Virginia Surety Car Insurance Review [2022]

Virginia Surety car insurance was founded in 1927 and is now part of the Warranty Group. Virginia Surety has A+ ratings for financial strength and customer service.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

UPDATED: Jun 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 175 West Jackson Boulevard 8th Floor
City: Chicago
State: IL
ZIP Code: 60604
Phone Number: 312-356-3000
Year Founded: 1927
AM Best Rating: A (Excellent)

Here's what you need to know...

  • Virginia Surety is a subsidiary of the Warranty Group
  • Virginia Surety is a property and casualty insurance group
  • Virginia Surety is also an insurance underwriter company

This Virginia Surety car insurance review is regarding Virginia Surety Company, Inc.

Virginia Surety was founded in 1927 in Virginia. Today they are a subsidiary of The Warranty Group.

The Warranty Group offers insurance products, lending services, business solutions and more.

They acquire other companies that specialize in the services that they want to offer so that their customers get expert care.

Enter your ZIP code for your FREE online car insurance quote!

Products and Services

Virginia Surety Company is a property and casualty insurance company. They offer insurance products including:

  • Car insurance
  • RV insurance
  • Consumer electrics insurance
  • Appliance insurance
  • Homeowners insurance
  • Commercial insurance options

Some of the products are warranties rather than traditional insurance policies.

Virginia Surety is also an insurance underwriter, which means they don’t have to go to outside sources to underwrite the policies that they write.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How do they rate?

Virginia Surety Company, Inc. has an AM Best rating of A-, which is an excellent rating. They have a positive long-term outlook; however, their financial rating isn’t expected to improve to an A or an A+ in the near future.

Over the past three years, Virginia Surety has received 353 complaints through the Better Business Bureau. Despite these complaints, this company has a BBB rating of A+.

The most common complaint filed against Virginal Surety is regarding their guarantees for products.

While Virginia Surety is a financially sound company, there doesn’t seem to be a focus on just insurance products.

However, they are very stable and worth at least getting a quote from to see how they compare with other car insurance companies.

Enter your ZIP code and get FREE car insurance quotes using our quote tool!

Reviews
for Virginia Farm Bureau

4.27 (61 reviews)
5
October 2, 2019

dare2badreamer74

Long term customer!

They are absolutely a great company! The best insurance company ever who put customers first. A+++++
5
August 18, 2019

SDHL

VA Farm Bureau is fair and honest.

This company offers good insurance at a good price. We have had two accidents in the past few years, one our fault and one someone else, and they have treated very well both times. We feel they are fair and honest. They process payment quickly. We would not consider changing companies.
5
January 9, 2019

ACPhillips

Farm Bureau is great!

Our agent at Farm Bureau is amazing. He is always looking at new ways we can save money and keeping us up to date on the changes happening in Farm Bureau. He looks out for our best interests and is 100% honest. We have changed our auto insurance recently because of the deals we have had through Farm Bureau. I highly recommend this insurance company.
5
December 21, 2018

Nanny

Good policy at reasonable rates

I purchased this policy 3 years ago after being greatly disappointed with the company I then had. The agent was helpful and listened to my needs. The process was quick and painless. Any time I've had a question or concern the agent has been readily available to speak with me. Last year, when it came time to renew the policy, my agent called me and informed me of a rate hike that he thought was too expensive. He recommended another company with m...
I purchased this policy 3 years ago after being greatly disappointed with the company I then had. The agent was helpful and listened to my needs. The process was quick and painless. Any time I've had a question or concern the agent has been readily available to speak with me. Last year, when it came time to renew the policy, my agent called me and informed me of a rate hike that he thought was too expensive. He recommended another company with more reasonable rates and sent me the policy to review. Thankfully, I have not needed to file a claim against this policy but am confident that if that day comes, I will get help and satisfaction.
4
August 21, 2018

Fordgal

Best Rates

So far we have found the VA Farm Bureau to have the best rates and to be a pretty decent company overall. We are fortunate as we have not had a claim with them yet, but don't foresee any problems if we do.
4
July 17, 2018

LuWalk88

Good but not always competitive

We had decent rates while with this company, but they were no longer competitive with other area agents and brokerages when it came to renewal time. The staff and agents were pleasant to deal with, but it simply came down to dollars and cents.
5
April 19, 2018

Raelynn42

VA Farm Bureau is great!

Love Virginia Farm Bureau . . . they treat you like family and they check up on me to make sure all my needs are met . . . claims department is top notch!
5
February 10, 2018

pharmgrl

farm bureau is helpful

Farm Bureau has been great to work with. They are always helpful with claims or concerns and also with billing questions and make sure we are always getting the best deal
4
February 7, 2018

cheftonya

Great insurance company

Great company to do business with because they are there when you need them. Friendly and personal staff to help with all your needs.
4
November 7, 2017

Purplesam

Insurance

They are always consistent...great rates & claims handling. Agent always quick to respond when needed.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption