DUI Insurance Laws in Minnesota

Minnesota DUI insurance laws require an SR-22 form to be added to your insurance after a DUI. Drivers may see increases by up to 40% after a DUI conviction.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

UPDATED: Jun 2, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Laura BerryReviewed By: Joel OhmanUPDATED: Jun 2, 2022Fact Checked

Here's what you need to know...

  • Minnesota rigorously punishes those convicted of a DUI
  • Ignition interlocking devices are required for repeat offenders
  • Reinstating your driver’s license after a DUI conviction in Minnesota is time consuming and costly

The state of Minnesota is well-known for rigorously punishing people caught driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and drugs. Car insurance companies in Minnesota will penalize you for having a DUI on your record

In other words, the state of Minnesota has strict DUI laws and penalties.

If you are convicted of DUI, you may have to serve a jail term for a period of 90 days up to seven years. Apart from this, you will also be penalized with a fine ranging from $1,000 to $14,000.

However, don’t let this deter you from visiting the state. While it’s true that a high-risk driver is going to see consequences from driving while intoxicated, if you’re going to be in Minnesota for any reason, as long as you practice safe driving habits you’ll be able to enjoy what the state has to offer.

Minnesota is a state located in the Midwestern part of the USA. The twelfth largest state, it is home to a population of more than 5.3 million people. It is also referred to as the land of 10,000 lakes.

Minnesota means “sky-tinted water” in the Dakota language. The state is well known for its tourism and recreational centers, as it has many lakes, forests, and parks.

DUI Chemical Testing in Minnesota

Reckless driving is taken very seriously in Minnesota. If an officer suspects you of driving under the influence of alcohol, you will be asked to consent a chemical test. When you are driving on any road in the state of Minnesota, you automatically provide consent to this chemical test.

If you refuse to undergo the chemical test, even if you’re not over the legal limits, you will not be able to drive for one year in the state of Minnesota, as your license will be suspended for that period of time. This may end up on your driving record, and any expenses that occur because of your refusal will have to come out of your pocket. This includes reinstatement, SR-22 filing, and any payments made to car services.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What happens each time a driver gets a DUI in Minnesota?

You can be penalized for DUI in Minnesota if your blood alcohol content level (BAC) is found to be higher than 0.08 percent. Persons found with BAC levels of 0.16  percent and higher will be punished with a higher sentence.

While driving a commercial vehicle, the maximum permissible BAC limit is 0.04 percent, but for young people below the age of 21, it is 0.02 percent.

First DUI

In Minnesota, if you are arrested for the first time while driving under the influence of alcohol, your driving license will be suspended for not more than 90 days. This is referred to as administrative license suspension.

Under this rule, the drunken driver’s license will be confiscated before conviction, provided the driver fails or refuses the chemical test for alcohol and drugs. The first time offender is also penalized with a fine of $1,000 and will be sentenced to 90 days of imprisonment.

Second DUI

If you are caught with DUI for the second time within ten years of your first conviction, your driving license will be automatically suspended for six months. Apart from this, you may be sentenced to jail time up to 12 months.

You will also be asked to pay a fine of $3,000.

Third DUI

Third-time offenders in the state of Minnesota will be asked to undergo compulsory alcohol or drug rehabilitation program. They will have to spend a minimum of one year in jail and pay a fine of $3,000.

Their driving license will stand suspended for one year. The DUI offenders also stand to lose their vehicle and license plates.

Fourth DUI

If you are a fourth-time offender in the state of Minnesota, then your DUI crime is considered a felony.

You will be sentenced to seven years of imprisonment and charged with a fine amounting to $14,000.

Your driving license will be suspended for a period of four years.

What is an ignition interlocking device and does Minnesota require it to be utilized?

According to a new law in the state of Minnesota, if you have been convicted of DUI, you need to install the ignition interlocking device in your vehicle (IID).

Persons who do not install this IID cannot claim their restricted driving privileges and will not have any driving rights permitting them to drive in the state of Minnesota.

Depending on your DUI offense, the no-driving imposition will be applicable for a period extending from one to six years.

How can a driver reinstate their license in Minnesota?

You have to follow a procedure to reinstate your suspended driving license after you have served the term for DUI.

Failure to fulfill these requirements can lead to increased fines and penalties.

For reinstating your suspended driving license, you will have to pass a written test that has questions related to DUI. Please refer to the Minnesota Driver’s Manual before appearing for this test, as the questions are based on the material provided in this manual.

Thereafter, you have to pay a reinstatement fee of $680.00, regardless of being a first, second, third, or serial offender. After that, you must fill out an application form for reinstating your driving license. The application form costs about $18.50.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What DUI law did Minnesota pass in 2010?

In the year 2010, a new DUI law was introduced in the state of Minnesota wherein the motorists are provided with an option of driving their vehicles following their arrest for driving under the influence of alcohol.

In this case, however, it is mandatory to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. It measures the Blood Alcohol Content of the vehicle’s driver.

If the driver reports of BAC value < 0.02 percent, the vehicle can be started by the drunk driver.

The device also needs intermittent blood samples in order to continue driving the vehicle.

A vehicle owner has to shell out $300 to install this interlock system in the vehicle. Apart from this, the maintenance and operation costs amount to about $100 every month.

In the state of Minnesota, it is believed that only 20 percent of drivers will be able to pay for this expensive device.

What were Minnesota’s DUI fatalities in 2008?

In the year 2008, the state of Minnesota reported 126 fatal accidents wherein at least one driver was detected with a BAC level exceeding the limit of 0.08 percent.

Due to the drunken stupor of the drivers, 135 people were killed in the state of Minnesota in different accidents.

When you include the drivers, in total, 161 deaths occurred in the state of Minnesota due to drunk drivers in 2008.

Can drivers with a DUI obtain car insurance in Minnesota?

You need to know that there are car insurance companies in Minnesota that provide high-risk car insurance to people convicted of DUI.

Many people are aware of the penalties associated with DUI in terms of jail, license suspension, and fine.

However, few are aware of the fact that DUI can make it difficult for you to get affordable car insurance for your vehicle.

Many companies either increase their premium rates of such drivers to unaffordable amounts or may even cancel their insurance policy. Many vehicle insurance companies keep a tab on driving offenses.

So, if you are convicted of a DUI, you will be included in their list of high-risk customers. This will automatically lead to higher premiums or cancellation of your auto insurance.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Do drivers with a DUI need an SR-22 in Minnesota?

Minnesota and many other states have made it mandatory for people convicted of DUI to have DUI auto insurance.

In legal terms, it is known as SR-22. This insurance certificate declares that you have appropriate coverage for all your vehicles, despite being convicted of DUI. It acts as proof of insurance, since that is still required in the state of Minnesota. All auto insurance companies do not offer an SR 22 to their clients.

If you are convicted of DUI, then you may have to face cancellation of your auto insurance policy in case your insurance company fails to issue SR-22 forms.

In this case, you have the options with DUI insurance laws. This is offered by some companies at a higher premium.

These companies have the authority to issue an SR-22. The insurance company will furnish this SR-22 to the DMV on your behalf. Failure to issue an SR-22 will lead to problems in court.

What you need to know is that an SR-22 is valid, provided the insurance company has the requisite license to do business in the state of Minnesota.

DUI Insurance Laws In Minnesota: Conclusion

DUI auto insurance procedures can be cumbersome. You can hire the services of an insurance agent who can help you in finding the best car insurance companies.

DUI auto insurance has become mandatory in the state of Minnesota. Which means if you have a DUI on your record, you’re going to need to find insurance providers who will be able to provide you with proper coverage, including an SR-22.

According to the laws in the state of Minnesota, any driver with a DUI and suspended license must maintain their SR-22 insurance for at least three years after getting back their driving license. This means that drivers may have to look into specialty companies who provide assistance to high-risk drivers.

Minnesota is a state that takes safe driving seriously, so it’s wise to avoid drunk driving if you want to avoid an increase in insurance costs, as well as other expenses that may crop up because of a DUI.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption