Mississippi DUI Laws

Mississippi DUI laws require an SR-22 form to be added to your insurance after a DUI. According to MS DUI laws, a DUI conviction stays on your driving record for 5 years. If you’re caught in Mississippi drinking and driving, your car insurance will cost about $367 a month. DUI first offense in Mississippi can also carry jail time and court-ordered driver’s education.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

UPDATED: Apr 3, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Laura BerryReviewed By: Joel OhmanUPDATED: Apr 3, 2022Fact Checked

Here's what you need to know...

  • Mississippi takes DUIs seriously, implementing an implied-consent law and zero-tolerance policy for underage driving
  • There are three convictions for drunk driving, each one more severe than the last one
  • DUI drivers are required to file an SR22 form for insurance in order to get their licenses back
  • Mississippi car insurance companies will notice if you’ve been convicted of a DUI and will adjust rates accordingly

The state of Mississippi DUI laws and penalties are strict in an attempt to deter drivers from getting behind the wheel when they are legally impaired.

Like every other state in the nation, Mississippi drinking and driving (DUI) is taken very seriously.

A DUI conviction can result in:

  • Jail or prison time
  • Monetary fines
  • Community service programs
  • Forfeiture of vehicle
  • Suspension of a driver’s license

Before a Mississippi DUI license suspension can be reinstated, the appropriate car insurance coverage must be obtained.

Acquiring SR22 automobile insurance after a license suspension can be costly. Drivers often do not know where to turn for this insurance.

Our website was created to allow drivers to obtain free online rate quotes from the best auto insurance companies. Read on to learn more about Mississippi DUI laws in 2020.

Looking for affordable Mississippi DUI car insurance? You can save by comparing Mississippi DUI car insurance rates. Enter your ZIP and compare car insurance quotes for SR22 insurance in Mississippi.

Definition of DUI in Mississippi

Driving under the influence of alcohol has been given the acronym, “DUI.”

Law enforcement agencies use a person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) to define intoxication and to set a legal limit. The blood alcohol content is the amount of alcohol found in an individual’s bloodstream.

What are Mississippi DUI requirements?

Every state in the union has now adopted the standard that most persons with a BAC of over .08 percent are considered under the law to be intoxicated.

Additionally, Mississippi has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drivers and a lower BAC limit has been established for those individuals. The CDC states that underage drinking accounts for around 3,500 deaths each year. Mississippi DUI laws for minors are therefore stricter.

Drivers in Mississippi who are under the age of 21 are considered intoxicated when their blood alcohol content is .02 percent or higher.

When driving a commercial vehicle, the legal limit is 0.04 percent or higher.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mississippi DUI Car Insurance Options

Before reinstating a driver’s license after suspension for driving under the influence, individuals will be required to file an SR22 form showing they have Mississippi car insurance.

An SR22 in Mississippi is a high-risk car insurance policy, also known as proof of financial responsibility.

This form proves to the state of Mississippi that the driver has at least the following minimum amounts of car insurance coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person in one accident
  • $50,000 total bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability

This insurance can be expensive. Since drivers are required to maintain this coverage for three years, it is important to find the least expensive policy available.

Many trusted insurance companies offer competitive rates for this coverage. There is no specific Mississippi DUI car insurance company or policy.

This table shows you the average annual rate of car insurance after a DUI in Mississippi.

Mississippi Average Annual Rates by Driving History
CompanyAverage Annual Rates with Clean RecordAverage Annual Rates with 1 DUI
Liberty Mutual$3,162.70$5,170.33
State Farm$2,707.79$2,949.82
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

With a clean driving record, car insurance in Mississippi averages $243 a month. One DUI will drive that rate up to about $367 a month. That’s an extra $124 a month. Adding more tickets or accidents will cause that rate to skyrocket.

How long does a DUI stay on your record in Mississippi? This SR22 car insurance coverage must be in effect for three years. Mississippi DUI car insurance rates will be higher during this time.

If the coverage is dropped or lapsed at any time, the insurance company is required by law to immediately report this to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety who will immediately suspend the driver’s license.

A new license will not be issued until a new SR22 has been filed.

Watch this video to see what a DUI costs in Mississippi.

Between fines, high car insurance rates, and possible jail time, a DUI in Mississippi just isn’t worth it.

Mississippi DUI Laws

MS DUI laws declare that it is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or an intoxicant with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or greater.

Drivers in Mississippi who display obvious signs of impairment and register a BAC reading of less than the legal limit may be considered intoxicated.

That determination may be made by the arresting officer with or without conducting a blood alcohol content test.

Mississippi is one of the states with an implied-consent law. This law states that any person receiving a driver’s license agrees to take a chemical test for alcohol when requested to do so.

Persons refusing such a test will receive an automatic 90-day license suspension for a first offense. A subsequent offense will warrant a one-year license suspension.

What are Mississippi DUI penalties?

What is the penalty for a DUI in Mississippi? Mississippi is very serious about keeping impaired drivers off the roads. The penalties for all DUI convictions are substantial. Below are how a person might be affected if they get a DUI.

DUI first offense in Mississippi carries stiff penalties.

For the first DUI conviction, the penalty may be:

  • 48 hours in jail
  • A monetary fine ranging from $250 to $1,000
  • A 90-day suspension of his or her driver’s license
  • Court-ordered driver education
  • Attendance at or participation in a victim’s panel

The penalties for a second offense are more severe.

For a second conviction, offenders are sentenced to:

  • Jail time for a period ranging from five days to one year
  • Fines may range as high as $1,500
  • Driver’s license will be suspended for one to two years
  • Sentenced to complete a ten-day mandatory community service program
  • Ignition interlocks may be installed
  • The driver’s vehicle may be impounded

At their discretion, judges may order offenders to receive alcohol education or to attend a victims’ panel.

For a third conviction, the drunk driver can expect to:

  • Serve one to five years in jail
  • Face fines ranging from $2,000 to $5,000
  • Lose their driver’s license for a period of five years
  • Be required to attend an alcohol treatment program
  • Have their vehicle confiscated
  • Have all their vehicles impounded in some cases

Drivers who cause an accident while under the influence are subject to special penalty enhancements.

Is a DUI in Mississippi a felony? Most DUI cases are handled as misdemeanors, but if a drunk driver is involved in an automobile accident, most prosecutors will charge that driver with a felony.

A felony conviction results in substantial prison time and monetary fines.

 What are the DUI statistics in Mississippi?

DUI car insurance statistics in the state are alarming. In 2009, there were:

  • 700 automobile-related fatalities in Mississippi
  • Of that number, 264 were alcohol-related
  • A driver who was legally intoxicated was involved in 234 of those fatal accidents
  • Under-aged impaired drivers accounted for 34 of those deaths
  • Across the state of Mississippi in that same year, there were 12,644 DUI arrests.

Each one of those arrests resulted in some form of punishment for the offender. In the vast majority of cases, drivers’ licenses were suspended for a period of time.

Our website allows individuals to search for rates from a number of reputable companies. Here, drivers can obtain free online rate quotes. Shopping around for the best price is always advisable.

Need to buy Missisippi DUI car insurance? Compare Mississippi DUI auto insurance with our free comparison tool below and find the best ways to save. Enter your ZIP to shop SR22 insurance quotes in Mississippi.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption