What is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Louisiana?

The penalty for driving without insurance in Louisiana is a fine of at least $100 on your first offense, $250 on a second offense, and up to $700 for further offenses.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

UPDATED: Jun 2, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Laura BerryReviewed By: Joel OhmanUPDATED: Jun 2, 2022Fact Checked

Here's what you need to know...

  • Louisiana drivers who fail to prove they carry insurance face fines, impoundment, and license/registration suspensions
  • A grace period exists in which drivers can show the OMV proof of insurance before penalties take effect
  • Comparison shopping for auto insurance improves the chances of acquiring excellent coverage

Car insurance protects drivers in Louisiana against the financial consequences of causing a collision. If you make an unsafe turn and crash into another person’s car, the injured party may file a claim against your liability policy.

An insurance settlement would replace a legal judgment requiring you to personally pay for medical bills, damages to the vehicle, and more.

No settlement can be made, however, when you allow your insurance policy to lapse. If your policy was dropped due to nonpayment or canceled for some other reason, request online quotes to find and purchase new coverage.

Enter your ZIP code above to start comparing quotes today!

Otherwise, you would be putting yourself at tremendous financial risk on the road while also violating Louisiana state law. The Louisiana State Police compile and publish data related to accidents in the state.

The number of crashes reaches thousands per year. Upon looking at the sobering accident statistics, it becomes clear why strict rules exist regarding carrying insurance in Louisiana.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Louisiana

A driver may find him/herself required to present proof of insurance to a police officer. The request might come after being stopped for a simple moving violation or in the aftermath of a major collision.

Regardless of the circumstances, the driver would be cited for failure to provide the requested proof. Upon conviction for driving without insurance, penalties follow.

First Offense

The fine for a first offense ranges from $500 to $1,000 depending on how the court rules in the case. When the driver was involved in a car accident, the additional penalties of a vehicle registration revocation and a 180-day driver’s license suspension are levied.

Be aware the law allows a police officer to impound a vehicle and remove its license plate when the driver has no proof of insurance.

Drivers must pay costs associated with the impoundment and reinstatement of any lost privileges.

Second Offense

With a second offense, a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000 must be paid. If there was an accident, the driver also faces a 180-day suspension of his driver’s license. Also, vehicle registration will be revoked.

Failure to show proof to a police officer may lead to the impoundment of the vehicle. After citing the driver, the officer will confiscate the license plates. Impoundment and reinstatement fees must be paid by the driver.

Not showing an officer proof of insurance is not the same thing as not owning a valid insurance policy. Some drivers misplace their proof of insurance document and cannot provide the information when requested.

In Louisiana, a driver has three days in which to present proof of insurance to the Office of Motor Vehicles. Failure to do so leads to the imposition of penalties.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What proof of insurance is accepted in Louisiana?

Keep proof of insurance documents inside a vehicle at all times.

The proof of insurance card mailed/emailed by an insurer presents all the necessary information about coverage:

  • the insured’s name
  • his/her address
  • the name of the insurance company
  • the policy number
  • information about the vehicle

Storing the printed card in the vehicle is easy, but it may be even easier to show a police officer electronic proof of insurance.

On August 1, 2012, Louisiana’s legislature made it legal for drivers to show electronic proof of insurance on a smartphone or other mobile or computer devices.

If the device fails to work properly, the driver can then turn to the paper document.

How to Get Insurance in Louisiana

With the internet, reviewing quotes and comparing policies takes little to no effort. Finding a great policy does include carefully reviewing all coverage options and weighing them against your own needs.

The state of Louisiana does specify certain minimum requirements must be met:

  • Bodily Injury per Person – $15,0000.
  • Total Bodily Injury per Accident – $30,000.
  • Property Damage – $25,000.

In addition to the mandatory coverage, a driver must be offered uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage of at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. The driver must also be afforded $1,000 in medical payments coverage.

No obligation exists for the driver to buy this coverage, but the insurance company is obligated to offer it.

The state-mandated minimum amounts of coverage are intended for those with limited assets. Car insurance customers should purchase enough insurance to cover their personal net worth and assets. Taking out $300,000 or more in liability coverage may be advisable for some.

Reviewing Quotes and Buying Auto Insurance in Louisiana

At least twice a year, it would not hurt to request new auto insurance quotes. Sticking with the same provider without ever looking at other options might not be the best way to protect yourself.

Stay in the market for new insurance policies in order to ensure you always have the best coverage. Enter your ZIP code below to begin comparison shopping today!

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption