Florida Car Insurance Regulations

Florida's car insurance requirements include liability insurance and personal injury protection for all drivers. Read on to learn how to get the right coverage to drive in Florida.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Laura BerryReviewed By: Joel OhmanUPDATED: Jun 14, 2022Fact Checked

Here's what you need to know...

  • Florida requires just $10,000 in property damage liability and $10,000 in personal injury protection
  • Taxi drivers and those with DUIs or other driving records are also required to purchase bodily injury liability insurance
  • You must maintain Florida insurance as long as your vehicle is registered there

If you need car insurance in Florida, ensure that you know Florida’s car insurance regulations to have the coverage you need while living in the Sunshine State. 

Florida’s auto insurance requirements are lower than many states, but car insurance rates tend to be higher due to many uninsured drivers. 

Florida Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

Florida’s car insurance laws require just two types of coverage for most drivers: 

You must show proof of minimum coverage before registering your vehicle in Florida. If you want to cancel your insurance coverage, first alert your state’s department of motor vehicles (DMV) and surrender your license plates. 

According to Florida car insurance law, some Florida drivers, like taxi drivers and those with DUI records, must comply with higher car insurance requirements. 

Liability Coverage in Florida

Florida requires drivers to carry property damage liability (PDL) insurance with a limit of $10,000. This type of insurance coverage pays for damages to another driver’s vehicle when you are at fault in an accident. 

Unlike many other states, Florida doesn’t require bodily injury liability coverage for most drivers. Instead, you’ll need personal injury protection (PIP) or no-fault insurance. 

You’ll need to purchase bodily injury liability insurance in Florida if you: 

  • Drive a taxi
  • Have a DUI conviction
  • Were deemed at fault in an accident that injured or killed someone

We’ll cover the minimum car insurance requirements for these drivers in a later section. 

No-Fault Insurance in Florida

Instead of bodily injury liability insurance, Florida requires PIP coverage, sometimes called no-fault insurance. Personal injury protection covers 80% of your medical expenses and loss of income, up to your policy limit, in the event of an accident. 

Florida is a no-fault state, which means your PIP insurance covers your medical expenses regardless of who caused an accident. 

In a no-fault state, you don’t have to wait for insurers to determine fault before getting your medical bills covered. Instead, your insurance covers you, no matter who’s at fault. 

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Other Florida Car Insurance Laws

Some Florida drivers have higher minimum car insurance requirements based on their work or driving record. 

Florida Car Insurance Requirements for Taxis

Taxi drivers must have bodily injury liability insurance of $125,000 per person and $250,000 per accident. In addition, if you drive a taxi, you’ll also need $50,000 of property damage liability coverage instead of the lower minimum for regular drivers. 

Under Florida car insurance law, taxis are different from rideshare services like Uber or Lyft. However, rideshare drivers do need additional auto insurance coverage. Rideshare drivers in Florida should check with their rideshare app to determine if they are covered by the company or need their own rideshare insurance policy

Florida Auto Insurance Requirements After a DUI or Accident

If you’re determined at fault in an accident that injures or kills someone in Florida, you must purchase $30,000 of bodily injury liability insurance. This coverage can be a lump sum per accident or split into per person and accident limits. 

If you’re convicted of a DUI, you’ll need to purchase bodily injury liability coverage of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident. You’ll also have to increase your property damage liability coverage. 

What happens if I don’t have minimum coverage?

If you don’t meet Florida’s minimum car insurance requirements, you’ll face penalties gradually increasing with each offense. Ultimately, you could face a $500 fine and a three-year license suspension for lacking Florida car insurance

How much does car insurance cost in Florida? 

You can expect to pay just over $100 per month for the required coverage in Florida, making it one of the most expensive states for car insurance.

Florida car insurance rates are high due to several factors, including significant tourist traffic, increased healthcare costs, and an uninsured driver rate far higher than the national average. To get the best rates, compare car insurance quotes in Florida. 

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Are Florida’s car insurance requirements adequate?

Florida’s car insurance laws require very basic protection with low payout limits for most drivers. Because of the extra risk factors associated with driving in Florida, it’s wise to buy additional coverage to protect yourself, your passengers, and your vehicle. 

You may want to consider these types of car insurance if you live in Florida: 

Get auto insurance quotes to compare these different types of coverage in Florida. 

Florida Car Insurance: The Bottom Line

Florida has low minimum car insurance requirements, with just $10,000 required for PIP coverage and another $10,000 required for property damage coverage. Some Florida drivers may have higher insurance requirements. But, even if you’re not required to purchase extra coverage, getting protection for accidents with uninsured motorists is a smart move. 

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption