data Not Available$3,907.55$3,602.35$1,326.11$3,478.26$4,330.76$2,417.74Data Not Available$2,031.89
North Carolina$3,393.11$7,190.43Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,936.69$2,182.71$2,848.03$2,382.61$3,078.65$3,132.66Data Not Available
North Dakota$4,165.84$4,669.31$3,812.40$3,092.49$2,668.24$12,852.83$2,560.35$3,623.06$2,560.53Data Not Available$2,006.80
Nebraska$3,283.68$3,198.83$2,215.13$3,997.29$3,837.49$6,241.52$2,603.94$3,758.01$2,438.71Data Not Available$2,330.78
New Hampshire$3,151.77$2,725.01Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,615.02$8,444.41$2,491.10$2,694.45$2,185.46Data Not Available$1,906.96
New Jersey$5,515.21$5,713.58Data Not Available$7,617.00$2,754.94$6,766.62Data Not Available$3,972.72$7,527.16$4,254.49Data Not Available
New Mexico$3,463.64$4,200.65Data Not Available$4,315.53$4,458.30Data Not Available$3,514.38$3,119.18$2,340.66Data Not Available$2,296.77
Nevada$4,861.70$5,371.62$5,441.18$5,595.56$3,662.09$6,201.55$3,477.14$4,062.57$5,796.34$5,360.41$3,069.07
New York$4,289.88$4,740.97Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,428.24$6,540.73$4,012.93$3,771.15$4,484.58$4,578.79$3,761.69
Ohio$2,709.71$3,197.22$1,515.17$3,423.01$1,867.19$4,429.74$3,300.89$3,436.96$2,507.88$3,135.16$1,478.46
Oklahoma$4,142.33$3,718.62Data Not Available$4,142.40$3,437.34$6,874.62Data Not Available$4,832.35$2,816.80Data Not Available$3,174.15
Oregon$3,467.77$4,765.95$3,527.28$3,753.52$3,220.12$4,334.55$3,176.83$3,629.13$2,731.48$2,892.19$2,587.15
Pennsylvania$4,034.50$3,984.12Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,605.22$6,055.20$2,800.37$4,451.00$2,744.23$7,842.47$1,793.37
Rhode Island$5,003.36$4,959.45Data Not AvailableData Not Available$5,602.63$6,184.12$4,409.63$5,231.09$2,406.51$6,909.45$4,323.98
South Carolina$3,781.14$3,903.43Data Not Available$4,691.85$3,178.01Data Not Available$3,625.49$4,573.08$3,071.34Data Not Available$3,424.77
South Dakota$3,982.27$4,723.72$4,047.47$3,768.80$2,940.29$7,515.99$2,737.66$3,752.81$2,306.23Data Not AvailableData Not Available
Tennessee$3,660.89$4,828.85Data Not Available$3,430.07$3,283.42$6,206.69$3,424.96$3,656.91$2,639.30$2,738.52$2,739.28
Texas$4,043.28$5,485.44$4,848.72Data Not Available$3,263.28Data Not Available$3,867.55$4,664.69$2,879.94Data Not Available$2,487.89
Utah$3,611.89$3,566.42$3,698.77$3,907.99$2,965.57$4,327.76$2,986.57$3,830.10$4,645.83Data Not Available$2,491.10
Virginia$2,357.87$3,386.80Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,061.53Data Not Available$2,073.00$2,498.58$2,268.95Data Not Available$1,858.38
Vermont$3,234.13$3,190.38Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,195.71$3,621.08$2,128.21$5,217.14$4,382.84Data Not Available$1,903.55
Washington$3,059.32$3,540.52$3,713.02$2,962.00$2,568.65$3,994.73$2,129.84$3,209.52$2,499.78Data Not Available$2,262.16
West Virginia$2,595.36$3,820.68Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,120.80$2,924.39Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,126.32Data Not Available$1,984.62
Wisconsin$3,606.06$4,854.41$1,513.27$3,777.49$3,926.20$6,758.85$5,224.99$3,128.91$2,387.53Data Not Available$2,975.74
Wyoming$3,200.08$4,373.93Data Not Available$3,069.35$3,496.56$1,989.36$3,187.20$4,401.17$2,303.55Data Not Available$2,779.53
Median$3,660.89$4,532.96$3,698.77$3,907.99$3,073.66$5,295.55$3,187.20$3,935.36$2,731.48$3,729.32$2,489.49
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

On average, State Farm is in second place when it comes to cost, trailing USAA  by less than $250. Geico follows closely behind with rates averaging only $340 more than State Farm.

What are the Average State Farm Male vs. Female Car Insurance Rates?

Here’s how State Farm’s annual rates based on demographics compare to other top insurance carriers in the country. These averages are national, so where you live could affect your rates.

Marital Status, Gender,
and Age
Average Premium
Married 35-year old female$2,081.72
Married 35-year old male$2,081.72
Married 60-year old female$1,873.89
Married 60-year old male$1,873.89
Single 17-year old female$5,953.88
Single 17-year old male$7,324.34
Single 25-year old female$2,335.96
Single 25-year old male$2,554.56
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

As with most other insurance companies, single, male teens pay more for car insurance than any other group.

What are the Average State Farm Rates by Make and Model?

What vehicle you drive can also have an impact on your car insurance. Below, we show you what you can expect to pay for five specific models from State Farm and its competitors.

Make and ModelUSAAGEICOState FarmAmerican FamilyNationwideProgressiveFarmersTravelersAllstateLiberty MutualGrand Total
2015 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 foot bed and 2.7L V6
$2,551.56$3,092.11$3,204.23$3,447.30$3,571.01$3,914.05$4,093.50$4,023.47$4,429.74$5,830.16$3,791.74
2015 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$2,409.67$3,092.58$3,024.24$3,178.82$3,547.84$4,429.56$4,405.21$4,420.37$4,753.69$5,869.32$3,890.45
2015 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$2,454.58$3,090.89$3,226.02$3,326.18$3,517.03$3,647.22$3,728.22$4,383.78$4,324.99$5,825.33$3,721.25
2018 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 foot bed and 2.7L V6
$2,855.69$3,338.40$3,497.17$3,487.91$3,373.64$3,962.58$4,390.19$4,412.42$5,491.12$5,988.85$4,076.10
2018 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$2,422.66$3,338.87$3,189.99$3,721.32$3,361.93$4,528.90$4,779.51$4,661.22$5,380.28$6,682.63$4,166.72
2018 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$2,529.63$3,337.18$3,418.33$3,496.99$3,328.57$3,730.78$3,769.00$4,708.19$4,947.90$6,244.44$3,926.83
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Good news if you drive a 2015 Honda Civic Sedan, because of the vehicles listed, it has the cheapest rates.

What are the Average State Farm Commute Rates?

If you drive more than 12,000 miles a year, you may also see your car insurance rates start to rise.

Company10 miles commute / 6,000 annual mileage25 miles commute / 12,000 annual mileage 
Allstate$4,841.71$4,934.20
American Family$3,401.30$3,484.88
Farmers$4,179.32$4,209.22
GEICO$3,162.64$3,267.37
Liberty Mutual$5,995.27$6,151.63
Nationwide$3,437.33$3,462.67
Progressive$4,030.02$4,041.01
State Farm$3,175.98$3,344.01
Travelers$4,399.85$4,469.96
USAA$2,482.69$2,591.91
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

State Farm customers can expect to pay the third-highest rates when it comes to their commute. Other factors, such as living in a rural or urban area, could also contribute to the cost of your insurance.

What are the Average State Farm Coverage Level Rates?

You might think that having the lowest minimum coverage in your state is the best way to ensure you and your family are protected. But that’s not necessarily the case, because sometimes the difference in low to high coverage is less than you think.

Check out the table below to see the differences in coverage.

CompanyLowMediumHigh
Allstate$4,628.03$4,896.81$5,139.02
American Family$3,368.49$3,544.37$3,416.40
Farmers$3,922.47$4,166.22$4,494.13
GEICO$3,001.91$3,213.97$3,429.14
Liberty Mutual$5,805.75$6,058.57$6,356.04
Nationwide$3,394.83$3,449.80$3,505.37
Progressive$3,737.13$4,018.46$4,350.96
State Farm$3,055.40$3,269.80$3,454.80
Travelers$4,223.63$4,462.02$4,619.07
USAA$2,404.11$2,539.87$2,667.92
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

With State Farm, the difference between low and high coverage is only $400. So, if you are considering upgrading to provide more coverage for your family, the cost is roughly $33 monthly.

What are the Average State Farm Credit History Rates?

Besides not being able to secure a car loan or a mortgage, poor credit can also have an impact on how much you pay for car insurance. The table below reflects what you’ll pay for car insurance if you have good, fair, or poor credit. Of course, these are estimates, and your rates may be different based on your situation.

CompanyGoodFairPoor
Allstate$3,859.66$4,581.16$6,490.65
American Family$2,691.74$3,169.53$4,467.98
Farmers$3,677.12$3,899.41$4,864.14
GEICO$2,434.82$2,986.79$4,259.50
Liberty Mutual$4,388.18$5,604.24$8,802.22
Nationwide$2,925.94$3,254.83$4,083.29
Progressive$3,628.85$3,956.31$4,737.64
State Farm$2,174.26$2,853.00$4,951.20
Travelers$4,058.97$4,344.10$5,160.22
USAA$1,821.20$2,219.83$3,690.73
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The average credit score in the U.S. is 675. If your credit score is lower than this, you may face increased rates on car insurance. In some states, poor credit can raise your rates by thousands of dollars. On average, with State Farm, poor credit can raise your rates by $2,700.

What are the Average State Farm Driving Record Rates?

If you get a speeding ticket, have an accident, or get a DUI, your rates with State Farm will increase in most states. The table below shows rates with these three violations compared to the rate for a clean record.

CompanyClean recordWith 1 speeding violationWith 1 accidentWith 1 DUI
Allstate$3,819.90$4,483.51$4,987.68$6,260.73
American Family$2,693.61$3,025.74$3,722.75$4,330.24
Farmers$3,460.60$4,079.01$4,518.73$4,718.75
GEICO$2,145.96$2,645.43$3,192.77$4,875.87
Liberty Mutual$4,774.30$5,701.26$6,204.78$7,613.48
Nationwide$2,746.18$3,113.68$3,396.95$4,543.20
Progressive$3,393.09$4,002.28$4,777.04$3,969.65
State Farm$2,821.18$3,186.01$3,396.01$3,636.80
Travelers$3,447.69$4,260.80$4,289.74$5,741.40
USAA$1,933.68$2,193.25$2,516.24$3,506.03
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

One accident with State Farm can raise your rates over $1,100.

What Types of Insurance Coverage are Offered?

State Farm offers the same coverage as all of the other companies do and in some cases, at a competitive rate. Let’s take a look at standard insurance terms and go into detail about what they mean.

State Farm talks a lot about bundling:

Types of Coverage Offered

We know, it can be confusing, so that’s why we’ve compiled a list of common coverages with a brief explanation. Different coverage types fall into four basic categories:

– When you are at fault:

Liability coverage covers the physical damages you inflict upon another vehicle and the bodily injuries sustained by all individuals in the other car.

– When you are not at fault:

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage covers your expenses if the at-fault driver has little or no liability coverage.

– Vehicle Protection:

  • Collision Coverage – covers your vehicle repairs or replacement after an accident
  • Comprehensive Coverage – includes what most would consider “out of our control” such as storm damage, hitting an animal, and more
  • Emergency Road Service – covers standard roadside services like tire changes, jump starts, and lockout services
  • Rental Reimbursement Coverage – includes a rental car while yours is getting repaired for a covered loss
  • Mechanical Breakdown Coverage – covers parts and systems failure of your vehicle that is not caused by normal wear and tear or improper maintenance

– Personal Protection:

  • Medical Payments Coverage – covers medical expenses of those in your vehicle
  • Personal Injury Protection – covers costs incurred from injuries to yourself or others in the vehicle, lost wages and funeral expenses no matter who is at fault
  • Umbrella Policy – covers your liability coverage to a much higher limit which blankets over multiple policies such as home and auto as well as others

State Farms’s extensive list of auto insurance coverages means you can tailor a car insurance plan to meet your needs.

– Additional Car Insurance Options

Depending on where you live, some of the above may be optional coverages. State Farm also has a good selection of additional coverage, including the most popular options

To add onto these standard options, State Farm goes a step further an offers a couple of specialty options:

  • Rideshare Coverage: coverage for anyone working for a ridesharing service (such as Lyft or Uber)
  • Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage: coverage that helps you pay off the loan/lease of your vehicle if it were to be totaled during a wreck

What is Their Area of Operation?

State Farm is available in all of the 50 states in the United States.

State Farm is also available in Washington, D.C.

Wherever you live in the United States, you can elect to choose State Farm as your insurance provider.

What Type of Discounts are Offered?

State Farm has many discounts and affordability options available to its consumers. Depending on the auto insurance discount, you could save up to 50 percent.

DiscountAmount
Anti-lock Brakes5%
Anti-Theft15%
Claim Free15%
Defensive Driver5%
Distant Studentspeak with your agent to learn more
Driver's Ed15%
Driving Device/App50%
Good Creditspeak with your agent to learn more
Good Student25%
Homeowner3%
Low Mileage30%
Marriedspeak with your agent to learn more
Militaryspeak with your agent to learn more
Multiple Policies17%
Multiple Vehicles20%
Newer Vehicle40%
Paperless/Auto Billing$2
Passive Restraint40%
Safe Driver15%
Vehicle Recovery5%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

These discounts aren’t available everywhere, so be sure to ask your agent about what options you qualify for based on your situation.

Which Factors Affect Your Rates?

According to State Farm, these seven factors determine auto insurance premiums:

  1. Your policy and deductibles
  2. The vehicle model you drive
  3. How often you drive, and how far is your commute
  4. Your geographic location
  5. Your driving record
  6. Your credit history
  7. Your age, sex, and marital status

These factors are common among all insurance providers, but new laws and regulations are being passed, which have changed some of the ways which companies can determine your rates.

Other states like Michigan have passed new laws, so be sure and check with your provider if you think you’re paying too much for your car insurance.

How to Get the Best Rate with State Farm

The easiest way to ensure you are getting the best rate with State Farm is to speak to an agent about what your insurance needs are and how much you can afford to spend. Some factors, such as where you live and your past driving record, are beyond your control, but be sure and ask about any of the discounts mentioned above.

What Programs Does State Farm Offer?

Wondering about ways to save on auto insurance, consider one of State Farm’s insurance programs:

Another excellent way to save money on car insurance with State Farm is their State Farm Steer Clear® Safe Driver Discount program for young drivers. Both of these programs can save you hundreds, perhaps even thousands on your car insurance premiums.

How to Cancel Your Policy

Over time, there may be occasions when you may need to cancel or adjust your insurance policy with State Farm. Here are four examples that may apply to you:

  • Selling a car and not replacing it
  • Storing a classic or antique vehicle
  • A teen is heading to college and will no longer be driving the vehicle
  • A vehicle has been paid off and no longer requires comprehensive cover

How to Cancel (Step-by-Step Guide)

State Farm allows you to cancel your policy by phone, by mail or fax, and in person.

By Phone:

  1. You’ll typically need to have the following: policy number, name, date of birth, and Social Security number. If you’re canceling because you’ve sold your car, you’ll likely need proof of your vehicle’s plate forfeiture or bill of sale.
  2. Cancellations by phone are typically valid immediately, or you can schedule it for a date in the future.
  3. Many states require you to inform the DMV when you cancel or change your auto insurance. Check your state’s guidelines.
  4. If you’re switching providers, you may need to provide new provider’s name, policy number, and effective date.

By Mail or Fax

By mail or fax. Write a letter that includes:

  • Your name, address, and phone number.
  • Your State Farm policy number and the date and time you want your policy to end.
  • If you’re switching providers, your new insurer’s name, policy number, and policy start date.
  • If you’ve sold your vehicle, proof of plate forfeiture or your bill of sale.

Sign, date, and mail your letter at least two weeks before your intended cancellation date to:

Corporate Headquarters
State Farm Insurance
One State Farm Plaza
Bloomington, IL 61710

Or fax: 888-633-0405 or 905-750-5002.

In-person

Bring the following:

  • Your name, address, and phone number.
  • Your State Farm policy number and the date and time you want your policy to end.
  • If you’re switching providers, your new insurer’s name, policy number, and policy start date.
  • If you’ve sold your vehicle, proof of plate forfeiture or your bill of sale.

When can I cancel?

You can your insurance policy with State Farm at any time, make sure you have new coverage on your vehicle before your current plan expires.

How to Make a Claim

Uh, oh. You’ve been in an accident and need to file a claim. How does that work?

What are the Methods of Making a Claim?

Claims can be filed with State Farm:

  • By calling 800-SF-CLAIM (800-732-5246) (available 24/7)
  • By contacting your agent.
  • With the mobile app

Here’s out to file online:

When you make a claim, you’ll need the following:

  • Date and time of the incident
  • Vehicles involved
  • Description of the incident
  • Description of damages
  • Location of incident

Now, that we’ve shown you how to file a claim, let’s look at how State Farm pays out claims to its customers. Loss ratios can give us some insight into the answer to that question.

What’s the Number of Premiums Written?

The information below comes from NAIC and shows the premiums written by State Farm compared to its competitors over four years.

Top 4 direct premiums written

What’s the Loss Ratio?

Now, let’s talk about State Farm’s loss ratio.

State Farm’s direct premiums have gone up, and its loss ratio has gone down — both good signs for the company.

YearDirect Premiums WrittenLoss Ratio
2018$41,963,57863%
2017$41,817,41668.79%
2016$39,194,66077.02%
2015$36,545,89669.31%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

How to Get a Quote Online

Ready to get a quote? Up next, like a good neighbor, we’re going to show you how to get a quote online in simple, easy to follow steps.

Step #1 — Ask About State Farm

Who is State Farm, exactly? You may have seen one of their commercials or had them suggested by a family member or friend. If you asked someone about car insurance companies in the US, State Farm would probably be in the top three. As it turns out, they’re actually the largest auto insurance provider in America.

But what does that mean for you? You may think it makes them extremely trustworthy, or you might be skeptical that they’ll be too commercialized and lack the personalized attention and care you can get from a small, local provider.

Some online research is the best way to get a feel for State Farm before you request a quote.

Check out their About Us page. You can read their story and learn how they rose from humble beginnings in 1922 to dominate the market after almost a century in business.

You can read news from State Farm and learn what their latest developments are, and, uniquely, read about their community involvements to learn how they try their best to live “like a good neighbor.”

You can also check out their auto insurance policies and learn about how they handle coverage. If you like what you see, it’s time to request a quote.

Step #2 — Enter Your ZIP Code

Head over to State Farm’s website and enter your ZIP code. This is the first step toward getting connected with your local State Farm office.

Auto insurance will be selected by default, but if you’re interested in bundling or an umbrella policy, you can request separate quotes by repeating the process and choosing from the variety of other insurance policies offered through State Farm like life, homeowners, and small business insurance.

Talking to an agent from your nearest agency (who you’ll be connected with early-on in the quote process) will help you learn whether or not State Farm is a good fit for more than just your auto insurance coverage.

Step #3 — Enter Your Information

State Farm asks your first and last names, date of birth and home address. Enter the information in the boxes provided and click “Next” to proceed.

Step #4 — Agree to the Privacy Policy

Before you proceed, take a look at State Farm’s privacy policy and make sure you agree to their terms and conditions. You can click on the “Notice of Privacy Policy” and learn about State Farm’s privacy principles, how they use the customer information they collect, and how that information is used.

Step #5 — Get Your Car Info Ready

You’ll need to add information about your car’s make and model. Doing so will help State Farm present you with the best variety of coverage options based off your state’s requirements and your car’s value; insuring two or more cars can qualify you for a multi-car discount with State Farm that can help you save up to 20 percent on your policy.

Joining the Drive Safe & Save program with your car’s OnStar technology can save you up to 50 percent on your insurance rates!

Step #6 — Determine Your Car’s Make and Model

The type of car you drive impacts how much you’ll pay for car insurance; if you don’t know the exact model of your car, you can select “Don’t see your body style?” and State Farm will either offer alternative options or put you in touch with an agent who can help you get the most accurate figure.

You could, alternatively, enter your car’s Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). This 17-character code is a unique identifier of your vehicle. The easiest way to find your VIN number is to check the driver’s side of your vehicle where the dashboard meets the windshield.

If you don’t see it there, open the driver’s side door and look for a sticker on the inside of the door frame.

Step #7 — Save Your Progress

Saving your progress by entering your email address will allow you to stop and gather any information you’re missing or just come back later.

Step #8 — Add Drivers

Once you’ve input all of your household’s vehicles, you’ll be asked to provide information about the drivers of each car. If it’s just yourself, that’s fine! Make sure the names and date of birth displayed are correct, then enter your driver’s license number or social security number to proceed.

Word of Advice: Although State Farm is a secure site, it’s better to keep your SSN to yourself unless you’re buying a policy. Since you can enter your driver’s license number instead, we recommend going with that alternative.

Step #9 — Get Help if You Need It

On the left-hand side of the screen, during any time, you can access help by requesting a call from an agent, calling State Farm directly or reading through FAQs. Remember that you can save your progress at any point and return to it when you’re ready. It takes time to find quality coverage, and it pays to research.

Step #10 — Get Your Personalized Quotes

By entering your contact information, you’ll get an up-to-date State Farm quote that you can compare with quotes from other companies.

Finally, you’ll be provided with a set of customizable quotes, each representing varying levels of coverage.

What You’ll Need to Apply

We’ve compiled the documents you’ll need to get a quote:

Information RequiredDocument Types
Vehicle InformationYear, Make, Model, Body style or VIN
Mileage
Ownership
Garaged address
Name of registered owner
Prior insurance carrier and expiration date
Date of purchase
Driver InformationDriver name(s) and date of birth
Driver's license number(s) and state of issue
Driving HistoryTicket and accident history
License suspension information
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

How Does the Design of Website and App look like?

Website

While other insurance company websites and apps may be difficult to navigate, State Farm’s is relatively simple and easy to use. On the website, it is easy to find whatever information you’re searching for. Just click from any of the categories on the drop-down menu and go.

State Farm online quote step 1

How Does the Mobile App Work?

State Farm has a Mobile app designed to help manage your accounts, get roadside assistance, file a claim, and more.

The app can be found in the Apple App Store, Google Play, or by texting MOBILE to 78836 to get a link.

What Are the Customer Ratings?

In looking at customer ratings for the app, we quickly discovered they were overwhelmingly positive — averaging 4.8 out of 5 stars in Apple’s App Store, and 4 out of 5 stars in Google Play. Many customers praised its options, ease of use, and convenience.

However, that doesn’t mean the app isn’t without criticism. In reviewing the comments, we found some common complaints included incompatibility with software updates, the inability to set reminders for bills, and some difficulty navigating multiple policies.

What You Can Do on the State Farm App

State Farm Mobile App 1

How Easily Can you Manage your Account using just the App?

Pay your bill

You can also manage your account:

State Farm manage account

As with most technological advances, ease of use will depend on the user and their technical prowess. We encourage you to explore State Farm’s website and mobile app to see which works best for you.

What are the Pros and Cons?

Now that we have covered everything you need to know about State Farm, let’s check out the biggest takeaways in terms of pros and cons.

ProsCons
Has the third-lowest average premium among the top 10 providersRates can be pricey depending on where you live
Consistently strong financial standing and solid rankings
Could stand to offer more discounts, like federal employees, green vehicles, and occupational
Policies are available in all 50 statesReceived an "about average" Power Circle Ranking in 5 out of 11 regions
Customers have a variety of online options and an easy-to-use appLimited add-ons are available
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

State Farm is available in every state, so if you move, you can remain with the company. However, your rates can change based on your new location. State Farm is also missing typical discounts such as the federal employee discount and green vehicle discount which other top competitors offer.

What’s the Bottom Line?

We’ve shown you everything you need to know about State Farm, so you can decide for yourself whether they are a good neighbor or not.

But don’t focus too much on being neighborly that you end up paying too much for your car insurance. One thing to consider is that everyone’s needs are different, and auto insurance rates can vary significantly based on individual factors.

As thorough as this guide is, we still strongly suggest that you shop around with your personal details and specific vehicle information before you choose an auto insurance provider.

Get quotes today to find out how much you could save on car insurance. Get started by simply entering your ZIP code in our free comparison tool.

State Farm Car Insurance FAQs

Can I get copies of my State Farm ID card online?

Yes. You can view, print, and email a new insurance card, or request a mailed ID card through the State Farm website. You can also pull up your ID through the mobile app.

Can I make payments to State Farm online?

Yes, you can make payments through the State Farm website, and you can even pay using a phone number, policy number, payment plan account number, or key code.

Does State Farm coverage include windshield repair?

You’ll need to check your policy to verify whether you’re covered for repairs. That being said, State Farm covers both windshield repairs and replacements, depending on the extent of the damage. Your deductible may apply. Click here to learn more.

How much liability car insurance should I get with State Farm?

The minimum amount of liability coverage you’re legally required to have varies by state. You may also decide to purchase liability coverage beyond your state’s minimum requirements. The State Farm agent who handles your policy will be able to advise you on your state’s minimum requirements.

Does State Farm cover flooding?

If your car floods, it would be covered under comprehensive coverage.

Does State Farm offer accident forgiveness?

Yes, but there are stipulations. Accident forgiveness at State Farm only applies to customers who have been accident-free at State Farm for nine years.

How do I show proof of insurance to authorities?

State Farm’s mobile app allows you to pull up your insurance ID card on your phone. You should also keep a printed version in case of technical difficulties, such as your phone dying the minute a police officer pulls you over.

Will Drive Safe and Save penalize me for bad driving?

Since the app records safe driving habits, some people worry that bad driving will hike up their rates. While bad driving may result in you not getting a discount one month, the app only subtracts from your costs, and it doesn’t add on.

Do I have to register at statefarm.com to use the app?

You can use the State Farm app without registering on statefarm.com. Features available without registering include:

  • Get a Quote
  • Find an Agent
  • Roadside Assistance
  • ATM Locator

I am a current auto insurance customer. Why can’t I get a quote for another auto policy online?

Current State Farm auto policyholders may do the following to get a quote:

  1. Log into your account.
  2. Choose your current auto policy.
  3. Click Quote/Replace a Vehicle.

The request will be forwarded to your agent for processing.

Ready to start saving on your car insurance?

Just enter your ZIP code below to get the best rates in your area using our FREE online tool.

Related Articles

  1. Pros of Using State Farm for Your Car Insurance Needs

Reviews
for State Farm Insurance

4.10 (17,726 reviews)
1
April 19, 2022

Customer_Jim

Disappointed customer

Horrible experience that's still going on,long story short my wife had a wreck and after the repairs we go to pick the car up,I paid my $500 deductible when I put the car in reverse it starts making this nose that it's never made before I immediately got out and gave the key back to the attendant at the body shop they call Sate Farm and State Farm tells me that I have to pay to have the car checked out further I thought that what car insurance w...
Horrible experience that's still going on,long story short my wife had a wreck and after the repairs we go to pick the car up,I paid my $500 deductible when I put the car in reverse it starts making this nose that it's never made before I immediately got out and gave the key back to the attendant at the body shop they call Sate Farm and State Farm tells me that I have to pay to have the car checked out further I thought that what car insurance was for,I paid my deductible the car is not fixed properly but that want me to pay for it myself
1
April 19, 2022

phin

Want to pay for years then get screwed when you need it?

Uninsured joy rider totaled my car: First, had to fight for uninsured coverage even though it was one so I have no idea what the problem was (oh right a lower deductible for me). Second, State Farm gave me a replacement value that was wrong and lied about pre-existing damage. They gave me a valuation that didn't include the options my car had and claimed I had extensive pre-existing damage which was absolutely not true - even to the point where t...
Uninsured joy rider totaled my car: First, had to fight for uninsured coverage even though it was one so I have no idea what the problem was (oh right a lower deductible for me). Second, State Farm gave me a replacement value that was wrong and lied about pre-existing damage. They gave me a valuation that didn't include the options my car had and claimed I had extensive pre-existing damage which was absolutely not true - even to the point where they said I had bare tires and I have proof they were new! Unfortunately, I wasn't able to take photos of all of the condition points of the car before it was sent to the shop so I had no way to contest the condition valuation. Cut the amount I received in half. Horrible company would not recommend at all. All the reviews on here are people without problems. The real reviews come up when you have real problems. I had a totaled car and I can say without a doubt State Farm was anything but helpful. In fact, they showed me they could care less about what happened and did everything possible not to pay out the actual value of my car (including by lying about pre-existing conditions).
1
February 8, 2022

Jmeade

Not happy

State farm is the worst insurance place to go to I'm switching back to progressive my car was broken into and state farm is doing nothing to help me I am telling everyone to not go to state farm if this isn't made right
1
January 23, 2022

OHMINGGIRL

They suck!! They are scandalous!

This is a scandalous company! They jump my bill up monthly and I have to argue with them monthly. I’m sick of them.
1
July 25, 2021

MattB

State Farm will prolong claims as long as possible.

I was in a accident with one of their insured drivers, he had no license, and was driving his mom's car. It's been a month and a half my truck is not drivable, and haven't heard anything back from them. Tried calling and they say be patient.. but coming on 2months with no vehicle is patient enough to me, especially when the other driver had no license and was at fault.
1
July 8, 2021

fed_up

State Farm is a rip off

Been with State Farm for awhile and things were great until recently in the last few months. I drive an older truck and I feel at ease knowing I have roadside assistance if i need it. Anyway I received a letter from State Farm saying they were discontinuing my roadside assistance because i had too many claims and there were 4 dates listed of these claims. When reading this I was confused, because I only had my truck towed 2 times and also a tire ...
Been with State Farm for awhile and things were great until recently in the last few months. I drive an older truck and I feel at ease knowing I have roadside assistance if i need it. Anyway I received a letter from State Farm saying they were discontinuing my roadside assistance because i had too many claims and there were 4 dates listed of these claims. When reading this I was confused, because I only had my truck towed 2 times and also a tire change. After being on the phone 45 minutes with the claims department trying to figure this out, I was told i was in the right. They would take care of it for me. Called my agent a few days ago and she is telling me roadside is still not covered and the price even went up. I argued with her telling her it was suppose to be taken care of and she said she would get back with me...never called me back. Oh and she also said now i had 6 claims??? I asked her about the dates and why I didn't have a letter regarding the now 6 dates of claims ( this is all a lie btw ) Real professional huh? Now looking for another company.
1
July 6, 2021

Gary_Ward_

Raising rates.

I have had SF auto insurance for 50+ yrs. I totaled my car in Feb. 2020. SF paid the claim but now they've notified me my rates will be going up 25% a month. Like a good neighbor. Time to start shopping.
1
June 28, 2021

Likeabadneighborstatefarmisnotthere_

Like a bad neighbor, just move!

Where do I start. I have been a state farm customer over a decade . Several months ago in the middle of winter, my truck died and would not start. I called roadside assistance immediately, they said help would be on the way. My son and I waited for 18 hours before a tow truck came! Absolutely unacceptable and wrong! Lucky we had family near and were able to go get warm and safe before we died of exposure. Than 3 weeks ago my car was hit badly g...
Where do I start. I have been a state farm customer over a decade . Several months ago in the middle of winter, my truck died and would not start. I called roadside assistance immediately, they said help would be on the way. My son and I waited for 18 hours before a tow truck came! Absolutely unacceptable and wrong! Lucky we had family near and were able to go get warm and safe before we died of exposure. Than 3 weeks ago my car was hit badly going through a road construction area. They still don't want to fix my vehicle and told me to go to one of their "preferred locations " I did. The man taking the estimate gave legal advice without a license and told me state farm would not be covering the damages! This was from the body shop! Smh. I went to a reputable body shop and the estimate was well over double the first cost to fix the vehicle properly! They still won't pay, call me back or try to fix anything, but yet they take money out of my account the same day every month. My advice? Run, do not walk from state farm! It's criminal what they put customers through. Still no resolution.
2
June 28, 2021

Hitakshi_

Terrible service - would not recommend to anyone!

Was in an accident last month which led to my car being totaled and their service was terrible. Extremely poor communication between customer service reps, had to call in multiple times and repeat myself. They towed my car to the salvage yard with all my personal belongings still in it without my authorization and then asked me to get them myself when I was without a car. Called them multiple times and spoke to different reps who all gave me a di...
Was in an accident last month which led to my car being totaled and their service was terrible. Extremely poor communication between customer service reps, had to call in multiple times and repeat myself. They towed my car to the salvage yard with all my personal belongings still in it without my authorization and then asked me to get them myself when I was without a car. Called them multiple times and spoke to different reps who all gave me a different story. Some said it would be mailed to me, a month later, still haven't gotten my stuff bag and calling again they said they wouldn't send it since there are no notes on my claim ever stating they were going to send it in the first place. Absolutely ridiculous to expect me to drive 40 minutes one way to get my things back when I don't have a car for their mistake. No remorse or compensation from any of the reps I spoke to - just really bad attitude and service. I have renters insurance through them as well but seeing as how they act after you file a claim I will be switching to a different provider. Been a customer for over 5 years - not that they care about loyalty.
5
June 25, 2021

jspiker

State Farm Rocks

Best insurance company ever. They helped me when I needed help most. They are good priced, provide excellent coverage, and genuinely care about the customer. My agent even called to wish me happy birthday. Can't say enough good things about this company!!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption