Allstate Drivewise Program Review (2022)

The Allstate Drivewise program is a usage-based insurance program that can save you up to 40% on your rates. You'll receive an initial 10% discount for enrolling, and additional savings may be applied based on how well you drive. The Allstate Drivewise program tracks your driving habits (speed, location, braking, time of day, etc.) to determine how safely you drive, and your rates are adjusted accordingly. The safer you drive, the more you'll save, so hopefully this Allstate Drivewise program review will help you..

Free Car Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

UPDATED: Jun 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 2775 Sanders Road
City: Northbrook
State: IL
ZIP Code: 60062
Phone Number: 847-402-5000
Year Founded: 1931
AM Best Rating: A (Excellent)

When you’re looking for ways to save on your car insurance, one option is a usage-based car insurance program. These programs are a growing trend in the car insurance industry, allowing companies to tailor rates specifically to your driving habits. The more safely you drive, the better your rates.

One such usage-based program is Allstate Drivewise. So what is Allstate Drivewise, and how does it work? Can you get affordable Allstate Drivewise program car insurance? What are average Allstate Drivewise program car insurance rates? How are Allstate Drivewise program car insurance quotes generated?

Read this Allstate Drivewise program review to learn the basics so you can decide if Drivewise is right for you.

One of the best ways to save, whether you choose a usage-based insurance option like the Allstate Drivewise program or not, is to compare quotes from multiple car insurance companies. You can get started on comparison shopping by entering your ZIP code in the tool on this page to get your first free quote right now.

What is the Allstate Drivewise program, and how much can you save?

The Allstate Drivewise program is a usage-based discount program offered through Allstate Insurance. The company collects data on your driving habits using telematics technology with the Allstate app or a vehicle plug-in device. Allstate then uses your driving data to adjust your insurance rates, meaning you get a rate that reflects your driving habits more accurately.

Allstate offers a 10% discount on rates just for enrolling in the program, and, depending on your driving statistics, you can save up to a total of 40% on your rates. For drivers who remain enrolled in the program, rate adjustments at each policy renewal are based on the most up-to-date tracked data.

It’s important to note that Allstate Drivewise isn’t currently available in every state, so you’ll need to speak with Allstate to find out if it’s offered in your area.

Keep reading to learn what data is tracked, some of the pros and cons of Drivewise, and more.

What data does Allstate collect for the Drivewise program?

When you enroll in Drivewise, you’ve agreed that Allstate can monitor your driving habits through either the Drivewise app or the vehicle plug-in device. A variety of data is tracked, including:

  • Your location
  • The time of day you’re driving
  • Your average speed
  • Your braking habits, including whether and how often you engage in hard braking
  • Your acceleration habits
  • How frequently you dramatically change your speed
  • How many miles you drive in an hour

After the data is analyzed, Allstate uses the results to adjust your rates. So, for example, if you regularly brake hard, this could impact your next rate adjustment.

As you might expect, there are some privacy concerns related to all this tracked data. To combat this, the Insurance Information Institute reports that some states have enacted laws that require companies like Allstate to disclose precisely what data is collected, where it is stored, who it is shared with, etc.

What are the pros and cons of the Allstate Drivewise program?

Only you can decide if Allstate Drivewise is right for you, and reading an Allstate Drivewise review like this one can help you make that decision.

Some of the pros of the Allstate Drivewise program include getting rates based on your driving habits, getting a 10% discount just for signing up, and saving up to a total of 40% on your rates. If you’re a safe driver, it may be a good fit for you.

However, if you aren’t an exceptionally safe driver, spend a lot of time in traffic, drive a lot at night, etc., having your driving habits tracked may not get you the savings you’re looking for with Drivewise. In addition, as we noted earlier, there are some privacy concerns related to the data tracking, given the type and amount of data gathered by the app or plug-in device.

What is the difference between the Allstate Drivewise app and the plug-in device?

The Allstate app is the most commonly used method of tracking driving data because of its convenience. Currently, only New York and Arkansas drivers can use the Drivewise plug-in device (which plugs into your vehicle). The upside to the plug-in is that it only tracks your vehicle (rather than you), so there are fewer privacy concerns.

There isn’t a separate Allstate Drivewise app. Instead, the Allstate Insurance app includes a feature for Drivewise, which is enabled if you’ve enrolled in the program.

When you use the app, all you need to do is log in (your Allstate Drivewise login is the same as your Allstate app login because Drivewise is part of the company app).

To meet the requirements for the Drivewise program, you have to keep the app logged in and your location data enabled.

It tracks you wherever you go, regardless of whether or not you’re driving, but it automatically removes data that doesn’t apply (i.e., if you’re walking, flying in an airplane, aren’t in the driver’s seat, etc.). You can also manually go into the app and delete trips that aren’t relevant.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allstate Drivewise Program Review: The Bottom Line

The Allstate Drivewise program uses your driving data to adjust your rates. Data can be tracked using either the Allstate app or an Allstate Drivewise vehicle plug-in device. Safe drivers can save up to 40% with Drivewise, and any driver can save an initial 10% just for enrolling in the program.

You can buy Allstate Drivewise program car insurance through Allstate Insurance, and you can read our Allstate car insurance review for more information on the company as a whole.

Before you leave this Allstate Drivewise program review, why not use your ZIP code in our tool to get free quotes from insurance companies in your area and start comparison shopping today.

Reviews
for Allstate

4.00 (11,408 reviews)
1
February 15, 2022

brenda_trammell

RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS!!!

worse insurance EVER !!! STAY AWAY !!!and i have had a few RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS MY PAYMENT FOR THE MONTH WAS A 100.00 MORE AND 1ST CS PERSON TRY TO TELL ME OVER SOME PAPER WORK THAT I GOT AND DIDNT SIGN, NEVER HAPPEN!! AND THE STUPID LADY I TALK TO NEXT TOLD ME IT WENT UP FOR TALKING IT OFF OF AUTO PAY WTH [REDACTED]
1
February 11, 2022

Akiraw1_

The worst insurance ever

Absolutely the worst insurance company ever complete liars scammers and they charge a ridiculous price….Liberty mutual is the best route if you ask me
1
January 6, 2022

pirish101

Way overpriced! Will scam you if you cancel!

After shopping around I found a policy that was 1/3 the cost (Literally 1/3 the cost) and cancelled. After canceling I was charged 30% of the yearly fee after only having insurance for 13 days. Total scam hidden in the fine print.
1
January 2, 2022

Carolyn0022

Untrained and Ignorant CS Team and Managers

All the customer service reps and their managers are ignorant. They will have me scenarios on how they are not liable for the damages. I called many times and talked with many people there. All are stupid and unhelpful!! Stay away
1
December 17, 2021

Allstate_Sucks_in_CA

Allstate SUCKS

Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has...
Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has to look at it. Funny, Allstate knows how to cash my check every month. Too many insurance companies out there to pay for crap experiences like this, go someplace else.
3
August 9, 2021

Shaytys50_

Unprofessional Agent

My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was t...
My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was treated by the one Agent! She has know customer service skills. Her name is [REDACTED NAME].
2
July 6, 2021

rickcf

Need to watch them and Drivewise is a scam.

In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the pho...
In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the phone app. But in the past year+ the phone app now hangs and crashes so you can't even do anything with it, worthless. My drivewise 'rewards' is very low if anything at all and our car rates are going up. We will be looking at other insurance again. We had allstate 15 years ago and dropped them because they raised the rates slowly over the competition and I will check to see if they are doing it again.
1
July 2, 2021

FedUpandInformed

Bizarre "Corporate/Underwriter Policies"

About two years ago we had Allstate try to auto add someone to our automobile policy. This was someone we didn't even know, and despite whatever Texas database they pulled the information from this individual did not live with us. Allstate put the burden of proof and getting it so this person would not be added on us, which is ridiculous. The hoops we had to jump through were insane, and at a very difficult time for our family. It is bad, mon...
About two years ago we had Allstate try to auto add someone to our automobile policy. This was someone we didn't even know, and despite whatever Texas database they pulled the information from this individual did not live with us. Allstate put the burden of proof and getting it so this person would not be added on us, which is ridiculous. The hoops we had to jump through were insane, and at a very difficult time for our family. It is bad, money grabbing corporate policies that were cited that were used to attempt to justify this. Who I have on my insurance and who I am paying for or not paying for is my business and my business alone, not Allstate's. Now, today, I receive an email notification that Allstate was going to add my 16 year old child to my insurance. A child that has a learner's permit and not a actual provisional or regular license. I call up the number I was given and some dubious line that smacked of "corporate policy" and underwriters policy was fed to me. They claimed that in the state of Texas, after 6 months of having a Learner's License that Texas considered them licensed, which is utter nonsense. No to mention the fact that this was suddenly dumped on us not six months later, but a couple months away from it being TWO YEARS since she got her Learner's License. This on top of the fact that before she received her Learner's License I spoke to Allstate representatives on what their policy was and was assured that as long as she had a Learner's License and was not an actual Licensed Driver that she was covered under our policy and did not need to be added in full since she couldn't drive on her own. Furthermore, Allstate has not updated their position on this policy online and I therefore find it highly suspect that our agent's office is doing this at this moment. If this is in fact not Allstate's position I would like to suggest they reign in their local agents because after these two issues, issues I have not had with any other insurance company we are now taking our business elsewhere. After having shopped around for additional quotes no other major insurance carrier that I spoke to has the requirement of fully adding our child, with her Learner's License to our insurance policy, and no misinformation concerning some fabricated "six month" limit. For the icing on the cake they could not forward any documentation to us concerning this supposed underwriting policy as it was something they didn't give out and was only for use "in house". Again, if this is not actually Allstate's position I want to make this company aware that some of their agents are pushing these underhanded practices and "corporate policies", perhaps for a chance to increase premiums. Her full addition would have nearly doubled our auto insurance. If it was an attempted money grab it has most certainly backfired as we are now leaving Allstate, will never return to Allstate, and will warn our friends and family, especially those that are facing new learning drivers of our issues and problems with Allstate as a cautionary tale. We should have left with the first instance of over reach. I did not sign up to have a corporation dictate to me. Had the first not happened we would still be leaving because of the second instance. My word to any and all, when it comes to Allstate caveat emptor (buyer beware)!
1
June 17, 2021

tofushiz

All in doodoo hands

I barely had this auto insurance for A WEEK. (Got it 6/14/21 and it is now 6/17/21) And had to talk to 6+ different agents to fix my LAST NAME. When it was finally fixed, they tried charging me for renters. WHEN THE AGENT SAID AUTO AND RENTERS HAVE TO BE TOGETHER TO GET THE FULL DISCOUNT. That’s why I went ahead and didn’t remove my renters. ALL IN GOOD HANDS??? MORE LIKE ALL IN [REDACTED WORD] DOODOO HANDS.
3
January 31, 2021

javier_jones

so far so good

so far so good. i mean, insurance is insurance but at least they aren't pests. and they gave money back during covid because no one was driving.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption