DUI Insurance Laws for Massachusetts

Drunk drivers in MA can face up to five years in jail, up to $50,000 in fines, and three years of SR-22 requirements, as well as indefinite license suspension.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

UPDATED: Jun 2, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Laura BerryReviewed By: Joel OhmanUPDATED: Jun 2, 2022Fact Checked

Here's what you should know...

  • In Massachusetts, a DUI is also referred to as an OUI (Operating Under the Influence) or DWI (Driving While Impaired).
  • A BAC (Blood Alcohol Level) of .08 for drivers over 21 years of age will merit a DUI.
  • DUIs can get you flagged as a high-risk driver with insurance companies, so shopping around for the best deals after a conviction is crucial for your budget.

If you are looking to compare Massachusetts car insurance quotes online, you first need to understand the different types of coverage and figure out the amount of coverage you will need. Every state has its own minimum coverage requirements.

Get FREE car insurance quotes for your area with our ZIP code search tool!

The following are the minimum coverage requirements for Massachusetts:

  • Bodily injury to others – $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident
  • Bodily injury caused by an uninsured auto – $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident
  • Damage to another person’s property – $5,000
  • Personal injury protection – $8,000 per person

Once you understand the types of coverage and the necessary minimums, you need to find out the insurance premium for each type of coverage.

Once you are educated about the coverage details and premiums associated with them, you will be better prepared to find the right automobile insurance for you. Get started today with our FREE quote comparison tool!

Massachusetts DUI Requirements and Laws

When it comes to driving under the influence in the United States, each state has different laws and potential penalties. Within the State of Massachusetts, a DUI can also be referred to as Operating Under the Influence (OUI) or Driving While Intoxicated/Driving While Impaired (DWI).

Like most states within the United States, the requirement for a DUI in Massachusetts is a blood alcohol concentration level greater than .08 if you are over 21 years of age.

Additionally, if have a blood alcohol concentration level greater than .02 and are under 21 years of age, it is considered a violation.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Massachusetts DUI Penalties

If convicted of a DUI, the following are the maximum penalties that can be administered:

First-Time Offense:

  • No more than two and a half years House of Correction
  • A fine of $500-$5,000
  • A license suspension of up to one year with the possibility of hardship in three months

After the first offense, the cost to renew your license is $500.

1st Offense Alternative:

  • A license suspension of 45-90 days
  • Probation of one year
  • Mandatory alcohol-drug class paid for by the person who was convicted
  • Possibility of being eligible for hardship immediately

3rd Offense:

  • In between 150 days and five years of jail time
  • A fine in between $1,000-$15,000
  • A license suspension of eight years with the possibility of hardship in two years
  • Your motor vehicle will be seized by the state

After the third offense, the cost to renew your license is $1,200.

Fourth-Time Offense:

  • In between two years and five years or jail time
  • A fine in between $2,000-$50,000
  • An indefinite license suspension with no possibility of hardship

On top of these charges, you will also be charged an additional one year license suspension if you have a child under the age of 14 in the car when you are convicted of driving under the influence.

Massachusetts DUI Statistics

The drunk driving arrest numbers below are provided by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

  • 1995 – 15,130
  • 1996 – 15,431
  • 1997 – 15,297
  • 1998 – 11,927
  • 1999 – 11,562
  • 2000 – 10,722
  • 2001 – 11,379
  • 2002 – 9,215
  • 2003 – 8,582
  • 2004 – 9,378
  • 2005 – 11,195
  • 2006 – 8,359
  • 2007 – 11,746
  • 2008 – 12,941
  • 2009 – 12,269

Deaths in accidents where one driver had a blood alcohol concentration level of .08% or greater:

The numbers below are provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

  • 1995 – 156
  • 1996 – 138
  • 1997 – 146
  • 1998 – 134
  • 1999 – 143
  • 2000 – 152
  • 2001 – 181
  • 2002 – 178
  • 2003 – 156
  • 2004 – 169
  • 2005 – 148
  • 2006 – 144
  • 2007 – 155
  • 2008 – 124
  • 2009 – 130

From 1999 to 2009 there was a decrease in alcohol-impaired driving fatalities per 100,000 people by 29.3%.

For addition Massachusetts drunk driving facts, read this PDF by the Center for Disease Control.

Massachusetts DUI Insurance Options

In most states, the SR-22 form is required by those who are convicted of a DUI. If you are convicted of a DUI, you will need to fill out this form to ensure that you have the proper insurance coverage according to your state laws.

Like most states, Massachusetts laws for car insurance require that you file this form for three years after you are convicted of a DUI.

Typically, Massachusetts auto insurance is much cheaper than the United States average. Unfortunately, in most cases, your insurance company will cancel your coverage after a DUI conviction.

If they don’t cancel your coverage, you will be placed in the high-risk category and your rates are sure to spike.

In order to find the best possible rate, you need to shop around and obtain quotes from different companies on each coverage combination. If you are educated on insurance coverage and premiums, you will be better suited to make a sound decision when selecting an insurance provider.

Get the best price on car insurance with our FREE quote comparison tool!

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption