Allstate Car Insurance Review [2022]

The average Allstate car insurance rates range from $181/mo in HA to $599/mo in NC. Allstate car insurance has an A+ rating from AM Best and the Better Business Bureau.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

UPDATED: Jun 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 2775 Sanders Road
City: Northbrook
State: IL
ZIP Code: 60062
Phone Number: 847-402-5000
Year Founded: 1931
AM Best Rating: A (Excellent)

Got insurance?

If you’re like us, you probably do. Insurance is something you have to have to keep you and your family protected if the unforeseen happens. But if you’re lucky, you may never have to use it.

But if luck isn’t on your side, and you end up in a 500-year storm, are you in good hands Allstate was founded in 1931 and is one of the best-known insurance companies in the United States. The company’s main slogan is “You’re in good hands” has been around since the 1950s. But what sets them apart from other insurance providers?

In this guide, we’re going to take our gloves off and see if you are really in good hands. We’re going to provide you with everything you need to know about Allstate, including company history, ratings, coverage options, and more.

Want to start comparison shopping today? You can take advantage of our FREE online tool to start comparing rates in your area.

Let’s get started.

Table of Contents

What are Allstate’s financial strength ratings?

Now that we have taken off our gloves, let’s see what multiple independent agencies have to say about Allstate and whether it’s the right company for your situation. Comparing the pros and cons is an important factor in determining which auto insurance company is best for you.

Ratings Agency Rating
AM Best A+
Moody's A3
S&P AA-
Better Business BureauA+
JD PowerOverall Satisfaction: 3/5
Estimation Process: 3/5
Claims Servicing: 3/5
Settlement: 3/5
Consumer Reports88
Consumer Affairs4/5
NAIC Compliant Ratio1.28
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AM Best

AM Best rating measures the financial stability of a company, with A++ being the highest rating possible. Since Allstate has an A+ rating, it means Allstate has a stable financial future.

Moody’s

Moody’s rating looks at how well a company can pay off its debts (its creditworthiness). Moody’s A3 rating falls into the P-2 category, meaning the company has “a strong ability to repay short-term debt obligations.

 Standard and Poor’s (S&P)

S&P’s rating of Allstate is very good, though the best rating is AAA. An AA- rating means that Allstate has a robust ability to pay back debts, though not as strong as an AA or AA+ company.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Better Business Bureau

This rating looks at multiple aspects of a business, though the most important aspect is the company’s complaint history. A complaint history shows how satisfied customers are with the service they receive.

Since A+ is the highest rating the BBB gives , BBB clearly views Allstate as better than most.

J.D. Power

Another important rating to look at when searching for an insurance company is customer satisfaction levels.

JD Power rates companies solely on customer satisfaction levels. Allstate’s JD Power ratings are okay averaging 3/5; in most areas, there is room for improvement.

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is another great company that measures customer satisfaction. The company based the overall score of 88 on the following category scores.

Allstate ServiceConsumer Report Score
Ease of Reaching an AgentExcellent
Simplicity of the ProcessVery Good
Promptness of the ResponseVery Good
Damage AmountVery Good
Agent CourtesyExcellent
Timely PaymentExcellent
Freedom to Select Repair ShopVery Good
Being Kept Informed of Claim StatusVery Good
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Allstate scores well in many of the above categories.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Consumer Affairs

As for the Consumer Affairs’ rating of Allstate, the overall rating of 4/5 is great. Allstate currently has over 400 negative reviews (three or fewer stars) on Consumer Affairs, though over a thousand reviews are four or more stars.

NAIC Complaint Index

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) measures the number of complaints a company receives. Allstate’s complaint ratio is fairly normal, as it is just a little over one percent. One thing to consider is that your experience may be better or worse than these ratings based on your insurance needs.

What’s Allstate’s history?

Allstate was founded in 1931 by Sears Roebuck and is only a few, short years from celebrating its centennial. Since its creation, Allstate has moved on to become one of the largest insurance providers, ranking as number 79 on the Fortune 500 in 2017.

The company had a rough year in 2018, according to Fortune 500:

as a series of natural disasters, from the California wildfires to Hurricane Michael, resulted in significant losses. Profits were down more than 29%, with the western wildfires alone resulting in $679 million in pre-tax losses. Exposure to losses like these has led the company to become an advocate for addressing climate change.

Why should you care about Allstate’s history? Essentially, looking at a company’s history gives you essential data about how successful the company is and what its future is like.

Up next, we are going to dig into everything from Allstate’s market share to its awards and accolades.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s the company’s market share?

Below, you will see NAIC’s data on Allstate’s market shares over three years.

Year201520162017
Market Share5.07%5.00 %4.88%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Allstate’s market share has decreased steadily over the last three years. Several factors could be in play, such as increased premiums, customer dissatisfaction, and more brand recognition from competitors.

How to access Allstate?

Allstate has several options if you want to access information or get in touch with someone about your car insurance policy.

  • Online You can find quotes and more online at Allstate’s website.
  • Agents You can talk to agents by texting, calling, or emailing.
  • Apps Allstate offers a mobile app, through which you can access your policy information and contact agents.

What’s the company’s advertising?

Whether it’s mayhem or good hands, car insurance companies do whatever it takes to grab your attention.

Consumers have been told:

We all want the good things in life, including good insurance, but are the good things really affordable?

Another smart advertising campaign which has swept us up into its chaos is the Allstate Mayhem commercials:

Another smart advertising campaign which has swept us up into its chaos is the Allstate Mayhem commercials Unlike other insurance companies, Allstate doesn’t base its advertising on how much you can save by switching or spending 15 minutes to save 15 percent, instead, the company markets itself as being there when and if it’s needed.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Does Allstate invest in the community?

Allstate is proud to give back to the community. Watch the video below to show how one employee is doing just that.

Other ways Allstate works hard to give back to the community is through the Allstate Foundation. The Allstate Foundation focuses on the following:

  • Good Starts Young — focuses on empowering youth through in-school and after-school programs
  • Purple Purse — focuses on helping end domestic violence by assisting victims to reach financial independence
  • Nonprofit Leadership Center — provides a leadership development program
  • Helping Hands — supports Allstate’s employees in volunteering

What’s Allstate’s position for the future?

Allstate’s future looks great. The company posted record growth in the first quarter for 2019.
Even though Allstate’s market share has decreased slightly over the last few years, it still retains a large percentage of the market.

Currently, Allstate’s customer satisfaction ratings are acceptable, but they could be improved. Being known for fantastic customer service would help solidify Allstate’s position as a top insurance company in the future.

How’s working at Allstate like?

You can tell a lot about a company by the way it treats its employees. At Glassdoor , Allstate employees rank working at Allstate 3.4 out of five stars.

Out of all the reviews, 60 percent of the employees would recommend Allstate to a friend, and 72 percent approved of the CEO.

Why do we care what employees think of Allstate? Because an employee who enjoys working at Allstate and believes in the company’s purpose will do a better job of serving customers.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Has the company received any awards and accolades?

Allstate has received numerous awards and accolades, and we have included a few of the most recent below.

  • 2018 The Civic 50 (corporate responsibility award)
  • 2018 “Best-of-the-Best” Corporation for Inclusion from the National Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (NGLCC)
  • 2019 One of the World’s Most Ethical Companies from the Ethisphere Institute

Allstate has also received dozens of awards for the company’s inclusion of diversity, from awards for a military-friendly employer to awards for being a top company for women.

How to get cheap car insurance rates?

We partnered with Quadrant Data to bring you this information. Here are two things to keep in mind.
  • Many variables can affect what you pay. Your rate will differ from what is listed below
  • Allstate has discounts and options that may help offset the cost

Here’s how Allstate’s annual rates based on demographics compare to other top insurance carriers in the country. These averages are national, so where you live could affect your rates.

GroupMarried 35-year old femaleMarried 35-year old maleMarried 60-year old femaleMarried 60-year old maleSingle 17-year old femaleSingle 17-year old maleSingle 25-year old femaleSingle 25-year old male
Allstate$3,156.09$3,123.01$2,913.37$2,990.64$9,282.19$10,642.53$3,424.87$3,570.93
American Family$2,202.70$2,224.31$1,992.92$2,014.38$5,996.50$8,130.50$2,288.65$2,694.72
Farmers$2,556.98$2,557.75$2,336.80$2,448.39$8,521.97$9,144.04$2,946.80$3,041.44
Geico$2,302.89$2,312.38$2,240.60$2,283.45$5,653.55$6,278.96$2,378.89$2,262.87
Liberty Mutual$3,802.77$3,856.84$3,445.00$3,680.53$11,621.01$13,718.69$3,959.67$4,503.13
Nationwide$2,360.49$2,387.43$2,130.26$2,214.62$5,756.37$7,175.31$2,686.48$2,889.04
Progressive$2,296.90$2,175.27$1,991.49$2,048.63$8,689.95$9,625.49$2,697.73$2,758.66
State Farm$2,081.72$2,081.72$1,873.89$1,873.89$5,953.88$7,324.34$2,335.96$2,554.56
Travelers$2,178.66$2,199.51$2,051.98$2,074.41$9,307.32$12,850.91$2,325.25$2,491.21
USAA$1,551.43$1,540.32$1,449.85$1,448.98$4,807.54$5,385.61$1,988.52$2,126.14
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Allstate ranks consistently in the top three companies for cost when it comes to certain demographic rates. For example, if you have a teenage son, you can expect to pay over $10,000 a year for his car insurance. Of course, you can offset some of these rates based on certain discounts available to you and your current insurance needs.

Rates Compared to the Top 10 Companies by Market Share

In the table below, you’ll see how Allstate’s average annual premium for each state compare to that of other companies.

StateAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersUSAA
Alaska$3,145.31$4,153.07Data Not Available$2,879.96$5,295.55Data Not Available$3,062.85$2,228.12Data Not Available$2,454.21
Alabama$3,311.52Data Not Available$4,185.80$2,866.60$4,005.48$2,662.66$4,450.52$4,798.15$3,697.80$2,124.09
Arkansas$5,150.03Data Not Available$4,257.87$3,484.63Data Not Available$3,861.79$5,312.09$2,789.03$5,973.33$2,171.06
Arizona$4,904.10Data Not Available$5,000.08$2,264.71Data Not Available$3,496.08$3,577.50$4,756.25$3,084.74$3,084.29
California$4,532.96Data Not Available$4,998.78$2,885.65$3,034.42$4,653.19$2,849.67$4,202.28$3,349.54$2,693.87
Colorado$5,537.17$3,733.02$5,290.24$3,091.69$2,797.74$3,739.47$4,231.92$3,270.77Data Not Available$3,338.87
Connecticut$5,831.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,073.66$7,282.87$3,672.34$4,920.35$2,976.24$6,004.29$3,190.00
District of Columbia$6,468.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,692.81Data Not Available$4,848.98$4,970.26$4,074.05Data Not Available$2,580.44
Delaware$6,316.06Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,727.29$18,360.02$4,330.21$4,181.83$4,466.85$4,182.36$2,325.98
Florida$7,440.46Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,783.63$5,368.15$4,339.60$5,583.30$3,397.67Data Not Available$2,850.41
Georgia$4,210.70Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,977.20$10,053.44$6,484.90$4,499.22$3,384.88Data Not Available$3,157.46
Hawaii$2,173.49Data Not Available$4,763.82$3,358.86$3,189.55$2,551.83$2,177.93$1,040.28Data Not Available$1,189.35
Iowa$2,965.86$3,021.81$2,435.72$2,296.16$4,415.28$2,735.44$2,395.50$2,224.51$5,429.38$1,852.57
Idaho$4,088.76$3,728.79$3,168.28$2,770.68$2,301.51$3,032.19Data Not Available$1,867.96$3,226.29$1,877.61
Illinois$5,204.41$3,815.31$4,605.20$2,779.16$2,277.65$2,711.81$3,536.65$2,344.88$2,499.76$2,770.21
Indiana$3,978.81$3,679.68$3,437.55$2,261.07$5,781.35Data Not Available$3,898.00$2,408.94$3,393.75$1,630.86
Kansas$4,010.23$2,146.40$3,703.77$3,220.65$4,784.42$2,475.59$4,144.38$2,720.00$4,341.43$2,382.61
Kentucky$7,143.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,633.59$5,930.97$5,503.23$5,547.63$3,354.32$6,551.68$2,897.89
Louisiana$5,998.79Data Not AvailableData Not Available$6,154.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$7,471.10$4,579.12Data Not Available$4,353.12
Maine$3,675.59Data Not Available$2,770.15$2,823.05$4,331.39Data Not Available$3,643.59$2,198.68$2,252.97$1,930.79
Maryland$5,233.17Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,832.63$9,297.55$2,915.69$4,094.86$3,960.87Data Not Available$2,744.14
Massachusetts$2,708.53Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,510.17$4,339.35Data Not Available$3,835.11$1,361.86$3,537.94$1,458.99
Michigan$22,902.59Data Not Available$8,503.60$6,430.11$20,000.04$6,327.38$5,364.55$12,565.52$8,773.97$3,620.00
Minnesota$4,532.01$3,521.29$3,137.45$3,498.54$13,563.61$2,926.49Data Not Available$2,066.99Data Not Available$2,861.60
Missouri$4,096.15$3,286.90$4,312.19$2,885.33$4,518.67$2,265.35$3,419.14$2,692.91Data Not Available$2,525.78
Mississippi$4,942.11Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,087.21$4,455.94$2,756.53$4,308.85$2,980.48$3,729.32$2,056.13
Montana$4,672.10Data Not Available$3,907.55$3,602.35$1,326.11$3,478.26$4,330.76$2,417.74Data Not Available$2,031.89
North Carolina$7,190.43Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,936.69$2,182.71$2,848.03$2,382.61$3,078.65$3,132.66Data Not Available
North Dakota$4,669.31$3,812.40$3,092.49$2,668.24$12,852.83$2,560.35$3,623.06$2,560.53Data Not Available$2,006.80
Nebraska$3,198.83$2,215.13$3,997.29$3,837.49$6,241.52$2,603.94$3,758.01$2,438.71Data Not Available$2,330.78
New Hampshire$2,725.01Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,615.02$8,444.41$2,491.10$2,694.45$2,185.46Data Not Available$1,906.96
New Jersey$5,713.58Data Not Available$7,617.00$2,754.94$6,766.62Data Not Available$3,972.72$7,527.16$4,254.49Data Not Available
New Mexico$4,200.65Data Not Available$4,315.53$4,458.30Data Not Available$3,514.38$3,119.18$2,340.66Data Not Available$2,296.77
Nevada$5,371.62$5,441.18$5,595.56$3,662.09$6,201.55$3,477.14$4,062.57$5,796.34$5,360.41$3,069.07
New York$4,740.97Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,428.24$6,540.73$4,012.93$3,771.15$4,484.58$4,578.79$3,761.69
Ohio$3,197.22$1,515.17$3,423.01$1,867.19$4,429.74$3,300.89$3,436.96$2,507.88$3,135.16$1,478.46
Oklahoma$3,718.62Data Not Available$4,142.40$3,437.34$6,874.62Data Not Available$4,832.35$2,816.80Data Not Available$3,174.15
Oregon$4,765.95$3,527.28$3,753.52$3,220.12$4,334.55$3,176.83$3,629.13$2,731.48$2,892.19$2,587.15
Pennsylvania$3,984.12Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,605.22$6,055.20$2,800.37$4,451.00$2,744.23$7,842.47$1,793.37
Rhode Island$4,959.45Data Not AvailableData Not Available$5,602.63$6,184.12$4,409.63$5,231.09$2,406.51$6,909.45$4,323.98
South Carolina$3,903.43Data Not Available$4,691.85$3,178.01Data Not Available$3,625.49$4,573.08$3,071.34Data Not Available$3,424.77
South Dakota$4,723.72$4,047.47$3,768.80$2,940.29$7,515.99$2,737.66$3,752.81$2,306.23Data Not AvailableData Not Available
Tennessee$4,828.85Data Not Available$3,430.07$3,283.42$6,206.69$3,424.96$3,656.91$2,639.30$2,738.52$2,739.28
Texas$5,485.44$4,848.72Data Not Available$3,263.28Data Not Available$3,867.55$4,664.69$2,879.94Data Not Available$2,487.89
Utah$3,566.42$3,698.77$3,907.99$2,965.57$4,327.76$2,986.57$3,830.10$4,645.83Data Not Available$2,491.10
Virginia$3,386.80Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,061.53Data Not Available$2,073.00$2,498.58$2,268.95Data Not Available$1,858.38
Vermont$3,190.38Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,195.71$3,621.08$2,128.21$5,217.14$4,382.84Data Not Available$1,903.55
Washington$3,540.52$3,713.02$2,962.00$2,568.65$3,994.73$2,129.84$3,209.52$2,499.78Data Not Available$2,262.16
West Virginia$3,820.68Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,120.80$2,924.39Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,126.32Data Not Available$1,984.62
Wisconsin$4,854.41$1,513.27$3,777.49$3,926.20$6,758.85$5,224.99$3,128.91$2,387.53Data Not Available$2,975.74
Wyoming$4,373.93Data Not Available$3,069.35$3,496.56$1,989.36$3,187.20$4,401.17$2,303.55Data Not Available$2,779.53
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Rates Compared to State Average

If you’re considering purchasing Allstate car insurance, here’s how their rates stack up against the average rates in your state.

Use the table below to find out how Allstate does in your state.

StateAllstate Annual PremiumHigher/Lower Than State AveragePercent Higher/Lower Than State Average
Alaska$3,145.31-$276.21-8.07%
Alabama$3,311.52-$255.44-7.16%
Arkansas$5,150.03$1,025.0524.85%
Arizona$4,904.10$1,133.1330.05%
California$4,532.96$844.0322.88%
Colorado$5,537.17$1,660.7842.84%
Connecticut$5,831.60$1,212.6826.25%
District of Columbia$6,468.92$2,029.6845.72%
Delaware$6,316.06$329.745.51%
Florida$7,440.46$2,760.0058.97%
Georgia$4,210.70-$756.13-15.22%
Hawaii$2,173.49-$382.15-14.95%
Iowa$2,965.86-$15.42-0.52%
Idaho$4,088.76$1,109.6737.25%
Illinois$5,204.41$1,898.9357.45%
Indiana$3,978.81$563.8416.51%
Kansas$4,010.23$730.6122.28%
Kentucky$7,143.92$1,948.5237.50%
Louisiana$5,998.79$287.455.03%
Maine$3,675.59$722.3124.46%
Maryland$5,233.17$650.4714.19%
Massachusetts$2,708.53$29.681.11%
Michigan$22,902.59$12,403.95118.15%
Minnesota$4,532.01$128.762.92%
Missouri$4,096.15$767.2223.05%
Mississippi$4,942.11$1,277.5434.86%
Montana$4,672.10$1,451.2645.06%
North Carolina$7,190.43$3,797.32111.91%
North Dakota$4,669.31$503.4712.09%
Nebraska$3,198.83-$84.85-2.58%
New Hampshire$2,725.01-$426.77-13.54%
New Jersey$5,713.58$198.363.60%
New Mexico$4,200.65$737.0121.28%
Nevada$5,371.62$509.9210.49%
New York$4,740.97$451.0810.51%
Ohio$3,197.22$487.5117.99%
Oklahoma$3,718.62-$423.70-10.23%
Oregon$4,765.95$1,298.1837.44%
Pennsylvania$3,984.12-$50.38-1.25%
Rhode Island$4,959.45-$43.91-0.88%
South Carolina$3,903.43$122.293.23%
South Dakota$4,723.72$741.4518.62%
Tennessee$4,828.85$1,167.9631.90%
Texas$5,485.44$1,442.1635.67%
Utah$3,566.42-$45.47-1.26%
Virginia$3,386.80$1,028.9343.64%
Vermont$3,190.38-$43.75-1.35%
Washington$3,540.52$481.2015.73%
West Virginia$3,820.68$1,225.3247.21%
Wisconsin$4,854.41$1,248.3534.62%
Wyoming$4,373.93$1,173.8536.68%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Allstate is lower than average in 12 states, which essentially means you may pay more depending on your geographic location.

Rates by Make and Model

What vehicle you drive can also have an impact on your car insurance. Below, we show you what you can expect to pay for five specific models from Allstate and its competitors.

Make And ModelAllstateUSAAGeicoState FarmAmerican FamilyNationwideProgressiveFarmersTravelers
2015 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 foot bed and 2.7L V6
$4,429.74$2,551.56$3,092.11$3,204.23$3,447.30$3,571.01$3,914.05$4,093.50$4,023.47
2015 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$4,753.69$2,409.67$3,092.58$3,024.24$3,178.82$3,547.84$4,429.56$4,405.21$4,420.37
2015 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$4,324.99$2,454.58$3,090.89$3,226.02$3,326.18$3,517.03$3,647.22$3,728.22$4,383.78
2018 Ford F-150
Lariat SuperCab with 2WD 6.5 foot bed and 2.7L V6
$5,491.12$2,855.69$3,338.40$3,497.17$3,487.91$3,373.64$3,962.58$4,390.19$4,412.42
2018 Honda Civic Sedan
LX with 2.0L 4cyl and CVT
$5,380.28$2,422.66$3,338.87$3,189.99$3,721.32$3,361.93$4,528.90$4,779.51$4,661.22
2018 Toyota RAV4
XLE
$4,947.90$2,529.63$3,337.18$3,418.33$3,496.99$3,328.57$3,730.78$3,769.00$4,708.19
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Average Annual Premiums by Commute

If you drive more than 12,000 miles a year, you may also see your car insurance rates start to rise.

Group10 miles commute / 6,000 annual mileage25 miles commute / 12,000 annual mileage
Allstate$4,841.71$4,934.20
American Family$3,401.30$3,484.88
Farmers$4,179.32$4,209.22
Geico$3,162.64$3,267.37
Liberty Mutual$5,995.27$6,151.63
Nationwide$3,437.33$3,462.67
Progressive$4,030.02$4,041.01
State Farm$3,175.98$3,344.01
Travelers$4,399.85$4,469.96
USAA$2,482.69$2,591.91
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Allstate customers can expect to pay the second-highest rates when it comes to their commute. Other factors such as living in a rural or urban area could also contribute to the cost of your insurance.

Coverage Level Rates

You might think that having the lowest minimum coverage in your state is the best way to ensure you and your family are protected. But that’s not necessarily the case, because sometimes the difference in low to high coverage is less than you think.

Check out the table below to see the differences in coverage in your state.

CompanyHigh CoverageMedium CoverageLow Coverage
Allstate$5,139.02$4,896.81$4,628.03
American Family$3,416.40$3,544.37$3,368.49
Farmers$4,494.13$4,166.22$3,922.47
Geico$3,429.14$3,213.97$3,001.91
Liberty Mutual$6,356.04$6,058.57$5,805.75
Nationwide$3,505.37$3,449.80$3,394.83
Progressive$4,350.96$4,018.46$3,737.13
State Farm$3,454.80$3,269.80$3,055.40
Travelers$4,619.07$4,462.02$4,223.63
USAA$2,667.92$2,539.87$2,404.11
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Up next, we discuss how your credit score could affect what you pay for car insurance with Allstate.

Credit History Rates

Besides not being able to secure a car loan or a mortgage, poor credit can also have an impact on how much you pay for car insurance. The table below reflects what you’ll pay for car insurance if you have good, fair, or poor credit. Of course, these are estimates, and your rates may be different based on your situation.

CompanyGoodFairPoor
Allstate$3,859.66$4,581.16$6,490.65
American Family$2,691.74$3,169.53$4,467.98
Farmers$3,677.12$3,899.41$4,864.14
Geico$2,434.82$2,986.79$4,259.50
Liberty Mutual$4,388.18$5,604.24$8,802.22
Nationwide$2,925.94$3,254.83$4,083.29
Progressive$3,628.85$3,956.31$4,737.64
State Farm$2,174.26$2,853.00$4,951.20
Travelers$4,058.97$4,344.10$5,160.22
USAA$1,821.20$2,219.83$3,690.73
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The average credit score in the U.S. is 675. If your credit score is lower than this, you may face increased rates on car insurance. In some states, poor credit can raise your rates by thousands of dollars.

Driving Record Rates

If you get a speeding ticket, have an accident, or get a DUI, your rates with Allstate will increase in most states.

The table below shows rates with these three violations compared to the rate for a clean record.

CompanyClean recordWith 1 speeding violationWith 1 accidentWith 1 DUI
Allstate$3,819.90$4,483.51$4,987.68$6,260.73
American Family$2,693.61$3,025.74$3,722.75$4,330.24
Farmers$3,460.60$4,079.01$4,518.73$4,718.75
Geico$2,145.96$2,645.43$3,192.77$4,875.87
Liberty Mutual$4,774.30$5,701.26$6,204.78$7,613.48
Nationwide$2,746.18$3,113.68$3,396.95$4,543.20
Progressive$3,393.09$4,002.28$4,777.04$3,969.65
State Farm$2,821.18$3,186.01$3,396.01$3,636.80
Travelers$3,447.69$4,260.80$4,289.74$5,741.40
USAA$1,933.68$2,193.25$2,516.24$3,506.03
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

What type of coverage is offered by Allstate?

Allstate offers the same coverage as all of the other companies do, and in most cases, at a higher rate. Let’s take a look at standard insurance terms and go into detail about what they mean. Some companies advertise about coverage if a flying pig wrecks your car, but what is that actual coverage called?

Oink coverage? We know it can be confusing, so that’s why we’ve compiled a list of common coverages with a brief explanation. Different coverage types fall into four basic categories:

When you are at fault:

Liability coverage covers the physical damages you inflict upon another vehicle and the bodily injuries sustained by all individuals in the other vehicle

When you are not at fault:

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage covers your expenses if the at-fault driver has little or no liability coverage.

https://youtu.be/cSEQmmlPMuQ

Vehicle Protection:

  • Collision Coverage – covers your vehicle repairs or replacement after an accident
  • Comprehensive Coverage – includes what most would consider “out of our control” such as storm damage, hitting an animal, and more
  • Emergency Road Service – covers standard roadside services like tire changes, jump starts, and lockout services
  • Rental Reimbursement Coverage – includes a rental car while yours is getting repaired for a covered loss
  • Mechanical Breakdown Coverage – covers parts and systems failure of your vehicle that is not caused by normal wear and tear or improper maintenance

Personal Protection:

  • Medical Payments Coverage – covers medical expenses of those in your vehicle
  • Personal Injury Protection – covers costs incurred from injuries to yourself or others in the vehicle, lost wages and funeral expenses no matter who is at fault
  • Umbrella Policy – extends your liability coverage to a much higher limit which blankets over multiple policies such as home and auto as well as others

Allstate’s extensive list of auto insurance coverages means you can tailor a car insurance plan to meet your needs.

Additional Car Insurance Options

In addition to the numerous car insurance options we’ve already covered, Allstate offers the following add-on insurance options.

  • Classic Car Insurance — Custom-tailored insurance for your classic car.
  • Ride-Sharing Coverage — If you want to be a rideshare driver, then you’ll need ridesharing insurance.
  • Mexico Tourist Auto Insurance — Planning a trip to Mexico? Allstate offers a car insurance policy that helps cover drivers in Mexico (policy matches length of stay for up to a year).
  • Rental Reimbursement — Pays for the cost of a rental car while yours is in the repair shop due to a covered loss
  • Roadside Assistance — Pays for the cost of most common roadside services (such as tire changes).
  • Property Protection — Covers the cost of damages that you accidentally caused to someone else’s property.
  • Sound System Coverage — Can’t live without music in your car? This coverage covers the cost of replacing stolen/damaged sound systems in your vehicle.
  • Drivewise® — Allstate has a usage-based program that runs on an app (Drivewise®) and creates a policy discount.
  • Milewise® — Usage-based program that charges premiums based on the actual miles driven each month.

These additional coverages and options are perfect if you want a little extra coverage on your policy. For example, classic car insurance is essential because even if your classic car never leaves your garage, you’ll need coverage on it.

The good news is that classic car insurance is generally cheaper than regular car insurance because classic cars aren’t driven as much.

The other add-on policies on the list are similar to classic car insurance they give you needed protection at a reasonable cost.

Where is Allstate available?

Allstate is available in all 50 states, so, no matter where you live, you’re in good hands. However, keep in mind that you must notify Allstate when you change geographic locations so that they can adjust your rates accordingly.

What auto insurance discounts are offered?

We’ve already learned that Allstate’s basic rate is more expensive than other insurance companies, which is why we want to look at Allstate’s discounts.

Discounts can help bring costs down, making car insurance more affordable. Below is a list of Allstate’s discounts.

Allstate Car Insurance Discounts
Allstate Discounts ListPercentage Saved
Anti-lock Brakes10%
Anti-Theft10%
Claim Free35%
Daytime Running Lights2%
Defensive Driver10%
Distant Student35%
Driver's Ed10%
Driving Device/App20%
Early Signing10%
Electronic Stability Control2%
Farm Vehicle10%
Full Payment10%
Good Student20%
Green Vehicle10%
Multiple Policies10%
Newer Vehicle30%
On Time Payments5%
Paperless Documents10%
Paperless/Auto Billing5%
Passive Restraint30%
Safe Driver45%
Senior Driver10%
Utility Vehicle15%
Vehicle Recovery10%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

While Allstate is more expensive than other providers, it also offers a lot of discounts. If you’re a safe driver, getting Allstate’s driving app that monitors driving habits could save you money on your premiums each month.

When considering Allstate, be sure to discuss all of these discount options with your agent to see if any of them apply to you.

What stands out at Allstate?

So what makes Allstate stand out from other insurance companies? Allstate’s rates are higher than its competitors, but its plethora of discounts available to its customers could reduce rates to a more manageable level.

Allstate also has programs that can save you money, such as Allstate’s driving apps. Allstate also has an accident forgiveness policy.

https://youtu.be/nnGWqyAYDYY

What’s missing at Allstate?

We know that Allstate offers a lot of discounts, but the company is notably missing a significant discount that most other providers give.

Allstate doesn’t have a discount for military personnel, an option that is available at most providers.

If you are military personnel, USAA generally offers the best affordable rates and discounts. This doesn’t mean you still can’t get a good deal at Allstate. If you utilize multiple discounts and programs, you can reduce Allstate premiums significantly.

How to cancel your auto insurance policy?

Over time, there may be occasions when you may need to cancel or adjust your insurance policy with Allstate. Here are four examples which may apply to you:

  • Selling a car and not replacing it
  • Storing a classic or antique car
  • A teen is heading to college and will no longer be driving the car
  • A car has been paid off and no longer requires comprehensive cover

But what if you want to cancel your policy for other reasons such as customer dissatisfaction, rates that are too high, or you’re moving geographic locations?

Here’s what you need to know:

How to Cancel

You’ll need to pick up the phone and call your local agent if you want to cancel your policy. Allstate’s website does allow you to modify or change some policies but doesn’t allow for canceling a policy.

Is There a Cancellation Fee?

Allstate doesn’t generally charge a cancellation fee, but could if state law allows it. The company will also prorate any unused portion of your paid premium and refund you the difference.

When can I cancel?

Don’t cancel your policy until you’ve secure representation with another company. Even a one day lapse in coverage can cause unwanted headaches and possible fines in some states. The cancellation will go into effect at midnight the following day after your policy expires or whatever day you have chosen to end the policy.

How to make a claim?

Uh, oh. You’ve been in an accident and need to file a claim. How does that work?

Is making a claim easy?

Well, Allstate makes it easy with these simple steps:

  • Online through the Allstate website
  • Via the Allstate mobile app
  • Calling the 24/7 claims phone number at  1-800-ALLSTATE
  • Find an agent locally to get help with your claim.

Allstate also offers a Claim Satisfaction Guarantee., which makes sure the claim process is to your satisfaction.

If you feel a claim wasn’t handled properly, you can send a letter with your complaint within 180 days of the accident. If your complaint meets the Claim Satisfaction Guarantee, Allstate will refund you six months of your policy premium. This guarantee isn’t available in all states.

Now, that we’ve shown you how to file a claim, let’s look at how Allstate pays out claims to its customers. Loss ratios can give us some insight into the answer to that question.

What’s the number of written premiums and loss ratio?

The information below comes from NAIC and shows the premiums written by Allstate compared to its loss ratio over four years.

Private Passenger Auto2015201620172018
Premiums written$20.1 billion$20.8 billion$21.4 billion$22.6 billion
Loss Ratio65.22 %64.75%59.51%56%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The company has shown consistent growth over the lookback period, which means it’s attracting more customers. The loss ratio, though, has declined slightly.

What exactly is a loss ratio?

The decrease in Allstate’s loss ratio could mean that the company is paying out fewer claims, or it could mean that in those years Allstate’s customers were in fewer accidents.

Nevertheless, Allstate is a financially stable company, meaning that if you have a valid claim, the company will be able to pay it.

How to Get a Quote Online

Maybe you don’t want to let your fingers do the walking and speak with an agent by phone. No problem. Up next, we’re going to show you how to get a quote online in simple, easy to follow steps.

Step #1 – Find Quote Box and Enter your zip code

The first thing you’ll need to do is go to Allstate’s website and click on the auto insurance quote option.

Next, you will see a page that requests your zip code and offers an option to add bundled policies to your quote. Remember, bundling policies can help you earn a discount.

Allstate online quote step 1

Step #2 – Enter Your Basic Info

From there, you will proceed to pages that request basic personal information, such as your name, birth date, address, and email address.

Allstate online quotes step 2

Step #3 – Enter Additional Info

Other information you will have to provide includes the following:

  • Vehicle Information (how it’s used, how old it is, safety devices, etc.)
  • Job Information (occupation, length of time at that career)
  • Driving History (accidents and violations)
  • Coverage Level (chose what level of coverage you want)

Step #4 – Add Vehicles

allstate quotes step 4

Step #5 – Enter Your Phone Number

The final step is entering your phone number and permitting an agent to call you. If you don’t, you can’t continue with the quote process.

This process allows you to speak directly to an agent, who can answer any questions or concerns you have about your quote and whether you missed anything when filling in your information.

Step #6 – Your Quote is Saved

Your quote is also saved in Allstate’s database so that you can access it at any time.

As a reminder, below is the personal information Allstate requires for a quote.

InformationRequired
Basic Information: Birth-date, Address, etc.Yes
Driver's LicenseNo
Email AddressYes
Phone NumberYes
Social Security NumberNo
Vehicle Identification NumberNo
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

To get as accurate a quote as possible, be sure to fill out all required information about your vehicle and driving record.

How does the design of website/app look like?

While other insurance company websites and apps may be difficult to navigate, Allstate’s is relatively simple and easy to use. On the website, it is easy to find whatever information you’re searching for. Just click and go.

Allstate website easy to use

You will see four different dropdown options on the top of the page.

  1. Get a Quote — Allows you to select the type of insurance you want a quote for, from condo insurance to auto insurance.
  2. Insurance and More — Shows what types of insurance Allstate offers.
  3. Claims — Provides everything from an overview of claims to claims tracking.
  4. Tools and Resources — Articles explaining insurance coverages and basic insurance questions.

The format of the website is similar on tablets and phones, though it will be different on Allstate’s app. If you can’t find an answer to your question on the website, Allstate also has a Youtube channel that offers solutions to common questions.

Allstate® Mobile App

Allstate’s mobile app has 4.8 out of five stars in the app store from over 256,000 reviews. For people that are always on their phones and other devices, the Allstate app makes it easier to access their policy information wherever their location.

Allstate app store screenshots

Some of the common complaints in the review section were about bugs with the Drivewise® section of the app, such as the app deactivating the program when closed.

Here’s a quick video about Drivewise® and how it may be beneficial for your situation.

https://youtu.be/W1zpEsgzYIU

Other App Features

Have you been in an accident? Allstate has an option called QuikFoto Claim where you can snap a picture of the damage and start the claims process.

According to Allstate’s website, here are other convenient options available on the app:

  • Instant Agent Access
    Instantly contact your agent through the app. Plus, store agent and auto policy information to Passbook for quick and easy access
  • Digital ID Cards
    Access proof of insurance without having to reach for the glove box or sift through papers.
  • Policy Documents
    View your policy documents and agent information on the spot, and even email it directly from the app, whenever you need it.
  • Manage Claims
    Start a claim and track any changes or updates. Plus, you can use the Accident Toolkit to follow the step-by-step checklist immediately following a collision.
  • Roadside Assistance
    Have a flat? Car break down? Every minute counts when you’re stranded on the road. Know who’s coming and when with our 24/7 Roadside Network. Our On-Demand service is accessible to any driver, any car, any time.
  • Escape Route
    Use augmented reality to create paths to safety in the event of a fire.
  • Preference Management
    Easily manage your contact information and communication preferences. Choose from email and push notifications for billing/payment, policy communications, and more.
  • Helpful Extras
    Additional features like Allstate’s Car Buying Service, Parking Reminder and Gas Finder make navigating each day a little easier.

What are the pros and cons?

Now that we have covered everything you need to know about Allstate, let’s check out the biggest takeaways in terms of pros and cons.

ProsCons
Strong financial stabilityMore expensive than other providers
Offers multiple discounts/programs to save moneyDoesn't have a military discount
First accident forgivenessQuotes not completely online (have to call to receive quote)
Multiple coverage optionsCustomer satisfaction ratings could be higher
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

What’s the bottom line?

We’ve shown you everything you need to know about Allstate, so you can decide for yourself whether Allstate is right for you. With Allstate, you may be in good hands, but you certainly don’t want to pay too much by being so.

One thing to consider is that everyone’s needs are different, and rates can vary significantly based on individual factors.

As thorough as this guide is, we still strongly suggest that you shop around with your personal details and specific vehicle information before you choose an auto insurance provider.

Get quotes today to find out how much you could save on car insurance. Get started by simply entering your zip code in our FREE comparison tool.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

If you still have questions, don’t fear. We are going to go through some of the most common questions people ask about Allstate.

Will using Drivewise® increase my auto insurance rates?

Since Drivewise® monitors your driving habits, some people think that bad driving habits will add to their policy’s costs.

The good news is that Drivewise® only lowers your costs Allstate doesn’t add more costs for bad driving habits.

While you may not receive a discount for that month you slammed on the brakes one too many times, costs won’t be added on.

What is Milewise®, and does it work?

Milewise® is a usage-based program. It is perfect for people who don’t drive that much (such as people who work from home). You’ll have to download the Milewise® app or get a Milewise® device.

You’ll then pay a daily rate and then a per-mile rate, which is lower than the usual premiums.

Does Allstate cover damages from fires or floods?

Allstate doesn’t cover car damages from natural disasters UNLESS you have comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive coverage will cover losses from natural disasters, animal collisions, and theft/vandalism.

Can I switch Allstate agents?

Absolutely. If you like Allstate but not your agent, you can easily switch to a different agent without it affecting your rates.

You can research agents through Allstate’s homepage to find a new agent near you. This is useful if you like meeting in person with an agent to discuss your policy (rather than over a phone).

Allstate will help guide you through the process, which is basically signing a form so that your information can be switched over to your new agent.

Does Allstate car insurance cover rental cars?

It is best to call an agent and ask directly, as not all Allstate policies cover rental insurance.

If your policy does cover rental cars, you should be aware that Allstate generally doesn’t cover rental cars outside of the U.S.

Now that you’ve made it through our extensive review of Allstate, you are prepared to decide of if Allstate is the right company for you.

Enter your zip code below to start comparison shopping today.

Reviews
for Allstate

4.00 (11,408 reviews)
1
February 15, 2022

brenda_trammell

RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS!!!

worse insurance EVER !!! STAY AWAY !!!and i have had a few RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS MY PAYMENT FOR THE MONTH WAS A 100.00 MORE AND 1ST CS PERSON TRY TO TELL ME OVER SOME PAPER WORK THAT I GOT AND DIDNT SIGN, NEVER HAPPEN!! AND THE STUPID LADY I TALK TO NEXT TOLD ME IT WENT UP FOR TALKING IT OFF OF AUTO PAY WTH [REDACTED]
1
February 11, 2022

Akiraw1_

The worst insurance ever

Absolutely the worst insurance company ever complete liars scammers and they charge a ridiculous price….Liberty mutual is the best route if you ask me
1
January 6, 2022

pirish101

Way overpriced! Will scam you if you cancel!

After shopping around I found a policy that was 1/3 the cost (Literally 1/3 the cost) and cancelled. After canceling I was charged 30% of the yearly fee after only having insurance for 13 days. Total scam hidden in the fine print.
1
January 2, 2022

Carolyn0022

Untrained and Ignorant CS Team and Managers

All the customer service reps and their managers are ignorant. They will have me scenarios on how they are not liable for the damages. I called many times and talked with many people there. All are stupid and unhelpful!! Stay away
1
December 17, 2021

Allstate_Sucks_in_CA

Allstate SUCKS

Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has...
Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has to look at it. Funny, Allstate knows how to cash my check every month. Too many insurance companies out there to pay for crap experiences like this, go someplace else.
3
August 9, 2021

Shaytys50_

Unprofessional Agent

My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was t...
My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was treated by the one Agent! She has know customer service skills. Her name is [REDACTED NAME].
2
July 6, 2021

rickcf

Need to watch them and Drivewise is a scam.

In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the pho...
In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the phone app. But in the past year+ the phone app now hangs and crashes so you can't even do anything with it, worthless. My drivewise 'rewards' is very low if anything at all and our car rates are going up. We will be looking at other insurance again. We had allstate 15 years ago and dropped them because they raised the rates slowly over the competition and I will check to see if they are doing it again.
1
July 2, 2021

FedUpandInformed

Bizarre "Corporate/Underwriter Policies"

About two years ago we had Allstate try to auto add someone to our automobile policy. This was someone we didn't even know, and despite whatever Texas database they pulled the information from this individual did not live with us. Allstate put the burden of proof and getting it so this person would not be added on us, which is ridiculous. The hoops we had to jump through were insane, and at a very difficult time for our family. It is bad, mon...
About two years ago we had Allstate try to auto add someone to our automobile policy. This was someone we didn't even know, and despite whatever Texas database they pulled the information from this individual did not live with us. Allstate put the burden of proof and getting it so this person would not be added on us, which is ridiculous. The hoops we had to jump through were insane, and at a very difficult time for our family. It is bad, money grabbing corporate policies that were cited that were used to attempt to justify this. Who I have on my insurance and who I am paying for or not paying for is my business and my business alone, not Allstate's. Now, today, I receive an email notification that Allstate was going to add my 16 year old child to my insurance. A child that has a learner's permit and not a actual provisional or regular license. I call up the number I was given and some dubious line that smacked of "corporate policy" and underwriters policy was fed to me. They claimed that in the state of Texas, after 6 months of having a Learner's License that Texas considered them licensed, which is utter nonsense. No to mention the fact that this was suddenly dumped on us not six months later, but a couple months away from it being TWO YEARS since she got her Learner's License. This on top of the fact that before she received her Learner's License I spoke to Allstate representatives on what their policy was and was assured that as long as she had a Learner's License and was not an actual Licensed Driver that she was covered under our policy and did not need to be added in full since she couldn't drive on her own. Furthermore, Allstate has not updated their position on this policy online and I therefore find it highly suspect that our agent's office is doing this at this moment. If this is in fact not Allstate's position I would like to suggest they reign in their local agents because after these two issues, issues I have not had with any other insurance company we are now taking our business elsewhere. After having shopped around for additional quotes no other major insurance carrier that I spoke to has the requirement of fully adding our child, with her Learner's License to our insurance policy, and no misinformation concerning some fabricated "six month" limit. For the icing on the cake they could not forward any documentation to us concerning this supposed underwriting policy as it was something they didn't give out and was only for use "in house". Again, if this is not actually Allstate's position I want to make this company aware that some of their agents are pushing these underhanded practices and "corporate policies", perhaps for a chance to increase premiums. Her full addition would have nearly doubled our auto insurance. If it was an attempted money grab it has most certainly backfired as we are now leaving Allstate, will never return to Allstate, and will warn our friends and family, especially those that are facing new learning drivers of our issues and problems with Allstate as a cautionary tale. We should have left with the first instance of over reach. I did not sign up to have a corporation dictate to me. Had the first not happened we would still be leaving because of the second instance. My word to any and all, when it comes to Allstate caveat emptor (buyer beware)!
1
June 17, 2021

tofushiz

All in doodoo hands

I barely had this auto insurance for A WEEK. (Got it 6/14/21 and it is now 6/17/21) And had to talk to 6+ different agents to fix my LAST NAME. When it was finally fixed, they tried charging me for renters. WHEN THE AGENT SAID AUTO AND RENTERS HAVE TO BE TOGETHER TO GET THE FULL DISCOUNT. That’s why I went ahead and didn’t remove my renters. ALL IN GOOD HANDS??? MORE LIKE ALL IN [REDACTED WORD] DOODOO HANDS.
3
January 31, 2021

javier_jones

so far so good

so far so good. i mean, insurance is insurance but at least they aren't pests. and they gave money back during covid because no one was driving.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption