USAA Car Insurance Review [2024]

This USAA Car Insurance Review [2020] review will cover USAA Car Insurance Review [2020] ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Merriya Valleri

Insurance and Finance Writer

Merriya Valleri is a skilled insurance writer with over a decade of professional writing experience. Merriya has a strong desire to make understanding insurance an easy task while providing readers with accurate and up-to-date information. Merriya has written articles focusing on health, life, and auto insurance. She enjoys working in the insurance field, and is constantly learning in order to ...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

UPDATED: Nov 7, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 9800 Fredericksburg Road
City: San Antonio
State: TX
ZIP Code: 78288
Phone Number: 210-498-8000
Year Founded: 1922
AM Best Rating: A++ (Superior)

If you’re an active member of the United States military, a veteran, or related to a service member, you may struggle to find good car insurance discounts. Not all providers offer military discounts, and if they do, you sometimes don’t save as much as you could.

Though some providers do honor the military, none does more so than the United Services Automobile Association (USAA). The company provides car and other types of insurance and banking and investment services just to active United States military personnel, veterans, and their families. This provider is going on a century in business and has no intention of slowing down any time soon.

And their premiums often cost less than other car insurers’ policies. How’s that for honoring the hard work and sacrifices of our armed forces who sometimes have a hard time making ends meet?

So, we’ve gathered all the information you need to help you learn about USAA — from reviews to its car insurance coverage options and its website and app, to help you decide if it’s a good fit for you.

If you’re ready to join us on this mission, keep reading to learn more.

Start comparing car insurance rates today — just enter your ZIP code in our FREE online tool.

Table of Contents

What Are the Rankings from the Rating Agency?

When you choose an insurance provider, you want to check out what others have to say about it. Looking at reviews from credible sources can help you find out whether you’ve found the right insurer.

Here’s how the major review sites rank USAA.

AgencyRating
AM BestA++
Better Business Bureau (Texas)B-
Consumer Affairs1.5/5
Consumer Reports95
JD Power (Texas Rating)5/5
Moody'sAa1
S&PAA

Compare RatesStart Now →

Let’s translate those rankings for you. First, we’ll cover the raters of USAA’s financial strength.

  • A.M Best — An “A++” means USAA can pay claims and meet other financial obligations.
  • Moody’s —  Moody’s rating of Aa1 shows that USAA has the resources to pay its debts reliably.
  • S&P Global — “AA” is one of S&P’s highest ratings and reveals that USAA is solid financially.

Customer satisfaction ratings:

  • Better Business Bureau — In USAA’s “hometown” of San Antonio, the company receives a “B-,” which the BBB says is for “government actions against the business.” Those were resolved in January 2019, however, customers have filed several complaints, and only a fraction of them have been resolved.
  • Consumer Affairs — This organization gave USAA Auto Insurance a poor or “one-star and a half” rating based on 267 reviews. Customers are more likely to speak up when they’re dissatisfied, which is a factor in this ranking.
  • Consumer Reports — On the other hand, USAA ranked big with Consumer Reports, earning 95 out of 100 points.
  • J.D. Power — With 899 points out of 1,000, J.D. Power considers USAA excellent enough to give it a “five-circle” rating in the Texas region.

These factors went into Consumer Reports’ overall rating:

USAA Customer ServiceConsumer Reports Score
Ease of Reaching an AgentExcellent
Simplicity of the ProcessExcellent
Promptness of the ResponseExcellent
Damage AmountExcellent
Agent CourtesyExcellent
Timely PaymentExcellent
Freedom to Select Repair ShopExcellent
Being Kept Informed of Claim StatusExcellent

Compare RatesStart Now →

For the most part, despite some low marks, most professional reviewers rank USAA highly for its solid financials, service, and coverage options.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s the Company History?

USAA boasts proudly that it has been there for its members for nearly 100 years, and its founding took some teamwork. In 1922, 25 members of the military met in San Antonio, Texas, and decided to insure each other’s vehicles.

That was the start of what would eventually become one of the largest insurers in the United States., as it expanded into other types of policies (home, business, life, and health) and financial services (banking, investing). In 2009, the company made all active members of the military and veterans who have honorably served in the U.S. military eligible for membership.

Now, with over 12 million members, the company continues to grow and focus on the latest changes in technology to better serve its customers.

Let’s further explore how the company scores in its market share, its advertising and giving, its position for the future, its work environment, and in recognition for its achievements.

What’s the Market Share?

A company’s market share tells us whether a company is growing, per the below information from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Year2015201620172018
USAA Market Share in Private Passenger Auto5.3%5.4 %5.7%5.9%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Fortunately, in recent years, USAA’s market share has continued to rise steadily, reflecting its growth.

What’s the Service Type?

Like other insurers, USAA lets customers contact them online or through the more traditional means of meeting in person or talking on the phone.

At USAA’s website, customers can find policy information, get quotes, pay bills, research other offerings, or contact the company. Smartphone users can also use the USAA Mobile app to do the same things.

Customers who want a more human touch can call a USAA agent or ask to meet with one in their area for their service needs.

These methods help make the company more accessible to its customers and reach even more.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Are There any Commercials?

USAA’s commercials stand out from other insurers through not relying on gimmicks and focusing on a more conventional approach. Many of their ads are consumer-centric, featuring testimonials about USAA’s insurance products and service and how much customers save.

Military families make up a large part of their market, so it makes sense for USAA to target them with a more relatable appeal showing actual customers. People like to see people who look like them, which helps build a sense of belonging.

Customer reviews and testimonials are still considered one of the most effective ways to market a product or service even in the digital age.

USAA’s ads also foster a sense of stability. They stress that the company will be there for its customers while it honors them, the members of the U.S. military who have served the nation in times of war and peace, and their families.

In keeping with the theme of service, let’s see how USAA gives back to the community as a whole.

What’s the Purpose of the Community Service?

USAA sees itself as a company that has a purpose to “lead and inspire actions that improve lives in the military and our local communities.”

As CEO Stuart Parker said, “As a business, USAA exists to serve the military community and facilitate the financial security of our members. Our corporate responsibility program pursues a common purpose. We prioritize USAA’s philanthropic investments to:

  • Support military family resiliency nationwide.
  • Improve the quality of living in the communities where we work and live.

In addition to investing money, USAA invests time. We provide employees with two days of paid time each year to volunteer in our communities.”

To that end, employees volunteer their time to fill meal distribution boxes to feed families in need, plant sustainable gardens for homeless military veterans and perform other kind acts.

As part of its charitable contributions, the company offers grants every year to “highly effective nonprofit organizations aligned with our Corporate Responsibility focus areas for military families and USAA’s local communities.”

The company has different areas it focuses on in its giving on the local and national levels.

NATIONAL FOCUSLOCAL FOCUS
Military caregivers, families of the fallen Families in need: hunger and homelessness
Financial readiness for military familiesEducation: STEM and financial literacy
Fulfilling careers for veterans and military spousesSafety and natural disaster response

Compare RatesStart Now →

Key areas the company puts its efforts into include fighting poverty, funding education, and national emergency response on safety. These show the company’s commitment to caring for those who serve its country and to using its prosperity to help the less fortunate.

How Is USAA Positioned for the Future?

As a consumer, you want to know if the company you pay your premiums to will stick around. It helps to find out how the company is doing financially and its plans for future growth.

Fortunately, as we mentioned earlier, with leading financial indicators, USAA ranks well and the company looks poised for continued success. On the customer satisfaction side, reviews were mixed, so it has its share of pros and cons. J.D. Power, a major surveyor of customer satisfaction, was among the organizations to rate USAA highly.

Overall, the best days for USAA appear yet to come, as it continues its steady rise among the ranks of the top insurance companies.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Is the Employee Experience?

How a worker feels about the company that employs them tells a lot about the employer. Let’s find out more about USAA’s employees and explore their salaries and how they rate the company.

Employee age and tenure aren’t always related, but conventional wisdom suggests that younger workers are less likely to remain loyal to a company than older ones. It’s interesting to see what the majority of the data reveals.

AgePercentage
Millennial (born between 1981 and 1997)41%
Gen X (born between 1965 and 1980)42%
Baby Boomers (born between 1945 and 1964)17%

Compare RatesStart Now →

As shown, most USAA workers are middle-aged, followed by Millennials and Baby Boomers. Here’s what the statistics say about how long they stay at USAA:

TenurePercentage
>2 years27%
2-5 years28%
6-10 years15%
11-15 years12%
16-20 years7%
20+ years11%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Most USAA employees remain on the job for five or fewer years. On the opposite end, 11 percent have worked at USAA for more than 20 years.

The issue of whether an employee is satisfied can play a big part in determining if he or she will stay and if it’s a great place to work.

Great Place to Work has certified USAA, and 89 percent of employees agree. Here’s more about what USAA employees think of the insurer:

Employee RatingPercentage
When you join the company, you are made to feel welcome.96%
I feel good about the ways we contribute to the community.95%
I'm proud to tell others I work here.93%
Our facilities contribute to a good working environment.92%
We have special and unique benefits here.92%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Also, most employees feel welcome when they join the company and feel good about the ways it contributes to the community. None of the responses scored below 92 percent.

For another insight into USAA employee’s opinions, Glassdoor’s rating out of more than 2,600 reviews was 3.6 stars out of five.

According to the reviews, 65 percent of USAA employees would recommend the company to a friend, and 73 percent approve of USAA’s CEO.

Another major part of employee satisfaction is how well a company pays its workers. Payscale’s rating for USAA was 3.9 stars out of five. Their rankings of different aspects of employment at USAA appear below.

FactorRating (out of 5)
Appreciation3.9
Company Outlook4.3
Fair Pay2.8
Learning and Development4.0
Manager Communication3.9
Manager Relationship4.0
Pay Policy3.1
Pay Transparency2.6

Compare RatesStart Now →

The company outlook, learning and development, and manager relationship were among the areas where Payscale ranked the company highly.

This news report shows what the company’s San Antonio, Texas headquarters is like:

USAA ranks well as a place where employees can feel that they’re working less at a job and more in a career.

Have USAA Received any Awards and Accolades?

USAA has received lots of awards and accolades for various achievements, which includes its financial strength and service and overall work environment.

The company won the following awards from Glassdoor:

  • 2017 Best Places to Interview (#72)
  • 2014 Top CEOs (#22)
  • 2009 Best Places to Work (#36)

Below is a list of the most recent awards Great Place to Work has granted the company.

Year of AwardAward
2019#17 in Best Workplaces in Financial Services & Insurance
2019#47 in Best Workplaces in Texas
2019#30 in 2019 Fortune 100 Best Companies to Work For
2018#19 in Fortune 100 Best Companies to Work For
2018#15 in Best Workplaces in Texas
2018#9 in Best Workplaces in Financial Services & Insurance
2018#40 in Best Workplaces for Millennials
2018#35 in Best Workplaces for Women
2018#50 in Best Workplaces for Parents
2018#27 in Best Workplaces for Diversity

Compare RatesStart Now →

Though USAA has received much recognition for its workplace culture, it has also made such lists as the World’s Most Ethical Companies® for four years straight (2016-2019) and Forbes’ World’s Most Admired Companies for the past several years.

Do They Have Cheap Car Insurance Rates?

If you don’t know how what affects your car insurance rates, you can end up paying too much and may not get all the coverage you need.

It’s easy to think that cheaper is better, but it depends on what you get in return. Though you pay less, frustration with poor service and lack of enough coverage for protection may be part of the deal and truly take a toll on you.

On the bright side, in this section, we’ve partnered with Quadrant to give you data on how your credit score, your driving record, your age, gender, and other factors affect your rates.

For more insights, read on.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s USAA Availability and Market Rates by State?

Here is data on the average annual cost of USAA premiums compared to the average prices in the 47 states where the company offers coverage.

StateAverage by StateUSAA Annual PremiumHigher/LowerPercentage
Alaska$3,421.51$2,454.21-$967.31-28.27%
Alabama$3,566.96$2,124.09-$1,442.87-40.45%
Arkansas$4,124.98$2,171.06-$1,953.92-47.37%
Arizona$3,770.97$3,084.29-$686.68-18.21%
California$3,688.93$2,693.87-$995.06-26.97%
Colorado$3,876.39$3,338.87-$537.52-13.87%
Connecticut$4,618.92$3,190.00-$1,428.92-30.94%
District of Columbia$4,439.24$2,580.44-$1,858.80-41.87%
Delaware$5,986.32$2,325.98-$3,660.34-61.15%
Florida$4,680.46$2,850.41-$1,830.05-39.10%
Georgia$4,966.83$3,157.46-$1,809.37-36.43%
Hawaii$2,555.64$1,189.35-$1,366.29-53.46%
Iowa$2,981.28$1,852.57-$1,128.71-37.86%
Idaho$2,979.09$1,877.61-$1,101.48-36.97%
Illinois$3,305.48$2,770.21-$535.28-16.19%
Indiana$3,414.97$1,630.86-$1,784.11-52.24%
Kansas$3,279.62$2,382.61-$897.02-27.35%
Kentucky$5,195.40$2,897.89-$2,297.51-44.22%
Louisiana$5,711.34$4,353.12-$1,358.23-23.78%
Maine$2,953.28$1,930.79-$1,022.49-34.62%
Maryland$4,582.70$2,744.14-$1,838.56-40.12%
Massachusetts$2,678.85$1,458.99-$1,219.86-45.54%
Michigan$10,498.64$3,620.00-$6,878.64-65.52%
Minnesota$4,403.25$2,861.60-$1,541.65-35.01%
Missouri$3,328.93$2,525.78-$803.15-24.13%
Mississippi$3,664.57$2,056.13-$1,608.44-43.89%
Montana$3,220.84$2,031.89-$1,188.96-36.91%
North Carolina$3,393.11Data Not Available
North Dakota$4,165.84$2,006.80-$2,159.04-51.83%
Nebraska$3,283.68$2,330.78-$952.90-29.02%
New Hampshire$3,151.77$1,906.96-$1,244.81-39.50%
New Jersey$5,515.21Data Not Available
New Mexico$3,463.64$2,296.77-$1,166.87-33.69%
Nevada$4,861.70$3,069.07-$1,792.64-36.87%
New York$4,289.88$3,761.69-$528.20-12.31%
Ohio$2,709.71$1,478.46-$1,231.25-45.44%
Oklahoma$4,142.33$3,174.15-$968.17-23.37%
Oregon$3,467.77$2,587.15-$880.62-25.39%
Pennsylvania$4,034.50$1,793.37-$2,241.13-55.55%
Rhode Island$5,003.36$4,323.98-$679.38-13.58%
South Carolina$3,781.14$3,424.77-$356.37-9.42%
South Dakota$3,982.27Data Not Available
Tennessee$3,660.89$2,739.28-$921.61-25.17%
Texas$4,043.28$2,487.89-$1,555.39-38.47%
Utah$3,611.89$2,491.10-$1,120.79-31.03%
Virginia$2,357.87$1,858.38-$499.49-21.18%
Vermont$3,234.13$1,903.55-$1,330.58-41.14%
Washington$3,059.32$2,262.16-$797.16-26.06%
West Virginia$2,595.36$1,984.62-$610.74-23.53%
Wisconsin$3,606.06$2,975.74-$630.33-17.48%
Wyoming$3,200.08$2,779.53-$420.55-13.14%
Median$3,660.89$2,489.49-$1,171.40-32.00%

Compare RatesStart Now →

USAA’s premium prices came in well below the state averages — in some states, such as Michigan, as much as over 50 percent.

How to Compare the Top Ten Companies by Market Share

Now, we’ll see how the leading insurance companies in each state compare to USAA.

StateAverage by StateAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersUSAA
Alaska$3,421.51$3,145.31$4,153.07NA in State$2,879.96$5,295.55NA in State$3,062.85$2,228.12NA in State$2,454.21
Alabama$3,566.96$3,311.52NA in State$4,185.80$2,866.60$4,005.48$2,662.66$4,450.52$4,798.15$3,697.80$2,124.09
Arkansas$4,124.98$5,150.03NA in State$4,257.87$3,484.63NA in State$3,861.79$5,312.09$2,789.03$5,973.33$2,171.06
Arizona$3,770.97$4,904.10NA in State$5,000.08$2,264.71NA in State$3,496.08$3,577.50$4,756.25$3,084.74$3,084.29
California$3,688.93$4,532.96NA in State$4,998.78$2,885.65$3,034.42$4,653.19$2,849.67$4,202.28$3,349.54$2,693.87
Colorado$3,876.39$5,537.17$3,733.02$5,290.24$3,091.69$2,797.74$3,739.47$4,231.92$3,270.77NA in State$3,338.87
Connecticut$4,618.92$5,831.60NA in StateNA in State$3,073.66$7,282.87$3,672.34$4,920.35$2,976.24$6,004.29$3,190.00
District of Columbia$4,439.24$6,468.92NA in StateNA in State$3,692.81NA in State$4,848.98$4,970.26$4,074.05NA in State$2,580.44
Delaware$5,986.32$6,316.06NA in StateNA in State$3,727.29$18,360.02$4,330.21$4,181.83$4,466.85$4,182.36$2,325.98
Florida$4,680.46$7,440.46NA in StateNA in State$3,783.63$5,368.15$4,339.60$5,583.30$3,397.67NA in State$2,850.41
Georgia$4,966.83$4,210.70NA in StateNA in State$2,977.20$10,053.44$6,484.90$4,499.22$3,384.88NA in State$3,157.46
Hawaii$2,555.64$2,173.49NA in State$4,763.82$3,358.86$3,189.55$2,551.83$2,177.93$1,040.28NA in State$1,189.35
Iowa$2,981.28$2,965.86$3,021.81$2,435.72$2,296.16$4,415.28$2,735.44$2,395.50$2,224.51$5,429.38$1,852.57
Idaho$2,979.09$4,088.76$3,728.79$3,168.28$2,770.68$2,301.51$3,032.19NA in State$1,867.96$3,226.29$1,877.61
Illinois$3,305.48$5,204.41$3,815.31$4,605.20$2,779.16$2,277.65$2,711.81$3,536.65$2,344.88$2,499.76$2,770.21
Indiana$3,414.97$3,978.81$3,679.68$3,437.55$2,261.07$5,781.35NA in State$3,898.00$2,408.94$3,393.75$1,630.86
Kansas$3,279.62$4,010.23$2,146.40$3,703.77$3,220.65$4,784.42$2,475.59$4,144.38$2,720.00$4,341.43$2,382.61
Kentucky$5,195.40$7,143.92NA in StateNA in State$4,633.59$5,930.97$5,503.23$5,547.63$3,354.32$6,551.68$2,897.89
Louisiana$5,711.34$5,998.79NA in StateNA in State$6,154.60NA in StateNA in State$7,471.10$4,579.12NA in State$4,353.12
Maine$2,953.28$3,675.59NA in State$2,770.15$2,823.05$4,331.39NA in State$3,643.59$2,198.68$2,252.97$1,930.79
Maryland$4,582.70$5,233.17NA in StateNA in State$3,832.63$9,297.55$2,915.69$4,094.86$3,960.87NA in State$2,744.14
Massachusetts$2,678.85$2,708.53NA in StateNA in State$1,510.17$4,339.35NA in State$3,835.11$1,361.86$3,537.94$1,458.99
Michigan$10,498.64$22,902.59NA in State$8,503.60$6,430.11$20,000.04$6,327.38$5,364.55$12,565.52$8,773.97$3,620.00
Minnesota$4,403.25$4,532.01$3,521.29$3,137.45$3,498.54$13,563.61$2,926.49NA in State$2,066.99NA in State$2,861.60
Missouri$3,328.93$4,096.15$3,286.90$4,312.19$2,885.33$4,518.67$2,265.35$3,419.14$2,692.91NA in State$2,525.78
Mississippi$3,664.57$4,942.11NA in StateNA in State$4,087.21$4,455.94$2,756.53$4,308.85$2,980.48$3,729.32$2,056.13
Montana$3,220.84$4,672.10NA in State$3,907.55$3,602.35$1,326.11$3,478.26$4,330.76$2,417.74NA in State$2,031.89
North Carolina$3,393.11$7,190.43NA in StateNA in State$2,936.69$2,182.71$2,848.03$2,382.61$3,078.65$3,132.66NA in State
North Dakota$4,165.84$4,669.31$3,812.40$3,092.49$2,668.24$12,852.83$2,560.35$3,623.06$2,560.53NA in State$2,006.80
Nebraska$3,283.68$3,198.83$2,215.13$3,997.29$3,837.49$6,241.52$2,603.94$3,758.01$2,438.71NA in State$2,330.78
New Hampshire$3,151.77$2,725.01NA in StateNA in State$1,615.02$8,444.41$2,491.10$2,694.45$2,185.46NA in State$1,906.96
New Jersey$5,515.21$5,713.58NA in State$7,617.00$2,754.94$6,766.62NA in State$3,972.72$7,527.16$4,254.49NA in State
New Mexico$3,463.64$4,200.65NA in State$4,315.53$4,458.30NA in State$3,514.38$3,119.18$2,340.66NA in State$2,296.77
Nevada$4,861.70$5,371.62$5,441.18$5,595.56$3,662.09$6,201.55$3,477.14$4,062.57$5,796.34$5,360.41$3,069.07
New York$4,289.88$4,740.97NA in StateNA in State$2,428.24$6,540.73$4,012.93$3,771.15$4,484.58$4,578.79$3,761.69
Ohio$2,709.71$3,197.22$1,515.17$3,423.01$1,867.19$4,429.74$3,300.89$3,436.96$2,507.88$3,135.16$1,478.46
Oklahoma$4,142.33$3,718.62NA in State$4,142.40$3,437.34$6,874.62NA in State$4,832.35$2,816.80NA in State$3,174.15
Oregon$3,467.77$4,765.95$3,527.28$3,753.52$3,220.12$4,334.55$3,176.83$3,629.13$2,731.48$2,892.19$2,587.15
Pennsylvania$4,034.50$3,984.12NA in StateNA in State$2,605.22$6,055.20$2,800.37$4,451.00$2,744.23$7,842.47$1,793.37
Rhode Island$5,003.36$4,959.45NA in StateNA in State$5,602.63$6,184.12$4,409.63$5,231.09$2,406.51$6,909.45$4,323.98
South Carolina$3,781.14$3,903.43NA in State$4,691.85$3,178.01NA in State$3,625.49$4,573.08$3,071.34NA in State$3,424.77
South Dakota$3,982.27$4,723.72$4,047.47$3,768.80$2,940.29$7,515.99$2,737.66$3,752.81$2,306.23NA in StateNA in State
Tennessee$3,660.89$4,828.85NA in State$3,430.07$3,283.42$6,206.69$3,424.96$3,656.91$2,639.30$2,738.52$2,739.28
Texas$4,043.28$5,485.44$4,848.72NA in State$3,263.28NA in State$3,867.55$4,664.69$2,879.94NA in State$2,487.89
Utah$3,611.89$3,566.42$3,698.77$3,907.99$2,965.57$4,327.76$2,986.57$3,830.10$4,645.83NA in State$2,491.10
Virginia$2,357.87$3,386.80NA in StateNA in State$2,061.53NA in State$2,073.00$2,498.58$2,268.95NA in State$1,858.38
Vermont$3,234.13$3,190.38NA in StateNA in State$2,195.71$3,621.08$2,128.21$5,217.14$4,382.84NA in State$1,903.55
Washington$3,059.32$3,540.52$3,713.02$2,962.00$2,568.65$3,994.73$2,129.84$3,209.52$2,499.78NA in State$2,262.16
West Virginia$2,595.36$3,820.68NA in StateNA in State$2,120.80$2,924.39NA in StateNA in State$2,126.32NA in State$1,984.62
Wisconsin$3,606.06$4,854.41$1,513.27$3,777.49$3,926.20$6,758.85$5,224.99$3,128.91$2,387.53NA in State$2,975.74
Wyoming$3,200.08$4,373.93NA in State$3,069.35$3,496.56$1,989.36$3,187.20$4,401.17$2,303.55NA in State$2,779.53
Median$3,660.89$4,532.96$3,698.77$3,907.99$3,073.66$5,295.55$3,187.20$3,935.36$2,731.48$3,729.32$2,489.49

Compare RatesStart Now →

In many cases, USAA’s average premiums also cost less than their competitors’.

What Are USAA Male vs. Female Car Insurance Rates?

As you’ll notice below, age now tends to play more of a role in setting rates than gender does.

GroupMarried 35-year old femaleMarried 35-year old maleMarried 60-year old femaleMarried 60-year old maleSingle 17-year old femaleSingle 17-year old maleSingle 25-year old femaleSingle 25-year old male
USAA$1,551.43$1,540.32$1,449.85$1,448.98$4,807.54$5,385.61$1,988.52$2,126.14

Compare RatesStart Now →

Not surprisingly, younger, less experienced drivers of both genders pay more for USAA insurance. Rates drop dramatically by age 25 on up.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Are the Average USAA Rates by Make and Model – Last Five-Years Average?

Below are some of the most popular makes and models of cars and pickups and the average USAA insurance coverage rates for them.

Make and ModelUSAA
2015 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 footbed and 2.7L V6
$2,551.56
2015 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$2,409.67
2015 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$2,454.58
2018 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 footbed and 2.7L V6
$2,855.69
2018 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$2,422.66
2018 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$2,529.63

Compare RatesStart Now →

As shown, it costs more to insure newer vehicles, such as the 2018 Ford F-150 — as much as $300 more — compared to the 2015 model.

What Are the Average USAA Commute Rates?

Just how far can you go before your mileage affects your USAA rates? Let’s see below.

Average of Annual PremiumCommute and Annual Mileage
Group10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage.
USAA$2,482.69$2,591.91

Compare RatesStart Now →

Luckily, there’s no major price difference between 10 and 25-mile commutes, which means commute distance isn’t a big factor in USAA’s rates.

What Are the Average USAA Coverage Level Rates?

It’s good to have options. Below, we show how USAA rates change from the lowest coverage to the highest.

Average of Annual PremiumCoverage Type
GroupHighLowMedium
USAA$2,667.92$2,404.11$2,539.87

Compare RatesStart Now →

There’s only about a $264 difference between the lowest and the highest coverage levels. So, for just a little more, you can get the most coverage for better protection.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Are the Average USAA Credit History Rates?

USAA is among the companies that base their rates on customers’ credit scores. People with good credit are considered less risky to insure than those with bad credit.

GroupFairGoodPoor
USAA$2,219.83$1,821.20$3,690.73

Compare RatesStart Now →

With USAA, the difference in cost between poor and good credit can amount to as much as nearly $3,000.

What Are the Average USAA Driving Record Rates?

Just one minor infraction, such as a speeding ticket, can increase your insurance rates.

Average of Annual PremiumDriving Record
GroupClean recordWith 1 accidentWith 1 DUIWith 1 speeding violation
USAA$1,933.68$2,516.24$3,506.03$2,193.25

Compare RatesStart Now →

Under USAA, a DUI adds $1,500 more to your premium based on the rate for a clean driving record. Besides driving to protect yourself and others, paying lower rates is another incentive to drive safely.

What Are the Coverages Offered?

For the amount you pay for car insurance coverage, you can worry that you won’t get all the coverage you need in case an accident happens.

Here we have some information to help set you at ease. We’ll go over all of USAA’s coverage options and the discounts available.

So, get ready to learn more about USAA’s car insurance and find out if the company provides coverage for your situation.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Types of Car Insurance Does USAA Offer?

USAA offers customers many basic types of car insurance coverage. These are among their different coverage options.

Basic car insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability — If you cause an accident, this helps cover another driver’s medical bills.
  • Collision — This will cover you if you hit an object or another vehicle.
  • Comprehensive — This coverage will protect you from damage a vehicle didn’t cause, from such incidents as theft, hitting a deer, hail damage, etc.

Other options:

  • Classic Car — For vintage vehicles of value.
  • Extended Benefits Coverage — This will give you more protection if you also have medical payments coverage; it varies by location.
  • Personal Injury Protection — This will help with medical bills from an accident as well as other costs as a result of .
  • Property Damage Liability — If you damage another driver’s property, this will pay for it.
  • Umbrella — This coverage will protect your assets from lawsuits.
  • Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage — If another driver lacks adequate coverage or isn’t insured, this will kick-in to cover the bills from a hit-and-run or other type of accident.

Add-ons and more services:

  • Car Buying Service — USAA has partnered with TruCar to provide low loan rates, savings off Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Prices (MSRPs), and “bonus cash” military incentives.
  • Commercial — For vehicles used for business.
  • Ridesharing Gap Coverage — This will fill the gaps in your personal insurance and ridesharing insurance.
  • Roadside Assistance — If your battery dies, you run out of gas or face other car-related calamities, this coverage will come to the rescue.
  • Usage-Based Insurance — USAA’s SafePilot program gives discounts for safe driving habits.

USAA provides all of this and more. It has a decent variety of car insurance for different needs and budgets at a lower cost than many other insurers.

What Are the Discounts Offered?

Besides the already low-cost coverage USAA provides, you can save further with the discounts below.

USAA DiscountsPercentage Saved
Anti-lock Brakesx
Anti-Theftx
Claim Free12%
Daytime Running Lightsx
Defensive Driver3%
Distant Studentx
Driver's Ed3%
Driving Device/App5%
Early Signing12%
Family Legacy10%
Garaging/Storing90%
Good Student3%
Low Mileagex
Loyaltyx
Marriedx
Militaryx
Military Garaging15%
Multiple Policiesx
Multiple Vehiclesx
Newer Vehicle12%
Occasional Operatorx
Paperless/Auto Billing3%
Passive Restraintx
Safe Driver12%
Senior Driverx

Compare RatesStart Now →

USAA offers fewer discounts than other insurers (roughly 28 vs. 38), but it’s more about quality rather than quantity. You can save the most with garaging, whether it’s private (90 percent) or military storage (15 percent).

Want to find out about the military discounts other providers offer? Below we’ve listed some of the top insurers and any discounts they provide.

InsurerPercentage Saved with Discount
AllstateN/A
FarmersN/A
Geico (may be active or retired)15%
Liberty Mutual (must be active duty)4%
MetLife15% (could vary based on years of service)
Safeco (may be active or retired)N/A

Compare RatesStart Now →

Overall, USAA doesn’t have as many coverage options as other providers, but it makes up for that with much lower rates. You’ll find decent basic insurance with the company. Notably, it provides rideshare gap coverage, but no ridesharing insurance or car repair shop programs. USAA does, however, sell a solid insurance package at a fair price.

How to Cancel Your Policy

If you want to buy insurance through another company, you can cancel your USAA coverage. In this section, we’ll walk you through the process and any fees you may have to pay.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s the Cancellation Fee?

Unlike other providers, you can cancel your insurance with USAA without facing any fees.

Is There a Refund?

If you decide to cancel, ask if USAA offers a refund beforehand, which may be available if you have more than a little time left before your term ends.

How to Cancel

You can cancel your USAA policy in the following ways:

  • Online — Through the website, you may message USAA.
  • Phone — Call 800-531-USAA (8722) and request cancellation.
  • Mail — Send a request for cancellation to USAA’s main mailing address.
  • In-Person — if you’re near a USAA office, you stop in to cancel.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

When Can I Cancel?

You may cancel your USAA policy at any time, and the company should cancel your policy immediately.

How to Make a Claim

If you’re in an accident, you may need to file a claim with your insurer. At such a difficult time, the ease of filing a claim is crucial. You want to make sure that following their instructions isn’t a hassle.

To prepare you for what you can expect with USAA, we’ll cover data about loss ratios and insurance premiums the company writes each year and most importantly, how to make a claim.

So, keep reading to learn more.

What Are the Methods of Making a Claim?

These are the ways you can file a claim with USAA. Just choose the method you prefer, and an agent should be able to help.

  • Online — File a claim at USAA’s website or through their app, which can be helpful right after an accident at any time.
  • In-Person — With an agent at any nearby USAA office.
  • Phone — Call 800-531-8722 to file your claim.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Is the Number of Written Insurance Premiums?

The number of premiums a company writes is a sign of its stability. If customers file many claims, the company should be able to afford to pay them. These statistics on USAA’s auto insurance premiums are from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Year2015201620172018
Written Premiums$10,562,100$11,691,051$13,154,939$14,467,936

Compare RatesStart Now →

As shown, the amount of policies USAA writes has risen slightly in recent years, which has increased alongside its customer base.

What’s the Loss Ratio?

An insurance company’s loss ratio reveals how much it paid on claims compared to how much it earned in premiums.

For example, USAA’s loss ratio in 2018 was 77 percent. So, that year, for every $100 the company earned in premiums, the company paid $77.00 in claims.

Below are the company’s loss ratios from 2015 to 2018:

    • 2015 – 82.82 percent
    • 2016 – 86.24 percent
    • 2017 – 79.60 percent
    • 2018 –  77 percent

These ratios have decreased steadily since 2015, which shows that USAA is more likely to have the means to pay claims.

How to Get a USAA Quote Online

Now that you know more about the coverage USAA offers and what goes into their premium rates, you’re ready to get a quote online. This will let you see how much you can expect to pay for the insurance you need.

Before you proceed, you should have the following information with you:

  • your Social Security number and contact information
  • your driving and insurance history
  • your vehicle information
  • information about you or your family member’s military service
  • your passport

Scroll on to find out how to get a quote through our easy visual step-by-step process.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Step #1 – Explore the USAA Site

Once you know you can qualify for a USAA car insurance policy, take some time to explore their site and read about their coverage.

There are a lot of benefits to a USAA auto insurance policy like rental reimbursement, accident forgiveness, and global coverage no matter where you’re stationed.

For military members whose posts change, USAA is a good provider to consider because they understand the unique needs and challenges a servicemember can face with auto insurance.

Step #2 – Sign Up or Log In

Register for a USAA account or, if you’re already a member, log in.

For Pre-existing Members

If you’re already a USAA member, your quotes process will be a bit easier since your information is already in the system and will be automatically imported.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Step #3 – Learn about USAA’s Offerings

Before you start the quote process, USAA will walk you through their offerings, advantages, and provide some helpful tips on buying a new car insurance policy.

If you’re a returning customer, you’ll be greeted with a welcome screen that reveals your current policy’s benefits and coverages.

The tips that USAA provide are designed to keep you informed and feel more confident in the insurance buying process. Even if you’ve successfully gotten a policy before, it can be difficult to understand exactly what car insurance limits you need as well as which discounts to keep an eye out for.

We found USAA’s quote system to be extremely helpful and intuitive, so if you have questions about car insurance and need some extra help along the way, this guide combined with their site is a winning combo.

Step #4 – Enter/Update Personal Information

For preexisting USAA members, you can review the majority of your information and update as you need. If you’re requesting an auto insurance quote from USAA for the first time, just follow along the prompts on the screen and enter the appropriate information into each box.

If you need to add an additional driver, like a spouse, you can easily do that by clicking “Add Driver”.

You’ll need to provide the same personal details for each driver you add to your quote, so make sure that you have all of the necessary info on-hand before you get started.

Step #5 – Answer Questions, Save Money

You’ll be asked some questions about each driver you list. Some of them might seem unrelated to car insurance, like “Do you own a house?”, but these factors can actually influence your car insurance rates and score you some sweet discounts.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Step #6 – Get Help if You Need It

On the side of the screen, you’ll see a phone number and business hours for the USAA Contact Center. If you have any questions about policies or need some additional help with the quote request process, a live representative can help you out.

If it’s a weekend, no worries. This guide will continue through all the steps and give you all the information you need to get a quote today.

Step #7 – Add Vehicle Details

You can enter your car’s year, make and model manually or enter your VIN. If your info is already in the system but you’ve gotten a new vehicle, simply update the information with your new car’s specs.

After you’ve entered your car’s details, you can add another vehicle or proceed to the next step.

Step #7 – Review Your Car Usage and its Features

USAA will ask you questions about your car’s safety features, which might help you qualify for discounts. You’ll have to specify how you use your vehicle as well as approximate how many miles you drive each year.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Step #9 – Review Your Coverage Needs

USAA’s quote system has an optional walkthrough that will help you identify the best limits and coverages for your policy.

Each step will ask you a question and provide a simple explanation.

We recommend using this walkthrough in order to assess your coverage needs and personalize your quote as much as possible. An important part of buying car insurance is comparison shopping, and you want to make sure the rates you’re comparing are as accurate as possible.

When you add additional coverages and explore all your options, you gain a better understanding of each company’s services and capabilities.

You can always reduce your auto insurance policy if you decide to add additional coverage, but it’s a good idea to go into the shopping process looking for exactly what you need, not avoiding coverage options to salvage a few dollars.

Step #8 – Check Out Discounts

USAA will give you a rundown of their discounts such as Safe Driver Discount, Defensive Driving, and the Good Student discount. Keep an eye out for these offerings from other companies you shop with to make sure you save as much as you can.

Any discounts you qualify for will automatically be deducted from your quote.

Step #10 – Get Your Quote

You’ll be presented with a personalized quote and a breakdown of each coverage included. You can review the limits of your custom rate, and check out similar coverage that matches your other limits.

Take note of these rates and keep them somewhere you easily return to later. Before you buy, it’s important to get several other quotes online and compare to find the best deal.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Why You Should Compare Car Insurance Before You Buy

Car insurance is an investment in your vehicle and your safety. To make sure you’re really covered, you have to peruse the market and see what’s out there.

A good car insurance company will strike a balance between cost and coverage.  Don’t settle for the bare minimum, which sometimes isn’t even the minimum requirement.
The form will request the following information:

InformationRequired?
Social Security NumberYes
Date of BirthYes
Contact InformationYes
Driver's LicenseNo
Vehicle Identification NumberNo
Driver's HistoryYes
Vehicle InformationYes
Details about You or Your Family Member's Military ServiceYes
Passport or Permanent Resident Card (for non-U.S. citizens)Yes

Compare RatesStart Now →

Once you’ve provided the needed information, you should be able to get your quote.

What Does the Design of Website/App Look Like?

Especially if you’re busy, you want to get the information you need online quickly. If a site or an app isn’t well-designed or organized, a simple task can become hard. And, if customers can’t find what they want, they will go elsewhere.

Let’s explore how you can access information through USAA’s website and app.

Website

On the usaa.com home page, users will see a navigation bar at the top where they can get basic information.

For instance, when you click “Products” on the top left, you’ll reach the following page with more choices:

This long list can make it confusing to find out where you need to go.  Under the “Insurance” heading, you’ll find the link to “Auto Insurance,” where you can access information about USAA’s coverage.

Generally, typing a word or phrase into the search box at the top and clicking on the button cuts to the chase.

Though USAA emphasizes that it keeps up with technological advances, its site could be better organized to give users information more quickly. Right now, there’s lots of scrolling involved.

For instance, an easier alternative to the “Products” page would be to add headings such as “Insurance,” “Banking,” etc. in a drop-down menu that appears when users click on the “Products” link on the home page.

Apps

At Apple’s iTunes App Store, USAA Mobile scores 4.8 out of five stars (out of 444,000 ratings). On Google Play, it nets 4.6 stars out of five (from over 125,000 reviews).

The app’s features include:

  • Banking: Pay bills, send money with Zelle®, deposit checks, calculate your loans, and locate an ATM.
  • Insurance: Get an Auto ID card, request roadside assistance, and report a claim.
  • Investments: Get real-time stock quotes, place trades, read relevant articles, and watch informative videos.
  • Secure: Use a PIN or biometrics to log in to the app quickly.
  • Digital Assistant: Access EVA, USAA’s digital voice assistant, to answer your questions.
  • Widget: View your accounts and balances on your device widget without the need to log in each time, thanks to the company’s secure authentication infrastructure.

Some of users’ criticisms include bugs involving the fingerprint login and the “add a transaction” feature under banking and other issues that USAA later fixed in updates. For the most part, though, the app receives high marks.

On the other hand, USAA’s driving app, SafePilot, ranks just below Mobile with users. The program isn’t available in every state — only in Arizona, Ohio, Texas, and Virginia.

At iTunes, it received four out of five stars with fewer than ten reviews. It didn’t rank so well at Google Play, garnering 2.6 out of five stars out of fewer than ten reviews.

Some reviewers believe the app isn’t stable enough to track users accurately, yet others appreciate the opportunity to save based on their driving habits.

The app lets users check their driving habits: phone handling, hands-free phone use, and harsh braking. If they drive safely, they can receive discounts of up to 20 percent on their next premiums.

What Are the Pros and Cons?

To help you decide whether USAA is the right insurer for you, these are some of the best and the worst aspects of the company’s services and coverage.

ProsCons
Low premium ratesRates rise significantly with a bad driving record (but rates often remain below state averages)
Multiple discountsFewer add-ons and programs; for instance, no ridesharing insurance or car repair programs
Strong financial ratings from professional reviewersSome negative customer reviews
Great Mobile appSafePilot app is only available in Arizona, Ohio, Texas, and Virginia.

Compare RatesStart Now →

No company is perfect. USAA performs well in its niche market. The company’s low premiums for active military and veterans and its solid financial record give it an edge over competitors.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s the Bottom Line

USAA is a financially stable company; it’s likely to stick around and is well-positioned for continued growth while it continues to attract new customers.

In exchange for their sacrifices in serving their fellow citizens, in a way, USAA’s low rates are like a much-deserved discount that honors active military and veterans alike. The company’s prices are often lower than other top-ranked insurers’ rates.

Though its online features could be improved for easier use and the company could expand some of its coverage offerings, it has a solid reputation and ranks highly for its financial standing and work environment.

With adequate basic coverage for past and present members of the armed forces and their families, USAA marches ahead of its competitors.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is USAA car insurance a reliable choice in 2023?

Yes, USAA car insurance continues to be a reliable choice in 2023, known for its excellent customer service and competitive coverage options.

What types of coverage does USAA car insurance offer?

USAA car insurance offers a range of coverage options, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and more.

Can I customize my car insurance policy with USAA?

Absolutely! USAA allows policyholders to customize their car insurance policies to suit their individual needs and preferences, offering add-ons such as roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement.

Are there any discounts available with USAA car insurance?

Yes, USAA offers various discounts to help policyholders save money. These may include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, discounts for bundling auto and home insurance, and discounts for military members and their families.

How can I file a claim with USAA car insurance?

Filing a claim with USAA car insurance is simple. You can do it online through their website or mobile app, or you can contact their claims department directly via phone. USAA strives to provide a hassle-free claims process for their customers.

Reviews
for USAA

4.72 (6,432 reviews)
1
January 19, 2024

Poteattony

Usaa not so great anymore

These guys dropped me based on my adult daughters driving record even thought my wife and i have a perfect driving record and will not renew or communicate even though both daughters are adults and are moved out of my home! Thanks for looking our for your vets usaa! Ive been a member and have had insurance banking etc with them for 14 yrs but im out now! Theses guys really do not have any loyalty
1
December 21, 2023

ioam

Customer service got bad

I have been a member with USAA for nearly 10 years now. I have received exceptional service in the past, but recently I am very disappointed with their service. My vehicle was deemed a total loss 3 times during my claim/repairs, it has been in repair status for 3 months, I was only reimbursed for 6 days of rental coverage, the adjusters including the manager are unresponsive and communication is unnecessarily drawn out. USAA refused to communicat...
I have been a member with USAA for nearly 10 years now. I have received exceptional service in the past, but recently I am very disappointed with their service. My vehicle was deemed a total loss 3 times during my claim/repairs, it has been in repair status for 3 months, I was only reimbursed for 6 days of rental coverage, the adjusters including the manager are unresponsive and communication is unnecessarily drawn out. USAA refused to communicate with the mechanical shop and the body shop, which made my life very difficult. I was doing their work to ensure the parties are getting paid, that my vehicle is being moved from shop to shop, and I had to frequently call USAA to receive any kind of status update. At one point they actually closed my claim as "resolved" simply because they claimed I was not responding... I was furious about that. They reopened my claim a day later because I was checking emails, the claims communication center and my phone daily. Meanwhile, I signed a new lease when I was informed the first time that my vehicle is totaled, moved out of state and now have to have my vehicle shipped to me. From all USAA employees in the claim process, I feel ignored, misinformed, and not treated as a valued customer. I am writing this review because trying to resolve this matter internally has led to no results and at this point, I do not recommend USAA to potential new members, especially when I am paying $250 monthly to be insured for anything that may come my way...
4
October 2, 2023

Sandy_H

Unresolved billing issue for months

Wow, after being a USAA member for decades, I can't get them to resolve a billing issue that's ongoing since September 2022. I've made 15+ calls, more than 40 hours if our time, sometimes talking to 2 or 3 representatives per call, supervisors, and EVERY TIME, you have to start over because you can't talk to the same person twice, EVER. No one can help, Supervisors don't return calls if you're lucky enough to reach one after 45 minutes on hold, a...
Wow, after being a USAA member for decades, I can't get them to resolve a billing issue that's ongoing since September 2022. I've made 15+ calls, more than 40 hours if our time, sometimes talking to 2 or 3 representatives per call, supervisors, and EVERY TIME, you have to start over because you can't talk to the same person twice, EVER. No one can help, Supervisors don't return calls if you're lucky enough to reach one after 45 minutes on hold, and still, the billing problem persists. Extremely disappointed and you can't send an email or tell anyone. Maybe this public post will provide some relief.
1
September 26, 2023

davidwells

USAA: Always hire a lawyer

Always hire a lawyer when dealing with USAA. Here are the tactics USAA uses to avoid paying your car claim. 1. Ignore your phone calls and delay for months to wear you down 2.Make you manage their claim department to get things done 3.Each new person shows surprise that no one has called you back and promises to take care of it 4.Tell you that your 2022 claim was on an old system and only a few people can access that system 5.Play a game that the...
Always hire a lawyer when dealing with USAA. Here are the tactics USAA uses to avoid paying your car claim. 1. Ignore your phone calls and delay for months to wear you down 2.Make you manage their claim department to get things done 3.Each new person shows surprise that no one has called you back and promises to take care of it 4.Tell you that your 2022 claim was on an old system and only a few people can access that system 5.Play a game that the market value of a wrecked car is within $500 dollars of an unwrecked car. Go somewhere else.
1
June 17, 2023

chanelcinq

Completely incompetent

What a complete nightmare.  WORST COMPANY EVER. They are completely incompetent on every single level.  Please look at the reviews.  If you sort by most recent the first three pages ALL are 1 star except one 3 star and two 2 stars.  The rest are all 1 star so it is obvious they have declined.  It took them 5.5 weeks to total my car.  The agents don't call you back and basically, they don't do anything.  Nothing happened unless I called to ...
What a complete nightmare.  WORST COMPANY EVER. They are completely incompetent on every single level.  Please look at the reviews.  If you sort by most recent the first three pages ALL are 1 star except one 3 star and two 2 stars.  The rest are all 1 star so it is obvious they have declined.  It took them 5.5 weeks to total my car.  The agents don't call you back and basically, they don't do anything.  Nothing happened unless I called to move to the next step.  It took a week before they even towed my car from the accident site.  I called every day telling them my car was going to be towed away and they needed to move it.  When they towed it they towed it about 45 minutes away and across a bridge.  I am in a very populous place in San [REDACTED NAME] between San [REDACTED NAME] and San [REDACTED NAME] yet they towed my car to the East Bay.  Then it sat for 1.5 weeks.  I called again to ask what is going on and why there has been no appraisal after 2.5 weeks.   Once I called them, then I received a call back in 25 minutes the appraisal was done.  I asked the agent how he did it so fast and he said from photos.  Give me a break.  It was obviously NOT correct.  Then the car needed to be towed from this facility in the East Bay to my auto body shop.  I was told on a Wednesday that the paperwork to get the car out takes 72 hours and that takes it to Sat and it was Memorial weekend so the car would not arrive until the Tuesday after labor day.  Well, it actually arrived Wednesday the 7th of June.  So absurd.  The auto body shop did the estimate on Friday of that same week and we were in contact this past Monday.  They sent the estimate to USAA on Monday and today, Friday, I get a TEXT that the case is closed and my car is totaled.  And of course, my adjusted didn't answer her phone or call back.   I think they make money from totaling out the car. They told me I would get 17,194.00 if the car is totaled. The estimate from the auto body shop was for 13,506 and they still totaled it. I told USAA that the shop will work with me. USAA said if you decide to do a salvage you only get about 7,000. They said they sell my car for parts and if they cannot sell it, For example in the case of a salvage, they don't make any money so that is why the payout is less. All of it seems so shady. Why would there be a 10,000 difference? Things just do not add up. You have been forewarned to steer clear of this nightmare of a company.
1
May 31, 2023

HB23

Incompetent company

This is the most incompetent insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. My car was hit by one of their members and is still not fixed nearly 3 months later. Their excuse is that they don’t have their members statement. If they’re handling getting their members statement like they did mine then I’m not surprised. They made ZERO effort to get my statement, didn’t reach out once. The only reason they have my statement is because I called over...
This is the most incompetent insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. My car was hit by one of their members and is still not fixed nearly 3 months later. Their excuse is that they don’t have their members statement. If they’re handling getting their members statement like they did mine then I’m not surprised. They made ZERO effort to get my statement, didn’t reach out once. The only reason they have my statement is because I called over and over and over leaving multiple messages, that were never responded to. I finally got through to a person after many tries and gave them my statement even though they weren’t the person that was in charge of this claim. I would caution anyone against using USAA for their insurance seeing as how they clearly have no intention of paying out for a claim.
1
May 25, 2023

JonB36

USAA's exemplary service legacy has hit rock bottom.

USAA’s auto repair service has hit rock bottom. Unfortunately, I’m just one of many experiencing it: but I think I have uncovered a reason why. Once listed in “Consumers Reports” as the best all-around auto insurance provider, a year or so ago USAA made a decision which has led to long repair delays and absolute frustration for us their customers/members. And to top it off, USAA doesn’t seem concerned. If you don’t believe me, jus...
USAA’s auto repair service has hit rock bottom. Unfortunately, I’m just one of many experiencing it: but I think I have uncovered a reason why. Once listed in “Consumers Reports” as the best all-around auto insurance provider, a year or so ago USAA made a decision which has led to long repair delays and absolute frustration for us their customers/members. And to top it off, USAA doesn’t seem concerned. If you don’t believe me, just try to get someone from their claims department to answer or return your telephone calls when you need them to!! From my own recent auto repair experience and what I have been able to learn from other sources, USAA has replaced a large number of its in-house claims adjusters with a third-party firm called (I believe) "Snapsheet" to take over their claims adjusting process. Now, all auto repair estimates go directly from the repair facilities to this outsider company ...not to USAA...which reviews them, deals (negotiates) directly with the shops and then sends a “revalued version” to USAA. Only then will USAA issue a check and the go-ahead to start repairs. USAA now will do nothing until in receipt of Snapsheet’s, “approved” total. Time is no longer a consideration and there seems to be no limit to the number of times the shop has to revise its’ estimate in order to obtain Snapsheets’ approval. (In my case it has been four times so far.) According to a shop foreman I talked with who had been offered a job with them, Snapsheets employees do not have to be experienced adjusters; aren’t required to visit the facility or to examine the vehicle in question; and can form their estimates working from home if they wish. And Snapsheet is also free to “bargain” directly with repair facilities without USAA input. According to him the recruiter old him up front that Snapsheet is being hired to save USAA money, and that is of paramount importance. So, where does all this leave us, members and customers when everything comes to an impasse? Essentially, in limbo. We can’t talk to anyone at Snapsheet, and hardly any USAA adjusters answers or returns calls, even though their answering machine states their aim is to return calls within 4 hours. That claim should be erased!! Customer care????? Judging from numerous negative remarks I’m not alone. In my own case I haven't received any return calls and the repair shop has had their estimate returned four times now with a warning that if they do not concede to reduce their estimates to Snapsheets’ satisfaction they (Snapsheet) will not forward it on to USAA. In the meantime, my car sits there, broken and USAA seems oblivious or uninterested in intervening to get this impasse resolved. They won't even talk to the repair facility to sort things out! That's how poor their customer service has become! USAA’s recent ad campaign claiming to have the interests of veterans, service members and their families at heart...is something of a sad joke. But as a veteran and a long time member…. I’m not laughing!! Someone should remind USAA's leadership of the age-old business rule..."poor service leads to lost customers". At this writing, nothing has been resolved. The shop is thinking of throwing my car out of their lot. I'm totally frustrated and disappointed. For many years I have relied on USAA, but they are just not the same company today. Now its "buyer Beware!!" That's my 2 cents !!! JonB
1
May 4, 2023

Cvinny10_

Do NOT get this insurance

Worst experience. I got hit by someone with this insurance and it took them 7 weeks to total my car. We came upon an agreement for the amount I would be paid so I signed the title over and a week later they said they could no longer pay that amount. Please do yourself and the rest of us Americans a favor and do NOT get this insurance
1
February 25, 2023

CGN_Demandante

Damaged Rental Van Payoff

I returned a perfectly good rental van to Budget Rental during the summer, but they damaged it sometime afterwards. It was not even a small damage: there were dents all along the driver side door, the sliding door panel, and the trunk door. It was something that would not have been missed, if I returned the van in that condition. However, Budget Rental then filed a claim with USAA in 10/2022, a full 6 months later. It was blatantly fraudulent...
I returned a perfectly good rental van to Budget Rental during the summer, but they damaged it sometime afterwards. It was not even a small damage: there were dents all along the driver side door, the sliding door panel, and the trunk door. It was something that would not have been missed, if I returned the van in that condition. However, Budget Rental then filed a claim with USAA in 10/2022, a full 6 months later. It was blatantly fraudulent. After what I consider useless perfunctory online investigating, USAA just decided to just pay them off, and I am stuck with a higher insurance premium. USAA is a totally different insurance company from when I joined 40 years ago. Pretty disappointing.
1
October 7, 2022

JesseM

Surprisingly Awful

Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This ...
Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This is where everything got bad. I was unable to reopen the claim with USAA, and they have a circular help system that will make sure you can never actually get through to anyone about an existing claim. Their chatbot is especially diabolical. It wasn't until I left a review on BBB, that I received a call from a special team that deals with BBB complaints. After the 4th windshield was installed and 4 months, I finally have a working car again, but there is no way I'm risking another claim with USAA.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption